We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookhouse Mill

Brookhouse Mill
Ruthin Road, Denbigh, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Denbigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Ate here today to celebrate my Dad's birthday. Came with family, including our two young children. Was very enjoyable - I normally come here a couple of times a year and been coming here since I was a young child!
The food was delicious and perfectly portioned. Had three courses and enjoyed them all, all seven of us really enjoyed our meals. Only negative, it was very busy when we arrived at 2. It took twenty minutes to be seated (assuming our table was still occupied), normally wouldn't be concerned at all but the bar area was jam packed (with others in the same predicament) and with young children, this was stressful! Also, there was a function upstairs catering for 80 people so they were very stretched! All staff were friendly and accommodating and once at our table, we had a great time and once we finished our meal it was much quieter at the bar.
Credit to the owner who, you will always see, works very hard the whole time. We will keep coming here, it has a great warm atmosphere, beautiful setting and never had a bad experience here.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    34
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Food very poor and overly priced. I ordered chicken ,ham and leak pie whch sounded lovely. What was served was like a filling out of a tin with a puff pastry lid. Not what i woud describe as a pie. It was served with a very small portion of tastless chips. My parents had chicken curry, again expensive, small portion and poor quality. The servive was however good and staff friendly. Would not go again because of the food..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denbighshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food shame about some of the staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoy going to the Brookhouse as it is in a lovely setting and good quality of food. We dont go as often as we would like as we always seem to end up there when a particular female employee is working. Her attitude it awful to the younger customers which is superising as she doesnt look that old herself!! She always has a face on her, rushes you to order and doesnt seem to have time for you as a cutomer. Maybe a customer service course would be an idea? Otherwise cant really complain and would recommend the Brookhouse!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top food, top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We visited as party of a Christmas party group - the whole restaurant was full to the brim so it was going to be a very busy night for the staff.

First off, service was incredibly good - fast, efficient and always friendly. An army of staff appeared at each course and everyone of our party was served within minutes of each other.

Then the food, well that was wonderful - plentiful and very well cooked. Our group had turkey and beef meals and everyone said cooked to perfection. The portions are large, the food was piping hot and there was a good selection of vegetables on the tables.

Brook house cope extremely well with large parties and at the same time manage smaller tables to ensure everyone has a great evening. The staff really are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble and they are the friendliest bunch imaginable - a real asset to the restaurant.


Would highly recommend this establishment - we had a fabulous night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good meals at THE BROOKHOUSE MILL 12 Oct 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A very pleasant and relaxing Lunchtime experience, we chose Steak pie & Chips, served piping hot, steak and gravy being exceptionally tasty ( Hand cut Chips would make this a 5 star ) . Service very friendly and attentive, table presentation faultless. I would highly recommend for a very good Lunchtime meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookhouse Mill also viewed

 
Denbigh, Denbighshire
 

Been to Brookhouse Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookhouse Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.