We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Con Amici Italian Bar and Kitchen

Con Amici Italian Bar and Kitchen
Rhyl Road, Denbigh Ll16 3DS, Wales (Formerly Alafowlia Bar & Restaurant)
01745 814444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Denbigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
denbigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Had meal last night, excellent service all round. My wife is allergic to some food products, the chef was able to accomadate without any problems. Was so impressed I will be returning during the week with a party of six. Keep up the good work.
BT

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    62
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Having pre-booked on an October, Wednesday evening we were effectively ignored by staff on arrival. Having eventually been asked to sit in the bar with a group of young men in for a drink and swearing loudly, it was a further 20 minutes before a menu arrived and our drinks order taken. The food was over-seasoned and average at best and in order to pay I had to go to stand by the till. I think this was the fist time I have ever not left a tip for staff, but I could find nothing good about the service.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Italian in North Wales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have looked at this place a few times but having previously been disappointed with local Italians I wasn't optimistic. Finally plucked up the courage to give it a try on a Tuesday evening. Great decision!
While not being as Italian as a restaurant in Italy, it is certainly Italian enough for most British restaurant goers.
All the food was excellent, delicious, well presented with good portion sizes.
Service was outstanding.
Will definitely be returning and recommending to anyone who'll listen.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Visited Con Amici a few weeks ago with some friends. What a fantastic place!! The excellent food was a bonus. The decor was lovely and the Management and staff could not do enough for us. Its a great atmosphere from the moment you enter the door. Greeted as a friend and will remain so. Stayed over for one nigh and the rooms are to an exceptional standard. Only one fault that I could find to be honest and that is we had to leave. Keep up the excellent standard. We will be returning.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You have to go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Excellent throughout:
cleanliness: spot on.
staff: superb, chef even came out to say hello.
food: exquisite, and I am not usually a lover of Italian food.
Atmosphere: relaxed and very friendly
Would we go again, already planning return trip, even though it takes over an hour to get there, it really is well worth it.
Extra bonus point goes to the manager Lee, we found out they had rooms to upstairs. last minute decision was for us to stay the night with my brother and his partner, this was not a probelm, Lee sorted it out for us with no fuss or bother.

highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Con Amici Italian Bar and Kitchen also viewed

Denbigh, Denbighshire
Denbigh, Denbighshire
 
Denbigh, Denbighshire
 

Been to Con Amici Italian Bar and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Con Amici Italian Bar and Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.