We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding planned to perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soughton Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Soughton Hall to your Saves list
Soughton Hall
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Northop CH7 6AB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Northop
North West
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wedding planned to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I recently got married in Soughton Hall and as you can see from various pictures, the grounds and hotel is breathtaking.

From the moment we booked the wedding it was obvious that the staff knew what they were doing. They knew from my initial conversation exactly what type of wedding we wanted and all of their suggestions were perfect for us and they also accommodated our ideas with ease,

Our party arrived late Friday night and Jane who was in charge of our wedding was waiting for us and very helpful in settling us in. As my father has difficulty walking Jane had found the perfect room for him and was very accommodating on making him comfortable.

The wedding day itself went without a hitch, Jane and staff put in long hours to make sure we were all looked after. The ceremony room was laid out perfectly and Jane helped to calm our nerves and see that everyone was looked after.

Our meal was superb, the staff were perfect and service was super efficient.

Although we are massively impressed with everything and everyone, the main thing that stood out for us was how well the staff treated us on a personal level, nothing was too much trouble and the staff saw that my father was always looked after which they really didn't have to do.

Thank you very much particularly to Jane and Annette for their excellent hospitality and we would not hesitate to recommend Soughton Hall to everyone who will listen!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    29
    28
    17
    25
See reviews for
49
68
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely stay at the Hall for Valentines evening, room was spacious and well decorated, The Stables restaurant ( a 3 min walk from the hall) was amazing, staff very freindly, couldn't do enough for us and the meal was excellent.
Breakfast next day was fantastic - the full english and continental option were both great value

What could have been better, the main hall was a couple of staff short to deal with the number of guests, checking in, at the bar and ordering meals, but all 3 did their best ( It was Valentines night after all )

Room Tip: if you have any special requirements, follow up any email request with a phone call
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked here for my wifes birthday, and I went straight into her good books, the view as you drive down the courseway is stunning, a tree lined path with the impressive house at the end.
You enter the house into a beautifully period decorated and hand carved drawing room with large open fire, and it only gets better.
Good points: Stunning house with character features, bedrooms with modern fittings, but done in a sympathetic way. Staff friendly, nice breakfast, restaraunt ( over the drive to seperate building ) great food, good atmosphere. Fluffy pillows.
Bad points: Bed really high ( wife had trouble getting in and out ), creaky floorboards ( to be expected ), had to wait a little for booking in, that's about it.

Room Tip: Anybody under 5" will have trouble jumping into bed. Book early........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had Sunday lunch recently and although the food was great, the service was pretty poor. The staff are unsmiling, unhelpful and being blunt, downright rude. The surroundings and atmosphere of the restaurant is superb but the overall experience was marred by the staff. After very poor table service, they could barely break away from their conversations with each other to take payment.
A huge let down

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Everything was perfect. The comments from all guests at the wedding were amazing. If you are looking for something special this is the place. We had the receeption in the hall between 2 rooms. We were not sure at first as the speeches are done in the doorway (very large) between the 2 rooms but trust me it does work well, even the cake cutting is seen by everyone. The tables were laid beautifully, we went for Candelabras and the room looked magical. The evening was in the marquee which on a cold winters night was beautifully light and decorated and most of all warm. Excellent staff. Our thanks to the chefs for excellent food. The vegeterian option was very well received. Some may think this place expensive but trust me they don't scrimp on anything and the portion sizes of the food and the buffet in the evening were very generous. The rooms are expensive and they only offer 10% discount on rull rate. We only had one negative.Felt under the circumstances of what we paid for the wedding they could have been cheaper especially as the rates for someone to stay midweek in January would probably have been cheaper anyway and maybe the Bridal suite should have been offered with the booking. Don't let this little niggle put you off. If we had to pick again for one of our other children this would be out first choice bearing in mind its 45 min drive from the church.

Room Tip: pick a room any room, they are all unique and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks/Notts border
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Soughton Hall as part of a wedding party and associated celebrations.

The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and the historic antiques, fixtures and furnishings make for an interesting stay in their own right.

We took lunch in the annex called the Stables. The food was excellent, reasonably priced and served by a most helpful young man called Adam.

Our room was a particularly impressive suite having reception area, lounge, double bedroom and large en suite bathroom complete with Jacuzzi.

Its enjoyment was slightly diminished by the Jacuzzi being broken, and one of the windows not being able to be closed due to Brocken fixtures and fittings. Its proximity to the kitchen also made for a disturbed night until about midnight.

The owner is absolutely delightful and in our opinion justifiably proud of what she and her husband have achieved at the hotel.

Prices are at the top end £190 per room B & B and sadly this is not reflected in the level of service we would expect.

Non-the less we applaud the owners in their ongoing quest for continuous improvement.

Room Tip: Do not take the Bishops suite which overlooks out buildings and is situated next to the kichen
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We decided upon Soughton Hall in December 2011 for our winter wedding on Wednesday 12th December 2012. We fell in love with it immediately and knew that our wedding there would be magical. It didn't disappoint.
Obviously no one can control the weather but considering it had rained none stop for days beforehand the wedding day itself could not have been better. We woke up to a crisp, cold wintery morning and instantly we knew that Soughton Hall would look beautiful. As I was driven down the long driveway the grounds and the hall were amazing. I then entered the room where we were going to be married and was taken aback at how perfect it looked with the Christmas decorations and tree and how warm it felt with the log fire roaring away. Our photographs were able to be taken outside due to the beautiful weather and every single guest of ours commented on how amazingly beautiful Soughton Hall was. Everything ran seamlessly thanks to all the staff there and they made sure that we got some of the mulled wine and mince pies that we had got for our guests.
We had our beautiful and plentiful meal of terrine, roast beef and creme brûlée in the reception rooms upstairs and then went to the marquee for the speeches and the evening party. I was slightly worried about the marquee being cold so I had warned people to bring cardigans but luckily no one needed them and the evening went off without a hitch and our band and DJ made sure that the dance floor was never empty.
At the end of the night the hotel guests retired to one of the rooms in the hall to finish our drinks before going to bed (we had hired every bedroom so we had exclusive use of the hall throughout the day and evening).
The next morning breakfast was held in The Stables before check out at 10.30.
Our winter wedding was amazing and beautiful and Soughton Hall was the best choice we ever made. On the run up to the wedding we did have the usual wedding hiccups which I won't dwell on but all in all we would not changed a thing. We had a wedding to remember, with amazing memories, beautiful photos and I'm sure we will have family and friends commenting on it for years to come.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mahogany bedroom which has a massive bed, is on the first floor and has a view over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soughton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soughton Hall

Address: Northop CH7 6AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soughton Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Soughton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soughton Hall Hotel Northop
Soughton Hall Northop, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soughton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.