We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Svc Westbound A55, Northop CH7 6HB, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just to be clear, this is not a 5 star hotel at all and the room we were in looked "used" but I have to say that we found our family room here spacious and comfy with working aircon and a lovely big window. Lots of nice little touches like an iron and ironing board, extra pillows and free WiFi (who can live without WiFi any more) make a difference. Lots of food places right next door and loads of free parking. My only complaint - and I'm not 100% certain who is actually responsible for this - was cars with no blue badge in the disabled bays at the front door meaning we had to carry our disabled child across the car park. Other than that, a very comfy couple of nights and good value too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Jingleman

Just a short note to thank you most sincerely for your kind comments

I am delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your recent two night stay and , in particular , the quality of your family room with the additional benefits . The praise of our wi-fi was much appreciated as you may recognise the significant costs associated with providing a high speed fibre optic service at no cost to any of our customers

We are currently preparing plans for our next phase of investment which is intended to commence this winter including the refurbishment of certain bedrooms

Many thanks again

Sincerely

Tony Horsfall - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    91
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
65
88
17
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sedgwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very mixed feelings about our one night stay at this hotel in the busy A55 into North Wales. On the positive side all the staff without exception were friendly, helpful and professional - and the facilities in theory were good. Breakfast was enjoyable and in a light, airy restaurant .

But our stay was spoiled by the fact we had to stay in a 'smokers bedroom' as all other rooms were already booked up ( we were there for a function at the hotel, which was very well organised). The room stank of cigarette smoke and gave me a bad headache and nausea all night .

I would stay there again, because of he excellent staff... But avoid smokers bedrooms!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear GH

Thank you so much for your time in posting this review

I was so delighted to learn how much you had enjoyed attending the naming ceremony of Thomas
- it was very generous of you to be so complimentary about so many aspects of your stay

I have looked into the allocation of your room which was one of the limited number that we provide in a separate corridor of the hotel . It is my understanding that we did confirm that this was the only room available at the time of your booking and I do assure you that we would have re-allocated you if it had been possible

i very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next you are in the area

Kind Regards

Tony Horsfall - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night while travelling to the Wales Comic Con. I was surprised with the room, a decent size and had 2 double beds, although the second bed had no headboard whatsoever so it wasn't great for relaxing in.

The hotel was actually very hard to spot! Its's right on the motorway and doesn't have great signs, we nearly drove past the small road to turn in! It's right next to a McDonalds, which I spotted first.

I ate in the restaurant, which is like a big conservatory, the ceiling was completely covered with blinds and some were very dirty! Not exactly what you want to look at while eating! The food was okay, nothing to complain about, slightly overpriced but hotel food always is..

The bathtub was extremely small and shallow, I couldn't stretch my legs out and the water barely covered me!

I did find the room to be very warm and stuffy during the night and there's a lack of wall sockets, I couldn't plug in all of my accessories.

But there's nothing major to complain about, it's an average hotel. It's fine for 1 night!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear tyrant-virus

May I take this opportunity of thanking you for taking the time to post your recent review

Whilst I really appreciate you enjoyed staying , albeit only for one night , I am very conscious that there were certain aspects that require my attention . Please accept my assurance that I will be looking in detail at your observations without delay

I do hope that I may welcome you back to my hotel in the future

Kind Regards

Tony Horsfall - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

.Stopped here with my wife,daughter her husband and our two grand children,we had two family rooms We stayed for one night while we went to chester zoo.Although the hotel could do with a bit updating you can not fault the staff or the food which is served at the hotel.We had a meal on the night and breakfast and very nice it was.What we thought was a nice touch was that the children ate for free.Booked our tickets with the hotel and with a ten minute drive to the zoo all went well.Would definetly stay again..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear ladsarmy

I was so pleased to learn that had enjoyed all aspects of your stay in my hotel and that your grandchildren enjoyed their day at Chester Zoo

I find that the advantage with buying the tickets from my hotel , apart from saving on the prices charged at the door , is the time it saves when you get to the entrance

Many thanks again

Tony Horsfall - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed one night to break journey on way to Holyhead for a ferry. Hotel is tired and needs updating. The bedroom floors creak and unfortunately we were on ground floor and those in room above were moving about until after midnight. If staying ask for 2nd floor room. Those who smoke congregate outside main entrance so off putting when you have to go through them every time you go in and out. Food was average. Will look for alternatives when next in area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Robert W

Thank you for your recent review of my hotel

I was disappointed that you concluded that we only provided an average quality as our high scores on all independant websites would clearly indicate that our guests enjoy their experience here

As part of ongoing refurbishment new bedroom carpets are scheduled for delivery in June - you will appreciate that we have increased the specification of the acoustic underlay for all future fittings which will mitigate any exceptional noise . I am sincerely sorry that you were inconvenienced

I have looked at your orders for food on the evening of the 17th - the dishes of 10oz gammon and fish/chips that you chose are consistently popular and well received - there is no reference to any comments being made to my restaurant team or to reception that evening or the following morning and I therefore regret that I am unable to comment further

As you are an IHG Rewards member I do hope that you may re-consider staying here on your next stopover to Anglesey - please contact me personally when next you are planning your itinerary

Yours Sincerely

Tony Horsfall - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My family and I attended a Wedding reception at the hotel on Saturday 03rd May in the Vivaldi, WOW what at day, the food for the day and evening reception was fabulous the beef main course was so tender. The staff were exceptional nothing was too much trouble. I would definatley be recommending this venue to my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

A bit of a strange location next to the service station. Check in and check out were smooth and efficient. Room was fine but there is some road noise - there is a reason it is called the Holiday Inn A55! The bar not the most welcoming room but the staff are very nice. I ate in the restaurant and the food was pretty dire. Suggest they try serving on warm plates as my meal was only just off cold. Was offered a free drink which was a nice gesture. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear amberwillow

Many thanks for your review of my hotel

I very much appreciate your complimentary comments about the quality of my reception , the standard of the bedrooms , friendliness of the team and , last but not least , the quality of our breakfasts

At the time of writing I have been unable to ascertain your date of stay - if I may trouble you to advise via gm@holidayinnchesterwest.co.uk I will ensure your further observations are looked into

Many thanks in anticipation

Sincerely

Tony Horsfall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Address: Gateway Svc Westbound A55, Northop CH7 6HB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn a55 - Chester (West) Hotel Northop
Holiday Inn Northop
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) Northop, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.