We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, quirky...loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
The Dragon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
kent, england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“friendly, quirky...loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The chap on reception was really welcoming and cheerful and knew we were meeting friends. After getting to our rooms he was almost as excited as us that our friends were in the bar waiting for us....we had a lovely meal with plenty of choice (including some welsh dishes). We stayed possibly longer in the bar than they would have liked but they were very accommodating and never made us feel unwelcome.
The rooms are not spacious and really odd shapes but we liked the individuality of them.... even though my 6ft husband struggled with the sloping ceiling in the bedroom and bathroom!
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff from receptionist through waitress to chambermaid.
it wasn't a problem for us, but most of the rooms were only accessible by some steep staircases.... However, that would be my only criticism of a lovely rural hotel
I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
46
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband planned for a surprise stay at the Dragon in Montgomery for me, for a couple of days, with chocolates, wine and flowers in the room ready for when we arrived. He explained when booking that it was a special weekend for the two of us. It's a very lovely looking hotel in a peaceful and picturesque town. On arrival my husband was told that our room had been upgraded, so he was very pleased with that. Unfortunately we found that our room, number 20, was extremely tiny for a double, with just enough space to walk around the bed. I didn't want to make a fuss, as my husband had made such an effort and we decided that the rest of the hotel must be full. We both had an uncomfortable night as the mattress was hard and the pillows were flat. We were woken rather early by staff, standing near our window, enjoying a cup of tea and a chat before they started work. Before breakfast we decided to take a look at the hotel pool. There was a smell of mould in the pool room, the entrance/exit doors were very mouldy and in need of a scrub and some fresh paint. We enjoyed our breakfast and set off to Barmouth for the day. In the evening my husband went down to the bar and enjoyed a beer. He told me that the staff were friendly and welcoming. Again we did not sleep well, but enjoyed a lovely breakfast served by a charming young man. On checking out we told the receptionist that we had filled out the questionnaire and left some constructive criticism. We explained that we were not happy with the size of our room, especially as it was booked as a special stay and that the bedside light and extractor fan was not working. She went on to show us some beautiful rooms that were much larger and explained that the relatively new owners were refurbishing the hotel. If we had have realised that there were other rooms available, then we would have asked to be moved, so it was a fault on our part that we didn't. We only wish that the member of staff, when booking, had have given it more thought and booked us in a more comfortable, spacious room, as there were a few available. We would stay again, but would ask for a larger room and also advise that you check the room out before accepting it.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent meal with a lovely atmosphere and staff that were a credit to the hotel. Little touches like a card with your names on your table made it that little more special.
Thank you

Beth and Steve Horton

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, UK
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

No one on reception when I arrived but friendly enough when someone eventually appeared. Room was comfortable enough but due to a couple of elephants in the room above movement was heard. Being an old building this was a clear disadvantage. Breakfast was good - evening meal pretty average. Overall OK.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Have visited the dragon hotel quite a few times,but this was our first time since having new owners..We first went into the bar area,which we thought was not as nice as it used to be..and felt it had a strange smell,so we decided to eat in the restaraunt..The room and service from staff was good,food was average....Quite noisy from,what we think were children playing and jumping on the stairs next to the restaraunt.overall quite disappointed and not sure if we would return.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

nice country hotel in a quaint village. The food and local beers are good, the staff are friendly the hotel is very oldy worldly however a little bit tired. There is a swimming pool in a wooden shed in the rear car park. A good base for one nights stay but would choose something a bit more up market for a longer stay.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were friendly and always happy to help and the room was clean and spacious.
Montgomery is a lovely little time and a great place to come for a short break. I will come again!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Montgomery
The Dragon Hotel Montgomery, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dragon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.