We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dragon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Montgomery
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you want all modern mod cons then go to a premier Inn but if you want excellent service,food,staff, cleanliness in a 17th century coaching inn then go no further. Stayed for 3 nights in July 2014 with my wife and our 2 year old German Shepherd. All I can say is you will go far to find better overall service, highly recommended and will definitely stay again. This is a 17th Century Coaching Inn, grade II listed and thats what you get, but in one word EXCELLENT. Thank you very much. to you all especially James who was briilliant throughout

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I have just arrived back home after a night away in mid Wales to go to the royal welsh. We decided on this place as the half way stop and the reviews looked good plus the pool!! Well the hotel is an old coach house and because of that it's full of period charm and character. The staff (sorry I meant to ask the guys name!) was amazing couldn't do more for us and full of help and advice. The little town of Montgomery is lovely and the castle and war monument worth a visit. The hotel itself was well equipped. The room was small and quaint and tbh lob sided which just added to the charm. Tbh the room was very small ok for us but not for the larger person and the shower cubicle was cosy to say the least. We were advised to book a table which we did. Lucky as this was the only significant restaurant in the area. The food was lovely and again fab service. The breakfast in the morning was cooked fresh and we were again well served. All in all we will defo be visiting again. Ps check the pool it's really is cool!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Joined old friends for a meal here. Was not totally convinced it was a good idea as I had eaten here before and been unimpressed. However, the food and service were both very good and we enjoyed a great evening in a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is a little shabby in places but is definitely on the 'up'.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of us stayed at The Dragon as we were attending a wedding at Walcott Hall. The staff were extremely helpful and friendlyl, the rooms were clean and tidy, we had everything we needed. The only criticism i have would be about the shower, not very powerful at all. The breakfast was very nice, good quality, and a decent size too. The village itself is lovely. would certainly like to go back to explore this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here when walking Offa's Dyke. I had a small room but it was perfectly acceptable for my needs and was very good value. The staff were excellent, very attentive and helpful - they really made the stay and other hotels could learn much from their attitude.
The bar meals were good and reasonably priced
The room was quiet even thought it opened up onto the square and the terrace where people were eating and drinking. Breakfast was huge and very good quality.
Montgomery is a lovely spot to visit.
The only minor quibble I have is that the hotel states that it is dog friendly but the hotel does not let dogs into the bar while they are serving food. Fortunately the weather was excellent so I could sit outside but it might be a problem for some. It is possible to eat in the lobby but this could be cheerless on a cold night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a weekend away in the Dragon in Montgomery, what a lovely old village, we walked round the village which had little placks on the building giving you the history of the houses.which myself and husband thought was fantastic. Our stay in the Dragon was good the room was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful.downstairs could do with a bit of a refurb but that is not a downside to this lovely old hotel. we had evening meal on our first night which was well cooked and hot. breakfast was huge again well cooked and hot . would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were travelling up to Llangollen and decided to break the journey with a stay in Montgomery, not somewhere we have stopped at before, but what a delight.

We arrived on the Sunday afternoon and we were greeted by a very helpful and friendly young man (at my age most are younger than me,) who took us through check-in quickly. We also decided to book a seat in the restaurant for later that evening.

The room was on the first floor (room 1) which light and airy. There was plenty of storage area and plenty of sockets to plug the electrical items in.

The bathroom was clean but was slightly let down by the bath panel which looked a little tired.

The bed was comfortable which helped for a very deep sleep.

There was a swimming pool which was available for both residents and locals to use (need to book at reception) which I didn't use but my wife had a session at 8 in the morning and had the pool to herself for half an hour.

The restaurant had a slightly reduced menu as it was a Sunday evening, but saying that, it had a good choice of starters, mains and of course desserts.

All were excellent, made using local ingredients and freshly cooked and good value for money. The bar served a number of local ales with the lad behind the bar able to recommend a good pint or two.

Breakfast was, again, freshly prepared and excellent. Withy a good choice.

It's been a while since we've stayed in a hotel that has had such a happy feel about it. There wasn't anyone I spoke too that didn't have a genuine smile and wasn't g;ad to help.

Yes the floor boards creaked a bit. The roof was a little low in places. There were lots a stairs. But this is a 17th century coaching inn. Its not a corporate hotel that is identical in every town and city across the world.

The Dragon is special in being different and worth the trip too.

Would I recommend it - O Yes.
Would I go again - Can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dragon Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Montgomery
The Dragon Hotel Montgomery, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dragon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.