We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in a Historic Town ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
The Dragon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in a Historic Town ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked our 2-night stay before the change of ownership in July and I admit that I did become a bit concerned after reading some TripAdvisor reviews before staying there.

But, I needn’t have worried at all as we thoroughly enjoyed “The Dragon” experience. It’s a very relaxed and informal atmosphere. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff.

We enjoyed excellent evening meals on both nights, plus tasty cooked breakfasts (they use locally sourced produce in all their meals, which is what we like to see). Bar prices for drinks are reasonable too.

ROOM 5 (twin beds) at the front of the hotel overlooking the Town Hall was spacious, comfy and quiet during our weekend stay. The Town Hall clock doesn’t chime through the night, thankfully. Room 5 has a good-sized en-suite bath/shower room, but the shower wasn’t all that powerful (low water pressure?).

The new owners have ambitious plans to “improve” the hotel, and we’ve said that we’ll go back there in a year or two to see what’s changed, as Montgomery is such a lovely historic town.

YES, we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
38
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romiley, Stockport, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Room was very good. Food was overall very good, particularly breakfast, but dinner menu needs to vary a bit more when staying for 3 nights. Service was exceptional and any queries or problems were dealt with straight away. Attractive-looking hotel in a lovely small town.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems mention this when booking - this is a really lovely old hotel but ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

With lunch orders closing at 14:00 we didn't hold out much hope of being served when our party of 12 arrived at 13:58. However, we were not only welcomed in but looked after really well. Well done to the new owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked this hotel on the proviso we could have a bar meal with our dog as advertised as dog friendly,this was not the case could only stay in the bar at non meal times,We had to eat in a pokey corner of the the Hotel which was never used and had decor going back to the sixties,which was covered in cobwebs.When complained to the Manager,she appeared to not be listening to our complaint.She was rude and unprofessional.When going down to breakfast the table was not laid,no cutlery or crockery on the table which made us feel forgotten about.We had to go to reception to remind them we were sitting there.The hotel was so bad in our eyes,we had booked for 3 nights but left after the first night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here whilst walking Offa's Dyke Path and had a comfortable night which was good value. The staff were friendly and the service very good. Not the most modern of bedrooms but everything was clean and spacious. The food was good value too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

In July I organised a family and friends re-union, but when I learnt that the premises had been sold some two weeks before the event I was a little nervous. This proved totally baseless. This was the best re-union ever held (30 family & friends from around the UK). The rooms were ideal, and accessible, even for those using walking sticks; the menu was a little limited, but there was something for everyone; the dinner on the Saturday evening was enjoyed by one and all; the staff were most conscientious in their duties, and surpassed themselves in ensuring everyone's wishes were met. The Dragon may need a little TLC but for friendliness and efficiency you will have to travel a long was to beat it. Unfortunately the swimming pool was undergoing maintenance and therefore, unavailable.

Glyn Roberts

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and two teenage daughters visited this hotel on a Groupon deal and although the staff were very friendly and the breakfast good our stay here was nothing to write home about! We visited in June and when we mentioned the poor water flow in the shower the owner didn't really seem too bothered giving the impression of 'oh well that's just the way it is'. There were many other things we felt we needed to mention so wrote these down on a guest comments card when we left the hotel hoping that we would get a response so that I wouldn't have to complain on Trip Advisor. We didn't get a reply - hence the review I am writing. I agree with the previous guest about the swimming pool. The water was dirty and cold and the sauna and shower were filthy and falling apart. My daughters bedroom was full of cobwebs, spider webs and grime. My husband and I had a room on the top floor with terrible creaky floor boards and a really dingy bathroom and we kept banging our heads on slanted ceiling. Very dated and in desperate need of refurbishment. I should have listed to the previous 'Fawlty Towers' review!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Montgomery
The Dragon Hotel Montgomery, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dragon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.