We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel in lovely georgian town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
The Dragon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Leics
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel in lovely georgian town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here whilst walking Offa's Dyke Path and had a comfortable night which was good value. The staff were friendly and the service very good. Not the most modern of bedrooms but everything was clean and spacious. The food was good value too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
44
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

In July I organised a family and friends re-union, but when I learnt that the premises had been sold some two weeks before the event I was a little nervous. This proved totally baseless. This was the best re-union ever held (30 family & friends from around the UK). The rooms were ideal, and accessible, even for those using walking sticks; the menu was a little limited, but there was something for everyone; the dinner on the Saturday evening was enjoyed by one and all; the staff were most conscientious in their duties, and surpassed themselves in ensuring everyone's wishes were met. The Dragon may need a little TLC but for friendliness and efficiency you will have to travel a long was to beat it. Unfortunately the swimming pool was undergoing maintenance and therefore, unavailable.

Glyn Roberts

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and two teenage daughters visited this hotel on a Groupon deal and although the staff were very friendly and the breakfast good our stay here was nothing to write home about! We visited in June and when we mentioned the poor water flow in the shower the owner didn't really seem too bothered giving the impression of 'oh well that's just the way it is'. There were many other things we felt we needed to mention so wrote these down on a guest comments card when we left the hotel hoping that we would get a response so that I wouldn't have to complain on Trip Advisor. We didn't get a reply - hence the review I am writing. I agree with the previous guest about the swimming pool. The water was dirty and cold and the sauna and shower were filthy and falling apart. My daughters bedroom was full of cobwebs, spider webs and grime. My husband and I had a room on the top floor with terrible creaky floor boards and a really dingy bathroom and we kept banging our heads on slanted ceiling. Very dated and in desperate need of refurbishment. I should have listed to the previous 'Fawlty Towers' review!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Liverpool
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This long established hotel is situated in the centre of the delightful small town of Montgomery, It has recently been bought by a group of local people who are keen to improve on its already good reputation and facilities. Like another reviewer, mine was a one night stay to go to a local wedding. The check in was easy and tea/ coffee available at the bar. There was also a generous provision of tea/ coffee facilities in the room. The bed was comfortable and extra bedding was available in the wardrobe if needed. Toiletries were provided in the shower room. Breakfast was cooked to order and generous.
There is a private car park at the back of the hotel with direct access to/from the reception area.

Room Tip: I had stayed here before and from my experience and from the reports of others all the rooms are equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked this hotel as an overnight stop for my son and his family when they were on their way to West Wales for his surprise 40th birthday celebration. We booked this accommodation as it had a swimming pool for our 4 year old grandson loves the water. The following is his assessment of the hotel:-.

"Check in and service was OK. Dinner was nothing to write home about but breakfast good. The pool was small but the water was freezing; in fact so cold that it was impossible to stay in it.

Wouldn't want to stay longer than one night!"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were going to a party near to Montgomery and The Dragon seemed like a good place to stay. It was!
Check in was easy and the staff were delightful and polite. The room we had (Room 20) was fairly small but as we were only there for one night it served it's purpose well. If we were staying for longer I might have asked for a larger room. It was clean and tidy and there were more than adequate bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast was excellent. Cooked to order and they use local produce where possible. It was delicious and set us up beautifully for the drive home. I would definitely recommend The Dragon if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanasa, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We found this gem on a Groupon deal and used it to finish off a week in a Welsh cottage as somewhere to stay on the journey home.

From the moment we arrived until the morning we left we were very impressed with the level of service, the attention to old world charm detail and the delicious food in the bar and in the restaurant.

After we had settled in (nice big room with four poster bed), as part of the deal, we had a glass of wine with olives, oil and breads and then choose from a great selection menu - the food here is very good - they have AA awards over many years and we could see why - delicious and we thought well priced.

The bar also had a great selection of local beers and ciders and as we were using the place as a stop over for a couple of days and just planning on walking around the town and up to the castle we ensure we thoroughly investigated all the beers and ciders :D

We had a nice walk around the town and up to the castle and can say Montgomery is a gem.

There was also a pool which I didn't use, but my partner did and said it was just right.

A good Sunday roast, which if not cooked quite to your taste can be adjusted without any fuss.

The owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming but not over the top - great real people who obviously take pride in their home and business.

If we are ever over that way again we will definitely book into The Dragon.

Room Tip: We had the four poster room and the bed was very comfortable - the room also had a settee and a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Montgomery
The Dragon Hotel Montgomery, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dragon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.