We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So tasty!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Checkers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Checkers
Save
You added The Checkers to your Saves list
Broad Street, Montgomery SY15 6PN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“So tasty!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went as a large family get together. The food was delicious. A little pricey but as a treat it was worth it.
Fantastic in every way! We had two children 5 and 8. They too enjoyed the different tastes. Its nice that they don't have a children's menu because children always dip out on good food and flavours. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Sadly Mid-Wales is not awash with good restaurants but this is one. Whilst I had the 9 course tasting menu my wife made good with the 6 courses. The food was all in the classical French tradition pioneered and exemplified by The Roux's which is not entirely surprising given Stephane's background. We had the Autumn tasting menu and there wasn't a course that was a disappointment. In a way the menu is a little retro with its homage to classical tradition and the work that goes into its preparation is immense - nothing is easy. I have to admit that my own preference is more for the precision and minimalism of contemporary menus as opposed to the complex sauces that we have here but of its genre this is of a very high standard indeed. With ingredients including Butternut, fois gras, crab, langoustine, sea bass, mussels, Jerusalem artichokes, pork belly, beef filet, oxtail and a crème brulee and excellent damson crumble soufflé it was ambitious and almost faultless - a bravissimo performance. It was good to see that the restaurant was full on a Friday night in late September - deservedly so.

We stayed overnight in The Agen Room which is spacious with a bathroom ( no shower) down a short flight of stairs and a mirror which is probably too high over the sink. My wife found the absence of a chair for the dressing table and the fridge in the footwell a bit of a problem but it is a nice room and a very comfortable bed.

I have reviewed as a restaurant as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just been for a birthday meal for my wife. Wonderful food with excellent service. To start I had the crab and langoustine lasagne, my wife the cheese soufflé and my daughter the rabbit salad - all superb. The beef was beautifully cooked and the pork belly with pears sublime. The turbot with as my wife put it - corn three ways was also wonderful. For me the piece de resistance was the chocolate and coffee mouse - one of the best desserts anywhere! All in all a spectacular evening and one definitely worth the hours drive to get there!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were on holiday in Churchstoke and looking out for somewhere to eat in the area and found Checkers in Montgomery. It was one of the best meals we have ever had. A lovely intimate lounge area for drinks and nibbles, and a very helpful waitress who matched glasses of wine to each course. The food itself was stunning - subtle, tasty and memorable. I would recommend this place without hesitation. Dave

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Les Filles des Fermier. The room had everything we needed well equiped & an excellent shower (don't go for this room if you want a bath, we deliberately chose it as we'd been advised Agen which we were going to book only has a hand held shower over the bath). But the real reason you're here is the food. We had the 6 course tasting menu and it was fantastic. We'd warned them in advance we didn't eat meat but fish\seafood was good and the menu & quality of food were excellent. They didn't even flinch when I asked to change desert as I don't like strawberries. The service & food deserve all the praise they've had from other reviewers all I can add is come here you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdonia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It is not surprising that Checkers has been shortlisted as the best restaurant to eat in this year’s National Tourism Awards for Wales – sadly they will not know how they have fared until November but we got a chance to sample why they should do well when we greatly enjoyed their nine course tasting menu. Service was attentive and all staff were personable. Only niggles were that our bathroom had the creakiest door in the world and it was a bit strange having to plug in the hair drier into an extension cable lying on the floor which did make the room look a tad untidy. We were entranced with the small town of Montgomery! Checkers we wish you well and hope it goes your way in November!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for a night in their Agen room with the six course taster menu. Everything was fantastic, from the minute we stepped in through the door, welcomed by friendly staff and taken to a well decorated, spacious room, first class teas, real coffee and homemade cookies, nice soft dressing gowns, huge comfortable bed with duck down duvet and pillows. The evening meal was superb, I think we got the big dining table as we had booked into their best room and it added that little something extra to the experience. Food was absolutely fantastic, fresh, seasonal veg and local meat, we were amazed by how much flavour they manage to get out of the ingredients. Six courses was enough for us, I don't know how anyone could do the nine courses.
It was quite posh for us but without being too formal or stuffy, a friendly, cosy and relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommended for people with something special to celebrate, it was a perfect night for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The Agen room is their best room and comes with their prime dining table at the front of the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Checkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Checkers

Address: Broad Street, Montgomery SY15 6PN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Also Known As:
The Checkers Montgomery, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Checkers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.