We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best food North of Watford!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Checkers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Checkers
Save
You added The Checkers to your Saves list
Broad Street, Montgomery SY15 6PN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Some of the best food North of Watford!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just been for a birthday meal for my wife. Wonderful food with excellent service. To start I had the crab and langoustine lasagne, my wife the cheese soufflé and my daughter the rabbit salad - all superb. The beef was beautifully cooked and the pork belly with pears sublime. The turbot with as my wife put it - corn three ways was also wonderful. For me the piece de resistance was the chocolate and coffee mouse - one of the best desserts anywhere! All in all a spectacular evening and one definitely worth the hours drive to get there!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were on holiday in Churchstoke and looking out for somewhere to eat in the area and found Checkers in Montgomery. It was one of the best meals we have ever had. A lovely intimate lounge area for drinks and nibbles, and a very helpful waitress who matched glasses of wine to each course. The food itself was stunning - subtle, tasty and memorable. I would recommend this place without hesitation. Dave

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Les Filles des Fermier. The room had everything we needed well equiped & an excellent shower (don't go for this room if you want a bath, we deliberately chose it as we'd been advised Agen which we were going to book only has a hand held shower over the bath). But the real reason you're here is the food. We had the 6 course tasting menu and it was fantastic. We'd warned them in advance we didn't eat meat but fish\seafood was good and the menu & quality of food were excellent. They didn't even flinch when I asked to change desert as I don't like strawberries. The service & food deserve all the praise they've had from other reviewers all I can add is come here you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdonia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It is not surprising that Checkers has been shortlisted as the best restaurant to eat in this year’s National Tourism Awards for Wales – sadly they will not know how they have fared until November but we got a chance to sample why they should do well when we greatly enjoyed their nine course tasting menu. Service was attentive and all staff were personable. Only niggles were that our bathroom had the creakiest door in the world and it was a bit strange having to plug in the hair drier into an extension cable lying on the floor which did make the room look a tad untidy. We were entranced with the small town of Montgomery! Checkers we wish you well and hope it goes your way in November!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for a night in their Agen room with the six course taster menu. Everything was fantastic, from the minute we stepped in through the door, welcomed by friendly staff and taken to a well decorated, spacious room, first class teas, real coffee and homemade cookies, nice soft dressing gowns, huge comfortable bed with duck down duvet and pillows. The evening meal was superb, I think we got the big dining table as we had booked into their best room and it added that little something extra to the experience. Food was absolutely fantastic, fresh, seasonal veg and local meat, we were amazed by how much flavour they manage to get out of the ingredients. Six courses was enough for us, I don't know how anyone could do the nine courses.
It was quite posh for us but without being too formal or stuffy, a friendly, cosy and relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommended for people with something special to celebrate, it was a perfect night for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The Agen room is their best room and comes with their prime dining table at the front of the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just spent a memorable evening at the Checkers with two good friends. We are not the easiest to deal with as one, eats no meat, and another, is vegetarian. Despite ordering their 9 course tasting menu they coped splendidly with our requirements. A minor omission in offering bread for our side plates was met with a sincere apology and freshly baked bread to take home the following morning. The quality of food is amongst the very best of the restaurants we have visited, the service is amiable and leisurely. The rooms are pleasant, comfortable and well equipped - ours had "wet room" showers.
This is a delightful place to stay in a part of Wales that time has passed by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed recently for one night with dinner and the overall experience would have been difficult to improve upon. Friendly, efficient staff, charming room with very high quality bed and furnishings, superb dinner and great breakfast.

We're both quite tall and our room (Chataignier) did have a hilariously low door for bathroom access but the room itself and bathroom were fine and had a great view over the high street - such as it is!

Others have mentioned the lack of pretension here and I think that's one of the things that makes it so good. That might mean it's not quite such 'event' dining as for example La Becasse in Ludlow, but the food is certainly comparable and for those who prefer a little less dressing up it's a real delight.

Finally a note on their attention to detail. There's a clock somewhere outside the building that strikes on the hour. We slept right through without any disturbance but both bedside cabinets had a pair of earplugs in the drawers. Nice touch.

Highly recommended. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Checkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Checkers

Address: Broad Street, Montgomery SY15 6PN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Also Known As:
The Checkers Montgomery, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Checkers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.