We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly AND delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Checkers

The Checkers
Broad Street, Montgomery SY15 6PN, Wales
(01686) 669 822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly AND delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a one-night stay as a birthday gift from a friend. It was a delight from start to finish; friendly staff, beautiful room with a gorgeous bathroom (ace shower!), and fabulous food. The 6-course tasting menu was a struggle (I have no idea how anyone could manage the 9-course menu) but each course was delicious. The bread is a trap for the unwary - it's so good it's easy to eat too much of it! Breakfast was also extremely good (the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon were lovely, but too much to finish!). When we left the staff were preparing for a Masterclass today - something to think about for the future as I'd love to be able to cook more like the Checkers chef than I do now!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    21
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved the food, the luxury of the service and especially the little touches such as warmed rolls, canapés and petit fours. The belly pork is amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A great meal - again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We took two friends that had never been to The Checkers, and they were knocked out by the quality of the whole meal, to quote them 'divine food and wine'. But yet again we had a wonderful experience, The Checkers thoroughly deserve all the plaudits that are coming their way, and have relieved us of the problem of living in a bit of a gastronomic desert previously. It is nearly an hour's drive for us to get there, but it is worth it as I cannot think of anywhere else where we could get the same quality that is any nearer to us. Long may their success continue, we could only get a table for 2 pm on a Saturday lunch as they were so busy, clearly word is getting around that Montgomery has gained a culinary star.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A gem in our Shropshire-mid Wales gastronomic desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a surprise awaited our arrival in the beautiful sleepy hamlet of Montgomery yesterday following an luncheon invitation to join a close friend, who is a good food fanatic,surely not in mid-Wales....!? On our arrival on a Saturday lunchtime with the restaurant buzzing with happy diners we were given a wonderful welcome & in no time were relaxing by the fire with a glass of an excellent choice of Sauvignon Blanc together with the compliments of the house taster.The savoury soufflé followed by pork belly......I cannot wait to return.Sorry to those who felt differently,this is a gem you cannot miss!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALOP
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A small welcome piece of France in Wales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This small but near perfect little gem in Montgomery is always worth the 100 mile round trip. Wonderful staff and sublime food has really put this little Welsh town on the tourist map.
A must for anyone staying in the area. There is certainly nothing in Shrewsbury which compares.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Checkers also viewed

 

Been to The Checkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Checkers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.