We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome. Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B
Save
You added Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B to your Saves list
Pool Road, Montgomery SY15 6EY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Warm welcome. Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night when walking Offa's Dyke National trail. It is right on the trail so there is no need for a diversion for accommodation, very welcome after a long day. I arrived soaking wet and Linda gave me a great welcome, taking my wet things to dry and presenting me with welcome tea and cake. The room I had was lovely. The breakfast perfect. Linda was very helpful with information about where to eat and allowed a friend who joined me the following day leave her car there while we walked. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misty96, Owner at Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a very welcome review. We enjoying getting feedback particularly good ones. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to another visit from you, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked our night at Caemwgal Farmhouse fairly last minute so were only able to get the twin room rather than the double we'd hoped for. But we felt from the email correspondence making the booking that this was going to be an organised and friendly place to stay and we were right.

Linda was so welcoming as we pulled up into the spacious courtyard in front of the beautiful old brick farmhouse, set in it's huge flowerly garden and bordered by fields, within sight of offa's dyke and with rolling hills as the backdrop.

Caemwgal is over 300 years old and the twin room turned out to be quite charming!!! Lovely matching bedspreads, cushions and curtains giving a really warm and cosy effect.  Beautiful original oak floorboards and a fabulous old fireplace.  Plenty of toiletries, complementary bottles of water, biscuits and tea making facilities. The whole place was spotlessly clean.

As night fell Linda was explaining that this was a great place to stargaze and indeed this was the first night of this year's Perseid metor shower - sadly it was a bit couldy but I could see the potential and would love to have sat on that patio gazing as shooting stars fell out of the sky.

Our breakfast around the shared table was really brilliant - Linda makes her own bread and her scrambled eggs are something else! Our only regret was that we only had one night's stay. The area is fascinating and we enjoyed a walk around Montgomery Castle ruins up on the top of the hill, then an exploration of the lovely town and church.

Would love to return to Caemwgal again and explore the area more as well as enjoying Linda's hospitality and maybe some good star gazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misty96, Owner at Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your fulsome review....I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's just a shame that you were unable to enjoy the stargazing....maybe next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 whilst walking Offas Dyke. The hosts Linda & Glen were very friendly & welcoming. The accommodation & food were great. Most remarkably my walking companion & I underestimated how much the Switchbacks on the path and so when we phone to say we would be Very Late arriving they drove out to rescue us! something I would never have expected but was very thankful for. Having just returned to complete that leg of the walk I am even more impressed that they found us in the middle of nowhere. They do not do evening meals but they drove us to a great nearby pub and picked us up when we'd finished. Lovely people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misty96, Owner at Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments......I'm so pleased we were able to be of help. It was great to see you back to complete the walk...and I hope we can welcome you to Caemwgal again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Four of us stayed here on our Offas Dyke adventure
Our welcome from Linda with a tray of tea and cake put a smile on our faces after 22 miles!
Glyn drove us to the Lion Inn and brought us back as this superb farmhouse is right on the trail but just out of town.
My room was clean and warm my only grouch was a small shower that produced steam or ice and rarely warm water.
Breakfast & my packed lunch were excellent.
Our boots were stuffed with newspaper then placed to dry by the Aga, great service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misty96, Owner at Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Caemwgal in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Four of us stayed with Glyn, Linda and Jack The Jack Russell on our Offas Dyke Walk.
Our welcome from Jack dragging a piece of drainpipe down the drive was memorable - putting a smile on our faces after 22 miles!
Glyn took us to the Lion Inn and brought us back as the superb farmhouse is out of town. The food here was excellent and a very friendley atmosphere
Breakfast was the best we have had so far. If you're on the Offas Dyke definitely stay here - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misty96, Owner at Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Hello again, and thank you for your kind review, it was great to meet you all, it was just such a shame that the weather was so awful for you whilst you were here. We hope that you will pay us a visit again, the kettle's always on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Caemwgal Farmhouse is probably unique amongst bed and breakfast establishments, situated as it is right in the middle of a Civil War battlefield; (The Battle of Montgomery 1644 in case you're interested) However, the place is peaceful enough nowadays, and the three hundred and fifty years old farmhouse has retained many of its original features; a homely and timeless environment in which to unwind and relax. Unfortunately we were only able to stay only one night, having just finished of a section of the Offa's Dyke Path. We were warmly greeted by our Linda, our host, with a pot of tea and slice of home-made cake. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable, with tea making facilities, television and en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was more than adequate, with fruit and cereal followed by an appetising and expansive cooked breakfast. Caemwgal is also conveniently situated for visiting the nearby town of Montgomery; a most pleasant view of which could be had from my bedroom window. Caemwgal Farmhouse is certainly a place to which we hope to return when we tackle the remaining sections of Offa’s Dyke Path next year.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misty96, Owner at Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your generous review, it's always pleasing to hear that our guests leave satisfied and with the expectation of returning at a later date. We would be very happy to welcome you back again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

If you're on the Offa's Dyke path near Montgomery we can recommend this B&B. Lovely people, super breakfast, this old farmhouse is a special place. They don't do evening meals but will transport you to the local pub which does there and back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B

Address: Pool Road, Montgomery SY15 6EY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caemwgal is a beautiful 16th-17th century farmhouse, set in stunning Marches countryside. Close to the historic old county town of Montgomery, we are surrounded by many other sites of interest. Offa's Dyke path runs only a few hundred metres away so we are ideally placed for walkers. There are many outdoor activities available nearby for those with a taste for adventure... Ballooning - Mountainboarding - Rafting - Quad biking & Paintballing to name but a few. For those with gentler pursuits in mind, there are gardens to be explored. Powis Castle & Glansevern Hall are both a short distance away. There is also fishing - sailing - birdwatching - walking. Guests who arrive as strangers often depart as friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B Montgomery, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caemwgal Farmhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.