We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural Suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Groves - CLOSED

The Golden Groves
Llyndir Lane | Burton Green, Rossett LL12 0AS, Wales
01244 571006
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rural Suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We found this lovely pub whilst taking a Short cut home through the country lanes. It just happened to be Sunday lunch time as we where passing, so we called in. We recieved a nice warm welcome & where taken through to the restaurant by a smiling waitress who really looked after us. We ordered from the menu which was limited but interesting. The food was of really high standard, local,fresh ingredients and a good sized portion too. Probably the best Sunday lunch we have had in a long time & reasonably priced. I will definately return. Thankyou Golden Groves.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way but probably worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Good food and beer selection. Nice relaxed country pub. Menu was all a bit standard, but food was well prepared and tasted good

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“if you havent been for a while is much better now...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This pub has had a big refit a couple of years ago and is now much better and cleaner than it was. The old carpets with snail trails are now replaced with stone floor and nice paintings on the walls etc

I have been 3 or 4 times in last couple of years and food has got better each time
some nice beers as well

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch with the family, lovely afternoon with great food and warm atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Great place, lovely staff and really enjoyed the food - very high quality ingredients and well prepared. My boys are 4 and 6 and ate the lot too! Nicely furnished and a good sized garden. Thanks

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Super Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely country pub with an excellent bar, dining room and garden patio area providing excellent food and a good night

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Groves also viewed

Rossett, Wrexham County
 
Rossett, Wrexham County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Groves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.