We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowdonian Jewel (wrongly named here!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckley Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buckley Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Buckley Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Minllyn, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9LP, Wales (Formerly Buckley Pines Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dinas Mawddwy
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Snowdonian Jewel (wrongly named here!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

First - this Hotel is wrongly named on Tripadvisor! It was built as the Buckley Arms Hotel in 1874 and is still so called, NOT the Buckley Pines.

Seldom have I found a country Hotel (or a city one for that matter) in which the housekeeping is to such a high standard. Everything shines in the rooms some of which have fine views. Our group of four received a warm welcome from the lady proprietor who showed us to our rooms - all named rather than numbered. We dined well in the cosy bar which has a good wine list and afterwards were we delighted to find that Armagnac was available - a rarity nowadays in London restaurants, let alone in the Welsh hinterland.

An excellent stopping place if passing through Snowdonia, touring, walking or, I expect fishing, as there;s lots of water about

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a cool welcome from the lady owner who went on to tell us that there was nothing in the village and nothing in nearby Dolgellau. Our room was large and clean, as was the bathroom, however there was noise from traffic during the night and the bed was most uncomfortable. The food was excellent and we were served at breakfast by a very helpful and pleasant lady, we had the same good service from the evening waitresses. Our disappointment was with the lady owner who was mostly abrupt with us and came over as frosty to say the least. Would definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It is nice to have such a friendly welcome by the owner. Stayed just the one night as part of a weekend tour of Wales, although I know the area well. This is a lovely spot with lots of great walks. Great views from the dinning room over breakfast. They kept the bar open for us to recover after a late night with a breakdown. The rooms have a nice feel of individuality and luxury. My only two points of negative feedback would be the exterior decoration and towels when painted and bigger luxury towels it would push my review into Excellent. I will go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in August 2012 - it's now called the Buckley Arms, by the way. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels but I can honestly say that this is one of the best. The welcome from the owners is genuine and warm; all the staff go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Our room (Dyfi, with twin beds) was comfortable and spacious with one of the biggest bathrooms I have ever seen (it has separate shower and bathtub). We had a television and tea/coffee making facilities too. The wifi worked well and is free - there's even a choice of two hubs to log onto depending on the signal strength! The view of the river Dyfi, the rolling hills, mountains and sheep was stunning! We had an excellent meal in the bistro which wasn't too expensive either; I had the Welsh lamb, which was from a local supplier. Breakfast (£5 each) was enormous and superb value for money. Where else would you get this for just £90 per night for two people in such a good hotel? The Buckley Arms sets a standard of excellence which other hotels would do well to emulate - I have paid double the price elsewhere and not had such a good experience. Visitors might like to book a room at the back as we did - the road outside can be quite busy. And there is no mobile/cellphone reception at times. We shall certainly go back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I feel really cozy when arrived at the hotel. A staff (would be the owner) is very welcome and kindness. I stayed in "Aran" room for one night. The room is quite big area with high ceiling. The amenities in the bathroom are not luxury as I expect but it is acceptable. I had dinner in a hotel pub, it might be my misunderstanding that there is lamb steak in special menu. So, I ordered lamb chop cooked in medium, but I got a lamb shank. I just asked a chef if I can change it to be sirloin steak, she is very helpful and kindness to change it. However, I feel really tired from driving that day, I said to her that I would like to try this menu. It is very nice!!

In the morning, during breakfast time I was asked by the staff again about my incorrect service in previous night. She just does not want me to get in trouble during stay in the hotel. I feel really appreciate in customer care of this place.

I really recommend for this hotel if you like a calm place with a very good atmosphere and scenery of mountain and river.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed here for one night whilst working in the area.
I enjoyed a lovely evening meal and cooked breakfast the following day
The owner was lovely and I was made to feel very welcome. My room was warm and clean and there was plenty of hot water. I would definately stay here again as the hotel is really nice and in a great location, it's just a beautiful place in Wales. I was happy with the prie and felt it was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Had a couple of night's here and had such a great time, a great welcome very helpful and outstanding food they WILL be seeing us again.
Great location and views

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckley Arms Hotel

Address: Minllyn, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9LP, Wales (Formerly Buckley Pines Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dinas Mawddwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dinas Mawddwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buckley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckley Arms Hotel Dinas Mawddwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckley Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.