We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bleak House - avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inveroran Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridge of Orchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inveroran Hotel
Save
You added Inveroran Hotel to your Saves list
Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bleak House - avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Great Location and the only hotel around for miles, but as walkers on the west highland way we were made to feel that our 7.30 arrival was unacceptably late, food was unavailable to us, staff were surly, our wet boots were left out in the foyer instead of being moved to a drying room as they had promised. Breakfast next morning was a joke - poached eggs on toast was an egg on a cold plate to be matched with the cold toast already delivered. Saggy matress on the bed, lots of mould in the shower and bathroom window. Would I stay there again - absolutely not.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    72
    29
    15
    14
See reviews for
18
70
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night during our walk along the West Highland Way. We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and were shown personally to our room. The room itself was clean, nicely decorated and the beds comfortable.
The evening meal was delicious. We chose from the menu on our arrival and was cooked to order.
There is a comfortable guest lounge and whilst relaxing in the evening with some other guests we spotted deer walking past the window.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed here for one night while walking the West Highland Way. The hotel seems to cater mainly to walkers and climbers as evidenced by the tiny hotel bar being named the Walkers Bar. The fact that Dickens and Darwin are former guests is enough of a reason to stay here in the first place. It is typically a no frills hotel however the location is simply stunning sitting on the edge of Rannoch Moor and next to Loch Tulla making it one of the most isolated hotels in the UK. The meals served in the dining room were superb and the breakfast was great too. Only quibble was that the staff were a bit surly. The bar although tiny was a pleasant little place to spend a quiet evening. Overall I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Inveroran Hotel is a very welcoming sight in the distance, as you come down the West Highland Way in the wind and rain! We had an enormous hot chocolate in the walkers bar to warm up a bit before we checked in. This hotel had everything we could have asked for as tired walkers - comfortable beds, a lovely relaxing bath and good food. The bath was a very welcome treat as our last 3 accommodations only had showers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

There are basically two choices of where to stay in Bridge of Orchy, and the Inveroran Hotel is in by far the more beautiful setting: in a valley, by a loch, and far from the main road. It's quite idyllic.

The inn itself was clean and comfortable. The food (dinner and breakfast) was good. We were happy with the packed lunch. We enjoyed sitting in the small friendly bar after a day's hike.

Above all, we were delighted with our reception. Everyone was kind and attentive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stopped here while walking the West Highland Way and were very happy with it. The hotel appears to be under relatively new management and there were some minor aspects they need to sort out, but overall we were happy and had an excellent meal there. We spoke to the chef later and it was her first night on a short stay, we all hoped she would be there next time!
The location is good, though there is little choice for some distance, and really our only 'complaint' was the quantity of midges present at times, but of course that is down to climate & geography, and not under the owners control ! Still, if you are sensible about when you go outside, and cover all exposed skin with some repellent (e.g. Avon's "Skin so Soft") you should get by and enjoy your time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed here whilst doing the West Highland Way and had a very relaxing night's stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a very good size and had everything we wanted. The food was also very good. The surrounding countryside is stunning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inveroran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inveroran Hotel

Address: Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Bridge of Orchy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bridge of Orchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Inveroran Hotel Bridge Of Orchy, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inveroran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.