We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hotel on the West Highland Way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inveroran Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridge of Orchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inveroran Hotel
Save
You added Inveroran Hotel to your Saves list
Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Welcoming hotel on the West Highland Way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

An isolated hotel near the edge of Loch Tulla is the perfect retreat after a long trek on the WHW. Comfortable rooms, good food and friendly staff. The only problem was the midges ... they arrived being so near the lake! But this is Scotland ... and if you visit in May and June you need midge nets to cover your hat and face.

Room Tip: If you are carrying heavy back packs choose a ground floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    70
    29
    15
    13
See reviews for
18
68
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Location superb, right on walk so no deviation! Room was really big with big bathroom, with shower and bath.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently with some friends.
Rooms were ok, have a TV and ensuite, but it's all missing the mark. So TV in the room has 3 channels, the showers are tired, the staff are ok, it's just a missed opportunity considering the lovely location. It's what I'd expect in some grim town not in a spectacular spot in the highlands. Must try harder.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here when we were walking the West Highland Way. Was the worst accomodation I have ever stayed in. Our room had dampness on the wall/ceiling (see photos) Very strange damp smell in the room. Carpet was stained. Bathroom was a mouldy shower cubicle with toilet. There was a previous guests toiletries lying in there.
As there is nowhere else to eat we were forced into having dinner - this was alright but a little on the small side.
Rooms had heating on (even though it was 25 degrees outside). I went to open our room window to find a water stained sign that said guests were NOT allowed to open windows under any circumstances due to midges! So it was a very unpleasant sweaty night on cheap and old bedding for us!!! We came down for breakfast where we we were shown to the coffee shop and given a half set table. There was another table there which lay dirty for the whole time we were there. We were the only people in there - everyone else was in the main restaurant and we were forgotten about. I had to ask someone to place our order and give us cutlery.
The only good thing about this hotel is the setting and that has nothing to do with the owners. Avoid at all costs!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Firstly the good points,breakfast was very nice if not small,location was out of this world great views and if you get up early you can see plenty of wildlife.
Bad points,dinner was very expensive for tasteless food that only half covered the plate,We were still hungry after our dinner.
We were warned by another hotel manager to keep our expectations low and that was good advice .
On the Internet it advertises all double and twin rooms have on-suite but that's not true as we seemed to share the combined toilet and shower with at least 2 other rooms so we had to wait half an hour for a shower which wasn't good as we had been walking all day.
Our room was very very small,it had two beds cramed in with a small sky light and a small sink and that's it,when we challenged them about this we were told that they had informed us about the on suite at the time of booking (they hadn't ) I asked why it was advertised that all double and twin rooms were on suite she just said I'm sorry if your not happy and walked off,for that we paid £86,worst and most overpriced hotel we have stopped in whilst doing the west highland way,if I knew how bad it was going to be I would have changed the whole walk to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

On arrival we had a lovely welcome and the receptionist helped us with our heavy bags upstairs to our room. No 7 above the 'coffee shop'. I point the room number out specifically because the management should not let it to anyone except insomniacs. The racket from the coffee shop went on until 11.45pm when the last 'punter' went out, slamming the door behind them. Walkers may want a drink or two, but they also want a good nights sleep. So by all means stay here...just not in room 7.

Room Tip: Not room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

what a welcome arrived around 3 and was shown to our room and told not to worry about anything just kick back and relax had a lovely hot relaxing shower evening meal of roastbeef and fresh veg was fantastic the room was very clean and comfy as was the bathroom this place is a little gem and would recomend you give it a go oh and the beer was good too!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inveroran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inveroran Hotel

Address: Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Bridge of Orchy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bridge of Orchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Inveroran Hotel Bridge Of Orchy, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inveroran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.