We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Friars Carse Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friars Carse, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed one night on a Groupon deal. We upgraded to a superior room, which meant we couldn't have a river view, but looking over the fields is just as nice. Our room was big and spacious with a huge bay window and a four poster bed. The bathroom is in need of upgrading but it was clean, as was the rest of the room. Breakfast was nice and all the staff we met were very friendly. We would definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    122
    39
    19
    17
See reviews for
36
196
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Hotel in a beautiful setting lovely lounge with big open fire and comfy sofas to lounge on.Staff were very welcoming and friendly.Bedroom very spacious although a bit dated nice touch was the bottle of red wine and two glasses for us to enjoy which we did.Amazing food both dinner and breakfast and plenty of choice service was excellant in dining room.Lovely walks by the river i really enjoyed my stay and would certainly go back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel has such a lovely lounge! Everyone wanted to sit near the wonderful open fire. The welcome smell of wood burning greeted you on entering and it was all very relaxing. Food in the restaurant was scrummy. Couldn't fault it at all. Great views over the fields and down to the river from the restaurant too. Having enthused about that I'm sorry to say I can't be as complimentary about the bedroom. We stayed in larch (all rooms are named by trees). Definitely avoid that if you can as the window overlooked the back entrance where deliveries are made.. Some of the rooms must have the same view as the restaurant or overlook the river to the front. However, we only paid Groupon price, so were happy with the deal. The room did have what seemed to be a recently refurbished shower room (disappointingly no bath), which was spotlessly clean. I thought the mattress was going to be uncomfortable as you could feel the springs as you ran your hand over the bed, but we slept really well - and I often have difficulty sleeping. Take your own hair dryer though!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the restaurant or overlooking the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hotel is in a lovely setting with nice walks along the river, our dog liked it. It was good to be able to take her and probably worth the extra money ,£10 per night.Our rooms were nice but small and the shower was very weak.The actual shower room was great for my elderly mum.The lift is good too.The big lounge area is a bit dark and the furniture aging but it was comfortable enough. The service was very good, really pleasant and helpful staff all round. Breakfast was good, fresh and well cooked but dinner was disappointing , it started well but main courses were poorer and really not worth the money so we ate out the second night at the terrific Buccleaugh Arms in Thorrnhill . Overall a nice stay but not top notch

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have visited Friars Carse three times, one about a year ago the second visit we spent Christmas with them and the recent one was with our good friends and it gets better every time.The staff are so friendly and would do almost anything to make your stay memorable, NICK the duty manager is amazing nothing is too much for him, he is there when you want him and not a one to hover when you are relaxing in front of the log fire ( you can put another log on when you choose ), the rest of his staff are polite and hard working and again very friendly to all the guests. I have thought hard to find something to say negative but sorry nothing comes to mind so try for yourselves and see if it lives up to your kind of relaxing holiday. ( we booked for next Christmas too.) trust me the food is amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but the ones at the rear have great views over fields, the front ones have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Ok so the living room & fire place is nice. But we got one of the cheaper rooms via booking.com and this was unacceptable. Shower hardly gave any water, window sills full of mold, smelled of cigarettes. Worst part was that we aksed for a refund and said they couldnt do anything for us because "booking.com has the money". Which obviously isnt true because they only have a percentage of the money. Very customer unfriendly, dont advice going there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in febuary and we found it again a lovely comfortable stay.T he food was fine and enjoyable the grounds and location are superb.This is our 3rd stay and we shall be returning.A lovely stay relaxing and cosy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friars Carse Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Address: Friars Carse, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Carse Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Friars Carse Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Carse Country Hotel
Friars Carse Country Auldgirth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friars Carse Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.