We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Longforgan Coaching Inn

Longforgan Coaching Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Longforgan Coaching Inn to your Saves list
Longforgan Coaching Inn
Main Street, Longforgan DD2 5EU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longforgan
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was suprised by the shabby exterior and poor state of repair but actually for the price it was ok.
The bed was a bit uncomfortabled but again we slept ok and the shower a bit small but we managed!
We werent disturbed by noise at all.
Breakfast at 9am on the Sunday and no problem checking out as others have mentioned.

If you need a value night then this will be ok for you!

Room Tip: We were upstairs and at the end and it was quiet so Id suggest that!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    7
    4
    11
See reviews for
7
9
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Most mains were £6.00 or 2 coarses for 8.75. The food was homemade and very tasty no frills but lots of it. We had just been hill walking and the large portions were ideal for a hungry person. The chicken fajitas were fab it came on a sizzler plate accompanied with a plate full of salad, chips, 3 wraps, colslaw, cheese and salsa... all for £6.00!
The decor is dated and not very inviting but the staff were very nice,polite and helpful.
If you are in the area and looking for somewhere to eat thats not expensive this is worth a visit.
The coffee was really nice too :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Landlord could not have been more helpful. He gave us a room to accommodate my disabled friend that was ground floor with a wet room bathroom with a shower seat. All great for us.
The accommodation was good, with TV and complimentary tea/coffee. The room was quiet and we slept well.
The Landlord let us use his WiFi in the lounge bar free of charge, and our evening meal was excellent. Such good service and so friendly. What a great price!!!!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room in the courtyard, this was quiet, and no stairs of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here in July. We got caught up in a huge traffic tailback caused by a crash on the main road. When we finally arrived we were very tired and very hungry arriving after 9pm we had missed dinner service. However the owner could not have been more helpful and although his chef had gone home he went into the kitchen and cooked us a lovely meal himself. We also needed breakfast earlier than it is usually served at weekends and again the owner was very happy to accomodate us and got up early and cooked us breakfast himself on Saturday and Sunday. We had no complaints whatsoever about the accomodation, it was warm and comfortable. Would highly recommend and we will be going back in July next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I booked a room in this inn very much last minute and was so impressed at how helpful and keen the staff were, not only at accomodating myself but also catering for my dog. The room was clean, and ideal for somewhere just to put your head down for the night, Yes it is basic but this is very much reflected in the price, and i wouldnt hesitate to stop here again on my travels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Ended up here after being doubled booked at another hotel. The price reflects what you are paying for.

Very basic. Needs some TLC. The staff were helpful enough. The food ok. Not on my list of re-visits.

If your on a tight budget & are looking for no frills. It will suffice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomena7
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

But that's about it. The hosts were lovely, very welcoming and as a single female traveller, I felt quite safe here. The food was basic but eminently edible and very reasonably priced.

The room had definately seen better days - the bed was lumpy, the carpet worn and the paintwork very, very tired, as was the linen. As other reviewers have pointed out, the quilt cover was velcro down the middle, making a noise every time you turned over. My room had a view over the courtyard and into the carpark and local schoolyard. Other rooms may have had views to the river. Car parking was ample.

Having said all that, this is still one to keep an eye on; it is a great location - literally minutes from Dundee - and the owners indicated that there are plans in place to completely rebuild/refurbish the site in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Longforgan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longforgan Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longforgan Coaching Inn

Address: Main Street, Longforgan DD2 5EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Longforgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longforgan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Longforgan Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longforgan Coaching Hotel Dundee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longforgan Coaching Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.