We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value last-minute booking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erskine Bridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Erskine Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Erskine Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riverside, Erskine PA8 6AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Erskine
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great value last-minute booking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Although the general decor of the hotel is a bit 'tired', the room was spotless, as was the bathroom. Comfortable bed. Great views. The staff were friendly and effcient. The only negative comment is the food: vegetables with evening meals appeared to be frozen rather than fresh (those crinkly sliced carrots give it away), and the breakfast sausages were a bit on the hard side. But excellent value for £55 B&B.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    168
    138
    127
    126
See reviews for
119
249
31
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
saltcoats
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed here as friends had there wedding at the hotel, Room very clean, staff excellent , breakfast plenty to choose from, asked for early check got that with problem. Only wished we had taking swimming costumes as we would have used the pool. will be back. All staff said hello even the cleaner who was in our lift asked if we were having a good stay. keep up the good work. Would recommend this hotel for weddings or just a quick break.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Having previously attended a wedding at The Erskine Bridge Hotel, and stayed in the hotel - I was pleasantly surprised at how good the hotel was.
The service was amazing, the staff excellent, and a fantastic hotel experience.

This led us to book our wedding here too on 4th September 2009, and it was amazing.
All the staff were brilliant. The service, including events co-ordinators, reception, bar/restaurant, could not be faulted.
The rooms are basic, but very comfortable.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and would be surprised if they received anything less than excellent.

The hotel car park, and the outside of the building could do with a bit of upgrading - but that's just being picky.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We travelled with National Holidays, when we got there we were checked in very quickly by freindly helpful staff. We used the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, it also has a well equipped gym. The staff throughout were freindly and couldn't have been more helpful. the entertainment was very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We would visit again

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

To be fair we only paid about £50 for this room so never expected too much. It was just somewhere to sleep on the way home from the Highlands.

We got a room on what must now be classed as 'the bad side of the hotel'. The rooms on the other side at least looked a bit more modern. Ours looked like it hadn't been shown any attention since about 1960!

The hotel itself is fairly tatty, bit grubby looking from outside and peeling wallpaper and holes in the corridor carpets. There's also random bits of plyboard fastened all along the corridors which is an interesting design feature and an overwhelming smell of shake 'n' vac or febreze or something like that! The restaurant and bar was also filled with coach trips who didn't look overly impressed by being put there either!

Saying all that, the room itself seemed ok as all we wanted to do was sleep in it. However, we got put in a room that was constantly being passed by staff and had a store room on one side so we spent all evening listening to the sounds of staff and doors constantly being banged until past midnight.

We finally got to sleep but were woken before 6am by vans below. These were obviously being used to make deliveries or pick ups from the hotel. These were extremely loud as engines were kept running, voices could be heard and metal crates were continually being moved. This carried on for long over an hour so we resigned ourselves to waking up.

We also had a pillow case that had blood stains in it and felt like we were bothering the staff when we asked for this to be changed. The desk staff in general looked like they couldn't really be bothered. We tried getting some milk for the room but gave up in the end.

The breakfast in the morning was ok but it was luke warm and not great.

So overall, we had a pretty rubbish stay. I think if you got a room on 'the good side' of the hotel and you could sleep and you'd only paid £50 you'd have done ok but otherwise you've not got a good deal at all.

Personally I'd try and find somewhere else to stay and if you only have a small budget try a Travelodge or Premier Inn.

It's a shame really because the hotel is in quite a good place for Glasgow and the airport and it has good views but it just like it needs gutting and starting again at the minute.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My wife and I and our two kids (3 and 1) stayed here for a weekend as I was attending a conference at the hotel. As soon as you drive up to the hotel, your heart sinks - rubbish all over the place, tatty exterior, weeds all over the paths etc - not the best first impression. We were on the 5th floor which did not seem to have been refurbished. The corridor smelt stale, wall paper peeling everywhere and our room was in poor shape....Firstly it had been "febreezed to death" - never a good sign. Wall lamp shade was broken and lamp tilted to 45 degrees (why not remove it?!) Window opened (alarmingly far!) to reveal a window ledge covered in cigarette ends (hence the Febreeze I guess). Bathroom was small but useable and clean and the tea and coffee facilities were ok. Sadly, our TV had no reception at all let alone any Sky channels!

The food in the bar was over-priced, fried to within an inch of its life and unimaginative - burger, scampi etc. There is a kids menu with the usual suspects (chicken nuggets). The breakfast buffet offers the bare minimum - as long as the staff have the time to restock - when they don't, large queues build up for the hot buffet. The hotel caters for a lot of bus tours and when one of these descends on the buffet room, its not good. We ate in the main restaurant as well the second night - the food was just passable but again terribly over priced.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly on the whole and the views of the Erskine Bridge and upper Clyde were nice. The hotel's saving feature was the leisure centre which was actually ok, although the change rooms were in need of refurbishment. The pool in particular is a nice size and warm and our kids loved it.

We stayed at this hotel as we had to for the conference and fortunately the bill was covered by someone else. I wouldn't choose this hotel myself again - its very basic, tired and not good value for money at all.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly wales
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We travelled with a party of nearly 100 persons. We were met with a smile and given all the help we could ask for. The Staff were supremely helpful, and deserving of high praise. There were no complaints from any of our party. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable, We would return there anytime.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Erskine Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erskine Bridge Hotel

Address: Riverside, Erskine PA8 6AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Erskine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Erskine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Erskine Bridge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Erskine Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erskine Bridge Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erskine Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.