We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring ear plugs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erskine Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Erskine Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Erskine Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riverside, Erskine PA8 6AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erskine
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bring ear plugs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed here before travelling to Lanzarote on Burns night - 25th January. Upn turning in for the night, I was woken by a hoard of mid 30 something year olds running up and down the corridors, I would expect this from children not grown adults. Thankfully one of the other guests complained, the noise coming from room 630 was that similar to a cat being strangled. Security seemed to sort out this monstrosity however I believe these guests got shifted to another room. That aside, the hotel was lovely, staff friendly and breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    193
    158
    150
    149
See reviews for
133
292
34
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have read the scathing comments from 12 January and must say they were a bit harsh but the review from 29 January is so true. On the Saturday night I think I may have got 2 hours sleep in total. It was so bad I had to go back to bed after breakfast on Sunday morning.. A few of those persons making the noise during the night came down to breakfast in their pyjamas. But they were quickly asked to leave the dining room.

Now to get to my comments. I stayed there with my husband from 28th to 30th January and before booking I phoned and asked if they had a disabled room. I was told 'Yes'! So I booked, thinking all would be suitable for my disabled husband. He has severe arthritis and has great difficulty in walking, but is independent and does not use a wheelchair.

On arrival at 3.30pm I checked in and on being given the keycard,for room 103, I reiterated, 'Is it the disabled room?' and was told YES. Leaving my husband looking for a disabled toilet down a lengthy corridor, I went up to do a risk assesment on the room, (which was 3 doors away from lift) and straight backdown to the reception., The refurbished room was clean and tidy with a double bed (some disabled people really do need a bed to themselves but I find this an uncomprehensible request to many hoteliers) (if the accompanying person is not a spouse, where is the carer supposed to sleep)
My question to reception was 'What disabled facilities are your offering in this room to be told 'it has a wider door'. Think about it, if the room has a wide door presumably to accommodate a wheelchair, surely the person in the wheelchair requires other 'aids' in the room and toilet. ??

The receptionist was very efficient and said she would give me another room with twin beds. She apologised it would not be a refurbished room and gave me keycard for Room 523. On arriving on 5th floor I then realised the room was 23 doors away from the lift, i.e. the very end of the corridor, so, although the room was acceptable, apart from torn wallpaper, I returned to reception to point out that by the time my husband walked down the corridor, it would be time to come back again. .
The manager overheard me and told the receptionist to offer me a twin room next to the lift, Don't know why this couldn't have been done in the first place, but on inspection all was fine except for a 2" chip in the bath and the pannelling coming off the bath. . Things would have been much more difficult if I had not taken one or two of my husband's own 'aids'.
The hotel is still living in the 60's although I believe some of the bedrooms have been upgraded the public areas definitely need a major job and the lift too, as the doors refused to open on occasions. And something done about the automatic front doors as the cold air just blasts in and straight through to the bar and the dining room. The opposite can be said about the bedrooms, too warm and I had quite a fight to find that the window did indeed open.
I found all staff members to be very pleasant at all times, but In summing up I would say the hotel is in need of a maintenance man who gets the job done.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and examine first before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is without question the worst hotel i have ever had to stay in.

The entrance road and carpark were an absolute disgrace, covered in potholes/large puddles.

There was no lighting to illuminate the muddy path from the carpark to the hotel main entrance.

Reception looked clean enough but the grumpy woman at reception was very unhelpful and clearly had issues with the meaning of the word "alphabetical".

When we finally got to the 6th floor (after a mystery tour in the elevator from hell) we were confronted with the most revolting decor i have ever seen.. badly painted walls with pipes/cables running all over the place all painted in a kind of dirty salmon colour.. With a matching carpet..

The room thankfully looked clean on the surface however on closer inspection the surfaces were sticky, cups dirty, sheets stained and the bathroom was mouldy.

The shower was more of a cold dribble.

There seemed to be a party on all floors from about 1pm-7am so sleeping wasn't an option.

If you're looking to end it all this is the place for you! The large waist height windows open up fully, surely a hazzard?..

Even the Etap hotel was cleaner.

Next time i'll stick to the travel lodge.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, I had colleagues on several floors and they were all of the same poor standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stewarton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here Friday to Sunday. Hotel is the former Esso Motor Hotel from the 70's so its getting tired but is OK. However what is not ok is that the hotel attracts groups of mad individuals who cannot get through a night without storming about between bedrooms, banging loudly on bedroom doors and shouting abuse at each other. Irritatingly the same neanderthal types had the cheek to hang "do not disturb" signs on their doors well past 10 am. If you can get the hotel staff to isolate the lowlifes on floors other than the one you are on, it might be alright. Overall, don't think I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

Went to a 70s night at the erskine bridge hotel and stayed overnight after.for a three star hotel is pretty amazing.has all the features of a good four star and wouldn't take much to become five star.has a gym, pool and spa.lovely breakfast and great views of the Clyde and erskine bridge from room.plug in bath got jammed but this is only downside.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

i stayed 3 nights with work and i will be requesting never for my buisness to use this hotel again. Upon driving upto the hotel, the surrounding land & first look of the hotel i though i had stumbled upon a run down derelict concrete buiding....Upon entering the reception area is run down & in need of modernisation and a deep clean..this goes for the whole hotel i found. The staff altho somewhat pleasant, could do with some training in customer relations and some of them need to change there clothes & use deoderant once in a while. The restaurant was closed & the full menu that was on offer consisted of the same 3 main meals each night. To top it off the landline phone in my room didnt work and my callers were told "there not in there room"???The wind blew through & rattled the windows during the night so much so my curtains blew out and there were BUGS!!!!! found in my bed. All in all i will not be recomending this hotel to anyone or staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Erskine Bridge frequently but last time were very disappointed. however we stayed again on Christmas Eve and found a vast improvement.

We had two refurbished connecting rooms. They were small but were adequate and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower good.

We had a very good breakfast and found all of the staff to be extremly helpful.

We will come again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erskinegm, Manager at Erskine Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Erskine Bridge hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay this time around and would like to thank you for your comments on the staff, they will be delighted to hear your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Susan Craig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erskine Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erskine Bridge Hotel

Address: Riverside, Erskine PA8 6AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Erskine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erskine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Erskine Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Erskine Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erskine Bridge Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erskine Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.