We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the loch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camus House Lochside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camus House Lochside Lodge
Save
You added Camus House Lochside Lodge to your Saves list
Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great views of the loch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We recently stayed overnight at Camus House. We had a comfortable room and great views from our window, The hosts were welcoming and friendly and the reception/lounge area was a great space. Easy place to find and a good place to use for a stopover or longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Muhlheim am Main, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We didn't actually manage to stay in this B&B but they were very flexible when our plans changed at short notice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Alistair and Louise offer excellent hospitality at their splendid Victorian house set across the panoramic Loch Linnhe, and a charming country garden. Camus House displays a lot the original features of a grand Victorian house including its grand wooden staircase and downstairs fireplace in the large but cosy reception hall. You cannot beat the wonderful breakfast, cooked to order, in the light and bright breakfast room with panoramic views of the loch across. Whilst in the area, I would strongly recommend a trip to Kinlochleven (11km away) – which is set amongst a stunning combination of mountain, loch, river, moor and woodland. Bring a picnic or stop for lunch or dinner enroute at the Loch Leven Seafood café at this picturesque bit of heaven.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in one of the rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at Camus House at beginning of September for seven nights after reading reviews and have to say that its all been said before. Louise and Alistair are very special people who made our Ruby Anniversary celebration very special also, can't say enough about them and the warm and inviting, but not intrusive welcome we received on arrival. Ecceptionaly clean, comfortable accomodation, food excellent, didn't realy need lunch! wonderfull hoasts, their home felt like our home. Louise also booked a table for us on our anniversary at the Holly Tree on the opposite side of the loch and the food was good, in fact we also went again and dined in the bar which was equally as good and if you are as locky as us you will be treated to some lovely sunsets. Will we return, Oh yes please!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Camus House, and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it! It was the perfect base from which to explore the Highlands, and every day we devoured a delicious breakfast before heading out to explore the backroads of the area. The house and our room were beautiful, and the location and view were perfect. Alistair and Louise were excellent hosts, asking about our adventures and giving advice for other outings, as well as places to eat dinner. We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We arrived after a long day on the road - our hosts were very accommodating. The house is delightful, room was quire nice and comfortable, the view was excellent, breakfast was excellent. Enjoyed breakfast conversation with other guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grobbendonk, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Our group of 6 spent only one night at Camus House but all agreed it was tops. Alistair & louise are excellent hosts and the house and rooms are clean and comfortable with superb views. Breakfast was more than enough with plenty of choice. For our gang of six, 11 out of ten.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camus House Lochside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camus House Lochside Lodge

Address: Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Onich
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A character Victorian property conveniently located between Glencoe and Fort William. Standing in it's own grounds in an elevated, lochside position with magnificent far-reaching views.Offering B&B accommodation where a warm welcome and high standard of comfort awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camus House Lochside Lodge Onich, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camus House Lochside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.