We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onich Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Onich Hotel to your Saves list
Onich Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   nr Fort William, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Fraserburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed one night only because of a misunderstanding with another hotel. The staff here were so friendly and very helpful giving us information on the area and directions to local attractions. Our room was lovely, clean and had everything we required. Food choices for dinner were excellent and the breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    141
    58
    35
    25
See reviews for
54
202
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Clean room and nicely decorated. Very pleasant and attentive staff. Stayed BnB and breakfast was delicious, spoilt for choice and food served fresh and hot. Limited choice on dinner menu but a choice nonetheless. Beautiful location right on Loch Linnhe and great start point for sightseeing. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Originally we had booked the Lodge on the Loch and changed it to stay here....what a fool.......
On arrival we were greeted with the smell of greasy food ...just wanted to gag! Receptionist was friendly and we checked in and went to our room passing wallpaper peeling off the walls. On entering the room i just wanted to turn and go home, it was tired and very outdated with unsightly marks on the windowsill. We (there were 2 of us) saw only one glass and 2 bottles of water and one packet of shortbread, one of the bulbs in the bathroom was out and the bedside lamp was badly marked. On going out for the day we asked for 2 glasses and for the bulb to be replaced. Came back to find nothing had been done!! Spoke to the manager who personally brought up extra glasses and shortbread, apparently the water is not replenished everyday seems a bit mean to me.These things are basic, what part of this dont they get. Anyway, food was good and I am now struggling to find anything else good to say about this Hotel. This place needs an overhaul of some magnitude.

Room Tip: There possibly isnt one so save your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmegjam123, Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us at the Onich Hotel and the you felt the rooms was outdated.

In fact this room was decorated less than a year ago, with designer wallpaper for the feature wall. The “unsightly marks on the windowsill” are knots in the wood from the wooden windowsill; which had been given a light white wash coating for this exact effect. I understand that the floral pattern may not be to everyone’s taste but I would suggest that it is not as you said outdated.

The Onich Hotel is a Traditional Highland Hotel and as such when we redecorate we try not to deviate greatly from this. I find it sad that people complain about traditional hotels attempting to stay true to their origin and others complain that certain rooms are too modern and have lost their traditional feel. It is interesting that all of our rooms are decorated in the same style. It would appear that we simply cannot please everyone.

The entrance to the kitchen is directly at the reception area so it stands to reason that you would indeed smell food upon your arrival. Only selected items such as haddock, scampi & fries tend to be done the fryer and therefore you could not have smelled “greasy food” as you so eloquently expressed.

Once again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Everything that you have expressed concerns over were indeed dealt with during your stay, promptly, efficiently and with sincere apology during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here one rainy night when we were desperately in need of a place to stay. In comparison with the wonderful B&B's we had been staying at, we found this to be a little shabby and in great need of an upgrade. The place smelled stale. The woman working in reception was very friendly and upgraded our room to a loch view at no charge since it was after 7pm, but it was still the most expensive room we stayed in on our 2 week visit to Scotland and we had been staying in 4 star B&B's. We ate dinner in the bar which had a wonderful view of the loch. The food was good. As well as a nice breakfast the next morning. I had a hard time sleeping as the people in the room above us sounded like they were moving furniture half the night.

Room Tip: Try the top floor rooms so you aren't disturbed by those above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmegjam123, Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.
We are incredibly sorry that you felt your stay was not good value for money. We have indeed updated several of our rooms but there are 1 or 2 which we are attempting to redecorate over the winter. Hopefully you will return to Scotland and perhaps stop in once again as we would very much like the opportunity to change your opinion. Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our staff and the dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After a trip down to Yorkshire to visit family my Wife and I decided to call in at the Onich Hotel for some dinner on our way back home to Inverness.

We enjoy driving down the A82 so use this as a preferred route to the A9 and drive past the Onich regularly - often talking of calling in for a bite to eat as it has such a lovely location.

On entering there was nobody on reception but we were guided towards the bar for dinner by the waiter who was on his way through to the kitchen. We sat down at 7:20pm and were given menus straight away.

The menu looked good with a great selection of seafood and other local produce, and after a few minutes the waitress came to take our order.

I ordered the Venison Casserole and a pint of lager, my Wife ordered the Salmon Linguine and a J20... simple.

5 minutes later we were brought a pint of lager and a glass of wine. When we pointed out this was wrong to the waitress she realised she had the wrong table and went to check for the correct table at the bar.

15 minutes later our correct drinks still hadn't arrived so we asked the waitress and she assured us they were just coming. A moment later, they arrived.

As it got dark and the view of the Loch disappeared, we just wanted to eat our dinner and carry on the final part of our journey home. By 8:20pm (a whole hour later) our dinner still hadn't arrived so we asked the waitress how long it would be and she went to check with the kitchen... she came back and said it would be another 10 minutes. In the meantime, other tables had been given food who hadn't been in the restaurant for 10 minutes.

Apparantly our food check had been lost.

During this whole time nobody had even noticed we hadn't been given our meals. Nobody had been over to communicate with us. Had we been forgotten? The staff used the excuse that they were busy but we were one of 8 tables (3 of which arrived after us) between 4 staff... is that really an acceptable excuse?

We decided to leave as we didn't want to sit in the restaurant any longer, despite being very hungry, and asked to speak to the manager.

The manager accepted our disappointment and offered us the meals on the house but at this stage we really didn't feel comfortable being there anymore. We could hear the angry shouts from the chef coming from the kitchen that we had left but were told it was the waiting staff he was angry at, not us.

In the end we left and ended up having a Chinese take away at 10pm when we got home.

We have since been given a complimentary meal for 2 voucher as an apology, so maybe if we go back we'll get a different experience. Will we go back though? We certainly wouldn't as paying customers so we will see.

Very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmegjam123, Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would very much like to take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing our establishment.
Certainly we would like to apologize once again for your experience and express our sincerest regrets.There are a few things I would like to address.

Firstly it is unfair to criticize the lack of receptionist as she was taking a guests luggage to their room. There is only one receptionist on duty at a time and they try very hard to provide excellent customer service. Part of this is to show guests to their room where possible, including carrying luggage. She was simply doing her job and with the best will in the world, it is impossible for her to be in two places at once.

We cannot argue the point about the service in the bar. As expressed to you at the time this is unacceptable. We did offer to provide you with your meals complimentary which you chose not to accept.

You said that the staff used being busy as an excuse for the service. However, I believe that it was yourselves (and not our staff) who suggested that perhaps this was because they were busy and even expressed an understanding.

We do also run a restaurant for evening service as well as the lounge bar and although it may not appear busy in one area it can be in the other.

The complimentary voucher for dinner was emailed to you the same evening with our sincerest apologies with the hope that you would indeed return to our establishment. We will see what the future holds; but undoubtedly we do hope that you will stop at The Onich Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

As I write this review I am still in the hotel, it is so bad I just had to express my strong feelings and disbelief at how shoddy this place is right away. This place makes Basil Faulty look like an entrepreneur!. My wife has a serious allergy to Gluten (coeliac disease) and had taken long consideration in choosing her starter (scallops with NO BLACKPUDDING) only to recieve her dish covered in BLACKPUDDING!. Gluten contamination has an extreme affect on her and takes days to recover from. Anyway not to make a fuss she brushed the black pudding aside and ate her starter only to be confronted by a waitress telling us that she noticed the pile of black pudding and half heartidly apologised, then in the same breath basically accused us of giving an incorrect room number for billing purposes. Only when i produced our room key displaying the number did she say " that's fine". Well, sorry that is far from fine, it is not acceptable to be made feel like a thief!. If you make the big mistske in staying here eat somewhere else as they only can produce a part menu, not even a sorry do you recieve when they tell you that they have none left. I am a dog lover and really don't mind seeing a well behaved dog in a restaurant but when you see dog hairs scattered all over the floor it even turned my stomach, just dirty and unhygienic. Not a nice place to stay!.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmegjam123, Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to address several of the issues that you had whilst staying with us. Firstly we would like to express our sincerest apologies that you were so distressed.
However, we do find some of your comments to be quite hurtful and would urge you to contact the hotel directly. We would like you to explain exactly what you mean by “shoddy” you have not criticized the décor in any way and so we can only assume that this insult is directed toward our staff. Which we find hard to believe as you said to our assistant manager that she was “a credit to the hotel” during check out when asked if everything was fine with your stay you expressed absolutely no issues to the receptionist. I find this rather odd as you felt the need to write such a scathing review whilst still in the hotel.

It is indeed upsetting that your wife has such a strong allergy to gluten and even after asking for no black pudding on the dish it did undeniably make its way to your table. However, I see that you have not mentioned how the Assistant Manager took the time discover exactly what your wife could eat on the menu and what substitutions could be made if any. Nor have you mentioned the fact that as soon as the Duty Manager was at your table to check if everything was ok did she provide you with a sincere apology and a genuine offer to replace the dish. This was not a half hearted apology as she was genuinely distressed that your wife might become ill. I do however, find it curious that she has such a strong allergy to gluten but was able to eat a Tattie Scone one morning for breakfast which is largely made up of flour.

At no point during your stay were you refused anything that you ordered and once again we would urge you to contact the hotel to inform us exactly what you mean by only being able to offer a part menu. From time to time as with all establishments’ there can be a rush on certain items which can leave us short. This does not appear to be the case for yourselves as it would seem that your wife ordered the homemade burger and you ordered Scampi. This is exactly what you asked the waiter for when he arrived to take your order. It would appear that you did not ask for anything different and so could not have been refused and as such we would not have offered an apology for an event that did not take place.

As for being made out to be a thief, I would suggest that perhaps you misunderstood the situation. Certainly I can understand that being treated as a thief would indeed be offensive. It is our policy to ask all of our patrons if they are residents and if so their room numbers. This is to ensure that the correct bills are charge to the correct rooms. Over and over we see people giving the wrong room numbers and attempting to sign items to rooms that are not theirs. This is exactly what occurred during your stay. Whilst you & your wife were dining in the bar other residents were dining in the restaurant. Another couple insisted that they were staying in the same room as yourselves. Obviously this raised a red flag as how could we possibly have two room numbers the same? Our Assistant Manager & Duty Manager both took the time to apologise and ensure that you understood that you were not being accused of being a thief but the waiting staff were obligated to find who was in the correct room. You actually offered the room key as evidence and did not produce it until after the conversation was over, you were never asked to show the key. I am very sure that you would have been unimpressed if you had been provided with two restaurant bills for the same evening. This is what would have occurred had our staff not noticed.

Dogs walk in and out of the Lounge bar regularly including during evening service as a vast majority of our business comes directly from guests who wish to have their pets with them. Do you suggest that part way through the evening whilst everyone else is dining and enjoying their evening that we should break out the hoover? I am positive that you would have had something negative to say about that too. It is for this exact reason that we offer people the choice of dining in the restaurant (where dogs are not permitted) or the bar. You chose to dine in the bar, where dogs are not only tolerated but welcomed.

I must say that I do not find it particularly reassuring that you have also neglected to mention that you took such umbrage to being asked your room number that you decided to leave the bar without allowing your wife to eat a main meal! When asked if you would like to take a seat for your main meal again you point blank refused to dine, you wife expressed that she would require a meal but you still wanted to go up to your room. At this point our staff intervened and actually offered to bring food and drink to your wife in the room. Usually there would be a room service charge, on this occasion it was not only waived but the burger she requested was provided free of charge as way of an apology for the incident with your wife’s starter.

It is unreasonable to write such nasty things when you had on several occasions complimented members of staff, yet this appears nowhere in your review. Why when asked on check out how you enjoyed your stay were you not honest? Instead you chose to let the receptionist believe that all was ok, when only the evening before you were writing the above review. Quite underhanded I would say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel location is an easy drive to Glencoe, Oban or Fort William. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food is plentiful and delicous. It is an old hotel so the only downside is the rooms which are quite small although bright and clean and the view is stunning. Likewise for the bathroom which was compact and needing some TLC. Would happily stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmegjam123, Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Onich Hotel

We were all delighted to read your charming comments and to see that you enjoyed staying with us.

Our Chef was especially pleased by your description of the food.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you wish to book a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Onich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onich Hotel

Address: nr Fort William, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Onich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe with attractive gardens extending down to the water's edge the Onich Hotel has stunning panoramic views of the Mountains of Glencoe in the East to Morvern and the Isle of Mull in the West. Here you will be treated to the best in Highland Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Onich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onich
Onich Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.