We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onich Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Onich Hotel to your Saves list
Onich Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   nr Fort William, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely staff, lovely rooms with beautiful views. Food delicious and reasonable in price. This was a stop off in the midst of a very long journey and it was a good choice. Breakfast was hearty and set us up well the next day. Only negative was a draft from the balcony, but didn't cause enough of an issue to complain about it. I am sure if I had they would have addressed it with a draft excluder as they were all very helpful.

Room Tip: Request one over looking the loch and not the main road. I would expect that could be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    152
    61
    36
    27
See reviews for
59
219
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a beautiful area it is... Onich Hotel and Restaurant is located in such a beautiful place that no would ever want to leave that place very soon... It was heavenly!

It is situated on the bank of the huge water body... which is the called as Loch Linnhe.. but from the look anyone would think that as an Ocean..! At the front of the hotel/ restaurant.. there are the hills on the front side of hotel and at the backside there is a picture like private garden decorated with white coloured garden chairs.. placed on the soft green grasses.. across that is the lake and then big hills on the horizon... All together simply a poster...! I wish I could stay there for long.. such a missed opportunity!

Highly recommend this place for your visit..!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate here because the hotel we were in was a bit grim. We enjoyed excellent food and service, with the razor clams a spectacular success. There is a beautiful view from the restaurant and friendly staff so we will be giving this place a try on our return to the Highlands next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a lovely place!
We visited over a few days in August - staff were really friendly, hotel cosy and welcoming and the views over the Loch were amazing. We had a delicious evening meal at a table which had views of a sunset over the Loch and mountains - fab!
Good location with plenty of car park spaces, close to Glencoe, Ben Nevis range and much more...

Room Tip: A view of the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife has always wanted to stay here so as a special birthday treat I booked a couple of nights. Whilst the hotel is showing a few signs of age, it is still very clean and cosy. The breakfast was excellent with a variety of things to cater for every taste. In the evenings, you could eat in the bar or the main restaurant. We ate in both and we were very impressed with the quality of the food. The views were amazing and the sound of the waves lapping on the shore aided a good nights sleep on very comfortable beds.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were staying in the area for a week and decided to try the Onich Hotel for an evening meal.We were not disappointed the food was delicious, so full of flavour. I had the Venison which was amazing and my wife had the corn fed roast Chicken and thinks this was the best Chicken she has ever tasted. The whole evening was one to remember with the beautiful view across the Firth of Lorne and the friendly atmosphere created by the staff making us feel very welcome.
Congratulations to the owners of this exceptional Hotel for the service they and their staff provide and I would like to recommend the Onich Hotel very highly indeed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WILLIAM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

we were greeted by a member of staff and taken to our table. our drinks order was taken and it came very quickly. very nice wine and a great pint of local beer. we had starters, my wife had a sqash and parsnip stack and was very good, i had the best cullen skink i have tasted. full of flavour and piping hot. we both had pan roast chicken with roasted veg and mash. it was realy tasty and the veloute was very creamy. two creme brulee followed with raspberrys and drambuie. a great finish to a great meal. it's well worth a visit if you are passing through onich. the hotel should be proud of the chefs and thier staff.

Room Tip: may be good to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onich Hotel

Address: nr Fort William, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Onich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe with attractive gardens extending down to the water's edge the Onich Hotel has stunning panoramic views of the Mountains of Glencoe in the East to Morvern and the Isle of Mull in the West. Here you will be treated to the best in Highland Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Onich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onich
Onich Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.