We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge On The Loch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge On The Loch to your Saves list
The Lodge On The Loch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Creag Dhu, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“weekend away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We got an ITISON deal and have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. I paid an extra £20 each to upgrade to a "Deluxe" room! What a joke that was. No Bathrobes as advertised, plug hole in the sink was stuck, jacuzzi bath didn't work! The bathroom was freezing and although it did have a heated towel rail we couldn't find a switch to turn it on, then we found a random switch in the bedroom so we thought we would put it on and low and behold the towel rail heated up eventually. I couldn't comment on the staff as we never really seen much of them, except for the young girl on breakfast duty who was pleasant enough. Breakfast was ok, enough choice but on the first night we had dinner in the dining room, well I say dinner! I ordered the Sirloin steak and I can insure you that it was not a sirloin, it was full of fat, it was more like a Rib Eye, my husband ordered the Chicken Breasts and Haggis but it was more like Pigeon breast, the veg was ridiculous it was one small ( and I mean small) potato sliced to about the size of 10p pieces, a bit of broccoli and a bit of cauliflower. We ended up going along to another hotel the following evening for dinner and it was amazing in comparison. The best thing of all was the view, it was amazing. I know it was a cheaper deal we got, but people do pay full price to stay at this hotel. Needless to say we will not be returning.

Room Tip: don't choose room 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    59
    37
    38
    39
See reviews for
18
149
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the hotel courtesy of a voucher for £89. Paid £20 a night extra for an upgrade. We had room 11 called Local Hero. When we arrived, there was no heating on but it was fine when it warmed up. It's a nice big room and the seating area at the window has a spectacular view. The public areas were really quite cold. The log fire was on, on the last night, but it's still not what you'd call warm. The restaurant was also cold. Dinner on both nights was ok. Breakfast is very well presented but wasn't very hot. Despite this, I would stay here again if I got a good deal.... But probably only in the summer!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went for one night only but it was a lovely break the hotel was fine the room was fine with a view of the loch breakfast was lovely staff were thin on the ground but when you found them they were most helpfull would definitely go back again one minus was the room decor it was a bit 70s

Room Tip: ask for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After a false start where we turned up on the wrong day, we had a fantastic stay here. Leon, who is a perfect gentleman organised rooms for us at another hotel as he was fully booked on the day we arrived. Josh is a lovely guy, multi talented and made us smile, was really informative about places of interest to visit and made sure we had everything we needed (thanks for the compliment by the way). Many thanks to Pablo the very talented and artistic chef - there were 4 in our party and not a single complaint about any aspect of the food. David(?) the waiter on a couple of occasions was so attentive and very pleasant at all times. Our rooms overlooking the loch were beautiful, well decorated and very comfortable. We could not fault the hotel on any level and will definitely be back. Thank you and I will make sure to get the date right next time!

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the loch. We were in the Terracotta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Based upon certain "trip advisor" reviews we arrived prepared to find alternative accommodation if necessary.
We booked via "Itison"and prepaid £49 for one nights B & B, with a + £20 club room upgrade due on departure.
A friendly reception from Josh was a reassuring start.
We were shown to our room ( #17, "comfort crusade") and were consequently further reassured that the booking was good to go.
The small bar was deficient one tap (ale), but still offered a reasonable wine, lager & whisky selection.
Dinner & wine was enjoyable & at a reasonable price.
A trio of young local Scottish musicians provided background music from the lounge area.
Great nights sleep
Fantastic panoramic views from room.
Shower was "warm enough".
Breakfast choice of eggs and salmon was enjoyable.

In summary, I have stayed in iconic Scottish inns at far greater cost and with a much more shabby feel. In fact, I saw no shabby interior decor.
The staff were all friendly and helpful.
I would gladly stay here again, as would my wife.

Room Tip: Can only advise ~17 a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were recommended to this hotel, what a mistake. The rooms were very basic, the bed was soft and squiggy and extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom was passable but the towels were hard and scratchy due to old age and too much laundering. The food was awful both the evening meal and breakfast. As for a cup of tea - well it was kept hot on a coffee machine and as black as soot - totally undrinkable. To top it all, I tried to open the window and the glass broke in my hand, informed the management accordingly - their response was thank you for being honest then they had the audacity to charge me £30.00 for a new pane of glass. Just goes to show honesty does not pay!

Room Tip: Don't bother - pass this one by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyaside
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I had a mid week two day B & B stay at this hotel courtesy of a discount voucher for £89.00.
The hotel is is in a very picturesque setting by the side of the loch. It is ideally situated for touring Glen Coe and Fort William. On arrival we were signed in by a pleasant and friendly young chap who showed us to our room and advised of breakfast and evening meal times.
The room had a pleasant view but was quite small bearing in mind we had our dog, (Spaniel) with us. The decor was a bit dated but clean enough. We decided to eat in the hotel on our first night and the food was good and ample proportions.
Breakfast was disappointing as everything was on the cheap from the toast to the bacon and sausage.
On the upside staff were very pleaseant and helpful.
In general the hotel requires a good refurb but to be fair that would be costly.
Would I stay there again perhaps for the above rate but no more

Room Tip: Cannot comment other than one with a lock view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge On The Loch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge On The Loch

Address: Creag Dhu, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge On The Loch 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge On The Loch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Loch
The Lodge On Loch
The Lodge On The Loch Onich, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge On The Loch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.