We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochview Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochview Guesthouse
Save
You added Lochview Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bunree, Onich PH33 6SE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Onich B&B and Inns
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An idyllic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

From start to finish our stay at Lochview Guesthouse was undoubtably the best we have ever experienced. The warmth, hospitality and care of the guesthouse owners, Ann and Chris was unforgettable, nothing seemed too much trouble and extra little details that made our trip special will be remembered forever. We took the trip to Fort William for a short break after our wedding and could not have imagined a more wonderful time. Stunning scenery, good company, delicious food and very comfortable surroundings.We truly relaxed here. Our only disappointment was having to leave. Thank you so much for creating such a happy memory for us both. Emma & Andy xx

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is every bit as good as other reviewers have said. The location is spectacular and views throughout are stunning. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated and appointed. You could not ask for more willing and helpful hosts - it's more like becoming part of the family than being at a B&B! Breakfasts are particularly memorable and the welcome tea is a lovely touch. We wondered whether the views from the kitchen inspire Anne to culinary greatness! Cannot recommend this highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This fantastic place is difficult to find but well worth it. The decor is beautifully modern, the bathrooms super luxurious with jacuzzi bath and huge, walk in showers, breakfasts unforgettable with fresh fruit, beautifully cooked food, home made scones and the hosts, Ann and Chris have a wicked sense of humour. Definitely a place to return to again and again. Can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The Lochview Guesthouse is tucked away in an unassuming corner of the tiny 'town' of Onich--it took us a while to find the spot, to get up the nerve to drive down what seemed like a private road, and knock on what seemed like a private home! There are excellent directions on website--we just didn't happen to have them with us. There are also no signs on the guesthouse, which I can appreciate from a privacy standpoint.

Luckily, the very kind folks at the Glencoe visitors center down the road helped direct us. And once we arrived at Lochview Guesthouse, we didn't want to leave. The views are spectacular, the house and rooms are well-appointed and spotlessly clean, the bed is large and comfortable, the breakfast is fresh and delicious, and the hosts are both helpful and discreet. We loved out time at Lochview. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We, and our friends, stayed for 4 nights for a family wedding in the area. We endorse everything written in all the earlier reviews. The location is superb, but what really sets Lochview above all the rest are the wonderful hosts, Ann and Chris, and the ambience of the house. Enormous care and effort is made to make your stay relaxed and highly pleasurable. The house is very tastefully decorated throughout in top class modern style, with quality furnishings and interesting pictures and artifacts. WiFi available everywhere. The rooms are all excellent and the Sallachan room particularly special with dual aspect views over the loch and the mountains, and an enormous bathroom with lovely fittings, a great shower, and a large spa bath. Breakfasts in the dining room were a relaxed and pleasant experience. A wide range of cereals, wonderful fresh fruit and yoghurts, and cooked breakfast were all excellent. However we strongly recommend that you try the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, or my particular favourite of eggs and hot smoked salmon. Ann & Chris delighted us with a complimentary surprize bottle of champagne with breakfast on the day of the wedding. A lovely touch and a great start to the day. Chris also kindly taxied us around on the day of the wedding. It was a pleasure to return to the house on each evening. Nothing was to much trouble for our hosts. We would have been very happy to stay longer. Sam & Lynne

( We wish all the other hotels ,B&Bs, and restaurants in the area would follow Ann & Chris' approach and provide a similar high quality, relaxed, hassle free, and value for money experience. Unfortunately our experience of most other local places was that they have tired or outdated decor, poorly trained staff, poor attitude to customers and are poor value for money given the frequently inflated prices for what is offered. Many of the other places only survive because of the wonderful scenery; it's certainly not for their value for money or service)

Room Tip: Outstanding. Be quick or miss out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I were getting to the end of our 2 week journey around the country and had stayed in several B&B's. All were quite fine and we thought we were doing well up to this point. Then we arrived at Lochview for a 2 night stay. Wow, what a place!

Ann gave us a warm welcome and escorted us to our room, and what a room it was: big, tastefully decorated, modern, comfortable, large en-suite bathroom, and a terrific view of the loch and surrounding hills. Ann then offered us tea, which included tasty goodies, all nicely presented and delivered on a tray. A great start indeed.

Chris, Ann's husband, is a very nice chap with a sense of humour and a deep knowledge of whisky. He even offered to drive us to a restaurant, which is about 12 minutes away. No one else we stayed with offered us this service. Both Ann and Chris were also very helpful with our plans for touring the area.

Now on to breakfast. What can I say other than it fabulous. Try Ann's smoked salmon scrambled eggs. The eggs were from free-range, beach feeding chickens from down the road. Can't get any fresher than that.

All in all, my wife and I have to say that Lochview received the overall best rating of all the B&B's we stayed at while in Scotland, and we stayed in some nice places. The area is also highly recommended as opposed to staying in Fort William. We would not hesitate to return to Ann and Chris' home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had to cancel a trip because my father in law was ill, and we were treated wonderfully by Ann. Thank you.

The saddest part about cancelling my trip may be not getting to try the Scottish smoked salmon and eggs.

Hopefully my future holds a trip here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lochview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochview Guesthouse

Address: Bunree, Onich PH33 6SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Onich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lochview Guesthouse Onich, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochview Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.