We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, wonderful, perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LochLeven Seafood Cafe

LochLeven Seafood Cafe
Onich PH33 6SA, Scotland
01855 821 048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Onich
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing, wonderful, perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I loved this place! We read about this place in a guidebook and since we were in the area anyway decided to stop for a late lunch (i think it was about 2 or 3pm). I was expecting a flash building, but it does look rather basic and we did almost drive by it. The night before we had dinner at the Seafood Temple in Oban (which was pretty fantastic), so we decided to try the seafood patter at this cafe to compare the two. The Seafood Cafe platter was a little bit more expensive, but it was so much more amazing! The platter was huge and had so much variety on it, so wonderful. The waitress was fantastic (a fellow aussie!) and made sure we had enough napkins, drinks etc. Would highly recommend this place if you are in the area, in fact if you are not even in the area make the effort to drive over!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    85
    26
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Memorable for all the right reasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

What a fantastic place! The value for money was extraordinary. And that's not to say the food was mediocre and cheap. The food was outstanding and the price surprisingly low. I had the special, which was halibut in a mushroom and butterbean sauce and I often think back to that day with a smile - I loved it. It had been hyped up to the extremes by a friend of mine so I was expecting a lot from this place and it delivered in every aspect. We went as a party of 6 and every one of us was very impressed. A MUST visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but absolutely worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Delicious seafood. I had lobster, my husband the fish of the day. It was excellent. The scenery is nice, there is not much around. We got lucky enough to enjoy lunch on the terrace. I agree with the other reviews, it's worth it if you are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow. Great seafood and lovely staff in a great setting. A must if in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Had the most delicious scallops and lobster, simply cooked and presented. Great menu and very good value. Right next to Loch Leven, traditional from the outside, with simple decor, set off by sea related modern art sculpture. Very effective. Staff lovely and efficient. Was lucky to walk in and get a table, need to book! Great crockery and mini towel tablets to soak when ready. A must if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great seafood in relaxed setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Recommend booking here to avoid disappointment. Excellent fresh dishes served in an informal cafe style restaurant. Nice views overlooking the loch but there are only 3 or 4 tables next to the window.

Go for the shellfish soup!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LochLeven Seafood Cafe also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Ballachulish, Glencoe
 

Been to LochLeven Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LochLeven Seafood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.