We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in the Lakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater to your Saves list
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
South Shields
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the Lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent on night in this nice old hotel, great setting and views. Staff helpful and although there was some modernisation work going on, this did not affect our stay. Very busy when we arrived and it was difficult to park due to an afternoon function going on, quietened down when they left and we got parked near the front door. Had room in main building that was well furnished and clean. Took a dinner b and b package as there is no where in walking distance to eat elsewhere. Had a good meal within the £28 allowance and had £10 towards wine from the on line booking offer.
The peace was shattered a couple of times by the RAF training flights but that's ok. Shame the garden view was spoilt by the stripping down and removal of a massive tent.
Hotel would benefit its own leisure facilities.

Room Tip: New block has rooms with balconies and accepts dogs in rooms, old building has balcony rooms over lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    155
    69
    22
    14
See reviews for
57
413
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

First visit to this hotel. The room was spacious and elegantly decorated with two balconies. (one outside the bathroom ) We booked a room with a view over the lake and gardens which was well worth the extra cost. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We even got a glass of complimentary champagne on our anniversary. The food was of a very high standard but a little expensive. We had booked for dinner, bed and breakfast in advance and were allocated £28 towards the dinner menu, which was not enough to cover the cost of a 3 course dinner. The main courses were very good, but an extra supplement was charged if you required vegetables. Altogether a good location for exploring the Lake District.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake and garden view. Well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in Leeming House for 1 night. The staff in the reception greet you with a smile. The room was fabulous with nice balcony and view. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Special mention for Arek who made dining for us, there a pleasure, very friendly and helpful.
Definitely a great place to stay that is guaranteed to make your trip wholly relaxing. Would surely come back.
Michal & Marzena.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the fourth time my husband and I have stayed at Leeming House hotel over a period of about five years and have to say that the whole experience was again superb. We stayed at the beginning of July for 13 nights. The secluded location on Ullswater is ideal to act as a base for us to go fell walking, and the view from the terrace is nothing short of sublime. The staff are absolutely first rate and nothing is too much trouble. Arek was in charge as the manager was on leave for most of our stay and needs a special mention, he was fantastic!, highly professional and attentive. The food was excellent and the overall cost of the stay was very reasonable given the high quality service provided. This year we paid extra to have a queen sized bed which was well worth the upgrade.
We absolutely love this hotel and can't wait to book for next summer. The experience is as close to complete relaxation as one can ask for. Wonderful!

Room Tip: The rooms the we have stayed in have all been good but it's worth booking an upgrade to a queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The weather was beautiful and we stopped for coffee hoping there was somewhere to sit outside. Wow! The terace had the most amazing views and the staff and the service were faultless. A bit pricey however worth it for the setting and quality of service and food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful location and scenery with the views from room 24 particularly good across the gardens, Ullswater and the fells. Decor and facilities on par with the many other Macdonald hotels we use.
Only disappointment, night one, was the very, very poor response to providing food for my spouse who is allergic to certain ingredients. This was despite email notification and a further reminder on check in. "Nothing would be a problem. Ask for what you want. It is all prepared in house."
It is, and to a prescribed recipe containing the allergens.
Credit due, after a post dinner discussion with the restaurant manager the second night was more to the Macdonald standards we expect and enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms 22,24,26 have a individual balconies with beautiful lake and fell views and are on the same le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I must start of by saying how beautiful the location of the hotel is. From the entrance at the front to the exceptional view of the lake from the back terrace.

We were a party of 11 staying and 13 dining on the first night. However, due to the large party we were often made to feel as though this was an inconvenience to the staff and we were often told there are other 'normal paying guests'.

Check in: Was fairly straight forward and we were allocated our rooms quickly.

Room: I believe all of our party were happy with their rooms. We stayed in the Garden Suite room 41 and we were very happy with the room.

It was split level with bunk beds upstairs and a standard double in the main room. Considering the size of the room, they could have had a bigger bed but the bed was comfortable enough.

The bathroom was spacious with a separate bath and shower. All of our parties complained about the shower feeling more like a dribble rather than a nice pressure shower.

The balcony was large with a table and two chairs. The view was wonderful of the gardens and lake. It was lovely watching the rabbits hopping around the garden.

Drinks/Bar: Sometimes we had to wait a while before we could order drinks and at least once our order wasn't bought to us. The bar seemed to close quite early (11.30-12ish) so it was lights out fairly early.

Breakfast: The first morning our large party had breakfast together in the separate room from the restaurant. This was fine however little things like having to walk into the next room to get water was a little frustrating. They are able to deal with large parties so they should have set the room up with simply things like butter, water and condiments.

Dinner: We had dinner with our large party on the first night and this was very nice. We had to stick to a set menu which was understandable considering the size of the party and we had to pre order. Everyone seemed happy with their dinner.

The portions are small, especially the main. I had the pork which consisted of three small slices of pork (sausage size slices), mash and vegetables. However, I did not feel hungry after three courses.

One of the biggest issues we had was the lack of supplies. Often we would order a bottle of wine, champagne or port and they would run out of stock. We were not ordering large quantities however they ran out of a lot of items.

Service: As mentioned above we were often made to feel as though we were an inconvenience. When our party first arrived we were sat in the back room as it started to rain and we were told we may not be able to sit together as other normal guests also have the right to use the sitting area.

This comment was made a number of times and we all found it very rude. All of our party were normal paying guests and do they honest expect large parties not to want to socialise together?

Although the waiting staff were often very friendly, they did not have adequate training. Simply things like pouring the wine and clearing the tablets was not always completed in the most professional manner.

There was a young blonde waitress who was extremely helpful and professional, sadly I can not remember her name.

However some of the other staff clearly did not have formal hospitability training.

Grounds: The gardens and terrace were wonderful and very well kept. The walk down to the lake was very peaceful and we were even brave enough to take a swim. If you plan to do this, bring some shoes you are happy to swim in as it is very rocky getting into the lake.

Although we all had a very nice time, I am not sure we will return to this hotel. I think we all expected the service to be considerably higher considering the price for the weekend.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite (Room 41) was excellent. Very large and well equiped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.