We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious views on a wintry day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater to your Saves list
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland,England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Glorious views on a wintry day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Leeming House on a Sunday afternoon after some difficulty getting there due to the bad weather (A66 was shut due to snow) but remarkably the roads there were clear. We were checked in quickly and given details of the Macdonald Club as we tend to stay in their hotels on a regular basis.
We found our room which overlooked the car park and trees which did disappoint us but we hadn't paid premium rate so not to be expected really. The room was really clean and spacious with a lovely king size comfortable bed, we did request extra pillows for our second night as they were quite thin for our liking. The only thing our room lacked was a fridge which is normally provided in other Macdonald hotels we've stayed in . We didn't really use any facilities, not that there are many! The sitting areas were quite small and it did have a feel of being in somebody's house! The views are stunning , just a shame there's not many places to sit and appreciate them inside the hotel unless you have a lake view room. There was a bar apparently but looking at the price list(£7.50 for a bottle of beer) we were glad we brought our own refreshments!
The location for the hotel is handy as it is only a 5 minute drive from the A66 which takes you towards Keswick and Bowness, and 7 miles from Penrith if you wanted to eat out . We only had breakfast in the hotel but it was superb and the staff were all very pleasant and courteous. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay for the chilled out couple of days that we wanted but if your looking for a bit more action on your doorstep or you have children id recommend staying at The Old England in Bowness.
I must say this would make a perfect spa hotel if they provided a pool!
Good value only because we paid with Tesco vouchers. I wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    181
    73
    25
    16
See reviews for
69
478
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As part of a short break Honeymoon, my Wife and I choose the Leeming House Hotel in the Lake District for a two night stay and relaxing is the most appropriate word to use.

The staff were very professional and friendly which was apparent straight away as we entered the Hotel for the first time. The Food was a delight and a seat by the fire-side with a Malt topped off the Meals very well.

The room we were assigned was spacious, clean, lovely bathroom, veranda with views of the exapnsive Gardens, Lake and Hills.

It is not a black mark against a really good hotel but be advised that due to the remote location, driving is a necessity for visiting other areas in the Lake District. If you visit this Hotel take advantage of pre-booking a Meal or Multiple Meals when making the initial Hotel Booking as you will receive a better rate for some really good food.

We will be going back again for a Stay, hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked a stay 05.04.13 and need to comment as follows:-
We had previously stayed in 2011 and the reception area remains unchanged and is in dire need of renovation to provide a positive first impression of a 4* establishment.
Checking in was efficient and we were asked if we would like to reserve a table for dinner. We were advised that the earliest table was 20.45hrs which was a bit late for us; however we were meeting friends and the receptionist advised us of a good alternative for dinner at the nearby Queen's Head at Tirril. The receptionist rang and booked us a table which was good service. (I'd recommend this pub as an aside).
The room we had booked was a feature room, Room 35, and everything was as expected, very comfortable, very warm, well appointed with a great view of the mountains, the gardens and the
lake. My wife did comment though that the bathroom towels were past their best and certain parts of the hallway is in need of refurbishment.
Breakfast was fine the next morning.
Overall the room and service was very good but their are signs that some work is needed to
maintain The Leeming House' 4* quality. We would certainly book to stay again, however when we paid upon departure we were charged an additional £3.00 for the privilege of using a credit card; SHAME on McDonald Hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely relaxing stay in a stunning location. The well kept gardens and snow capped mountains make it all the more beautiful. All of the staff make you feel comfortable and special. Rooms are beautifully furnished. Breakfast and dinner was superb. I have stayed before and will not hesitate to return.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We made a short notice decision to come here for a mid-week break to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary, prompted by the offer of a bargain Saga Promotion and the fact that we could bring our dog, without a hundred restrictive conditions.

As it turned out, we were alloacated a dog "dedicated" room at lawn level which was perfect and we only saw one other dog there during our stay. Thouroughly enjoyed our visit which was way beyond our expectations and would certainly return but probably not at the normal cost.We found the staff excellent - friendly and attentive. Quality of furnishings, bedding and hotel setting also excellent - particularly with the local scenery emphasised by the snow on the surrounding hills.

These sort of reviews are of little use if indications towards improvements are not made - bland compliments are easy to make as I have just proved!

On the negative side, the cost of the wine list was prohibitive for most normal wine drinkers. £20+ for a bottle of house wine which would be around £8/9 at supermarket level, is excessive. We bought no hotel wine on principle and toasted our anniversary on excellent "imported" wine in our room.The cost of the higher level of dinners is also excessive and we cannot abide chips which come in the form of Jenka blocks and taste very similar!

Breakfast was good but the "signature breakfast" (whatever that means) could be better. Sausage said to be a special sort was somewhat indigestibile for the rest of the morning. Bacon rather over salty. The rest of the breakfast selection was first rate and as someone previously mentioned, the coffee was excellent.Only really disturbing was the early morning sight of a Brakes (Bros) delivery vehicle at the hotel

All in all an excellent break.

P S - we did not get free Wi Fi !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Friendly check in, very helpful and the receptionist took the time to call after a few minutes to ensure I was happy with the room. Great views from hotel grounds, you can walk down to the shore of Ullswater. King room, designated as a garden view on the website is a good size (29) and the lake is actually visible from the balconies, although not direct. A comfortable hotel with character in an excellent location. Some furnishings are showing some signs of age, but hotel is well maintained overall. Good wine selection, but very limited draft beer selection in the bar. This is a pity considering the number of Lakeland breweries that could be offered to guests. Overall, worth a visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is perfectly nice but very old fashioned. Great views of the lake and helpful friendly staff. My only complaint...the staff don't when to leave you alone and are not very good at reading the situation, an example of this was when we were sitting in the lounge having hot chocolate and reading, we were asked if we wanted more drinks 4 times. We ate in the restaurant for dinner, food was nice but be prepared to pay London prices. Breakfast was great, recommend he signature cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.