We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with decent rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rampsbeck Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rampsbeck Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rampsbeck Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Watermillock
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with decent rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a really nice night at the Rampsbeck. The hotel is lovely and in a gorgeous location. We were a little put off on arrival. Not sure they are used to people turning up on motorcycles and the receptionist seemed a bit sniffy - e.g. everyone in front of us at reception was offered help with their bags but we weren't. Staff even watched my husband struggling with heavy bags without offering to help. We had booked the Dinner, B&B package which included the "best available room". However, I can't believe that they were so full that the room we were given was the best available! I think we were given the basic room or even "worst available". There was nothing wrong with it and the bathroom was nice and big with a heated floor but the room itself was small, it had a very small window with a poor view.
However, the food was fantastic as was the service before, during and after the meal. (Even opening up the terrace and putting out warmed cushions so my husband could smoke after the meal.)
Similarly the breakfast was good as was the service.
My only comment on the service was that the same member of staff was there last thing at night in the bar and first in the morning for breakfast - this is a sign of a hotel that is not treating its staff well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Bexw150,
Many thanks for taking the time and effort to post a review on Trip Advisor.
I would like to reply to your comment that we are not used to people turning up on motorbikes.
Our guests are greeted by the same warm welcome whether they have travelled on a pushbike, motorbike, Bentley or Porsche!
I have spoken with the Receptionist on duty at the time of your arrival and she assures me that she did ask if you needed any help with your bags but that you preferred to be shown to your room first.
It does state on the Fine Dining Midweek Offer that an upgrade is given only if available on the day, again having checked the Diary on we definitely did not have an upgrade available, all of the Superior, Mini Deluxe and Deluxe rooms were booked up. This is the chance that you take when booking this offer and I do have to say that we do, and are more than happy to do so, offer upgrades as and when we can.
I should also say that this offer does start in a Standard room, and we do always state that these rooms do not have a view.
I can also assure you that Rampsbeck owners and General Manager do look after their staff very well, the leisure industry is well known for having to working anti social hours, and yes we do occasionally have to work a late shift and then an early morning shift but this does not happen on a day to day basis. Only last week our Manager gave every member of staff extra time off simply because they had all worked so hard the previous week when we were extremely busy, not a sign of "not being treated very well" surely?
The team at Rampsbeck get a lot of very positive comments, both on this site and verbally, about how lovely our staff are, if they were unhappy then I think it would show would it not?
I am pleased to read that over all you did enjoy your time with us and found the service and food to be fantastic.
Once again many thanks for all of your comments,
Kindest regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    54
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
313
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

During our recent weekend stay we were given a warm welcome to this hotel. The staff were friendly, polite, smart and obliging. Our room was very clean, comfortable and afforded a splendid view of the gardens and the lake at Ullswater. An ideal setting for a peaceful relaxing time with a large bay-windowed lounge and comfy bar for before dinner drinks. The restaurant was tastefully equipped and decorated and the food was AMAZING! We would give this hotel a DEFINITE 5 star rating and should very much like to visit it again.
Thankyou to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Swimming pool rating clicked in error as there was no pool. Had there been one we are sure it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear JACKO452,
Many thanks for posting such positive feedback on Trip Advisor.
The team at at Rampsbeck are delighted by your comments and for the 5 star rating you have awarded us.
We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and we look forward to offering you the same warm hospitality on your next visit to Rampsbeck.
Best wishes to you,
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Recently had a one night stay here. Beautiful room with amazing views of lake Ullswater. The whole hotel was elegant and understated in a delightful old fashioned way. We are both foodies and have stayed in many starred hotels but the food here was outstanding and the service was too. Looking for somewhere exceptional we'll this is it. We had originally booked on a special two night deal but had to cancel last minute. The hotel held our deposit for three months and matched the deal later. I overheard someone booking for the fourth time this year and it is only May! Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Peter C,
Thank you for posting such positive feedback on Trip Advisor after your stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you found us to be "outstanding" and that you look forward to returning to us.
We are happy, in certain cases, to hold a guests deposit to be used against a future visit, in your case the cancellation was unavoidable and we are pleased that you did manage to re schedule your visit with us,
Thank you again for the positive review,
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is one gorgeous hotel! We were there with a group of friends for two nights as part of a long weekend of gastro dining experience. I picked this particularly hotel based entirely on their website and reviews from TripAdvisors. It did not disappoint at all.

What's good about it? Basically everything. The location could not be more perfect, over-looking the lake, surrounding by its own grounds so you can literally walk down to the lakes from your room. Staff were extremely friendly and professional. This is one of the very dog-friendly hotels, and with the beautiful grounds, it's ideal for walking them. We all felt very welcome, including little puppet.

Rooms - we had one of their deluxe rooms, the White Knotts, and it was beautiful. It has a balcony with extensive views over the Lakes. The room was very spacious, bed extremely comfortable, and the bathroom very functional. My friends had three standard rooms, which were smaller than our room as you would expect, but spacious by normal standard, all very comfortable, nicely decorated, and obviously been recently renovated. It is worth paying a bit more, however, for the excellent view that we had and the space.

They served a scrumptious breakfast, gorgeous cumbrian sausages, bacon, yummy black pudding, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and toast. And if you have a good appetite, you can also opt for a starter of cereal, or porridge as well. Just a slight comment (not being negative but constructive), some of the staff in the morning needs a bit more attention to details. We had to remind them to bring our toasts a few times, and when they brought our toasts, they didn't bring any butter.

We also tried afternoon tea with scones. The scones were very very nice, fluffy and soft. So this is definitely recommended.

Dinner in the restaurant was awesome - it deserves a separate review. So please take a look under the restaurant section of Tripadvisor. I will however mention here that little puppet's dinner was one of the best that he's had in hotels. He would definitely return just for the food.

My only one complaint - it would be even more perfect if dogs could also go into the drawing room. It's a lovely room, particularly when the weather was bad outside. The only thing missing was our faithful companion, little puppet. Most people only bring well-behaved dogs to stay in hotels (especially nice ones like this). If the dogs are badly behave, the hotel management can ask them to leave the room. Everyone would be happy and no one/ no dog would be unfairly penalised.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Gizmopuppet,
Many thanks for taking the time and effort to post a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us,
We are delighted to read that overall you and your party enjoyed your time with us and found us to be "simply fabulous".
Regarding the dogs being allowed in our Drawing Room, we do have very strict rules in that dogs are only allowed in the Entrance Lobby, this is because we have other guests to consider, guests who may have severe allergies, and guests who simply do not like dogs.
We have four Dog friendly rooms at Rampsbeck and again this is something we enforce quite strictly. Some people do have quite severe allergies and we have to consider these guests feelings too.
We have in the past had guests who, for whatever reason, did not want to leave their canine pet unattended in the bedroom whilst having breakfast, in these cases we are happy to set up, at their request, a breakfast table in the lobby.
Foe every dog lover there is, there is also someone who dislikes dogs and so we feel that this is the best option for the Rampsbeck.
Thank you once again for all of your comments and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your gastro dining experience in the other hotels you visited.
We look forward to welcoming you, and your pooch, back to Rampsbeck in the future,
Kindest regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have stayed here twice recently. The food was excellent though I am anxious that the chef is about to change. The dining room has views in the direction of the lake. It is a pity the car park is in front of the hotel. Staff are friendly which is always important.
The standard rooms are OK but do not have views. For a view of the lake but not mountains you need a room on the front. For a view up towards High Street over the hotel garden you need a room on the side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear cratcliffe,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor after your second stay with us.
We are pleased to read that once again you enjoyed your time with us.
We have four categories of rooms, Standard, Superior Standard, Mini Deluxe and Deluxe all of which are furnished with the same high quality and luxurious fittings. The only difference between the categories are the size and view from the room and so when guests book a standard we do always state that they are smaller and do not have a view.
Most of the superior Standards have views over the gardens, with the Lake and Mountains in the back ground, our Mini Deluxe rooms all have different outlooks and the Deluxe are all on the front of the house overlooking Ullswater. It really is worth ringing us direct and then we can discuss each room and the views from it etc with you.
Regarding the car park in front of the hotel, believe me we have had many discussions regarding moving it slightly but our hands are tied by the Lake District Authority rules and regulations !
Ben, our new Head Chef has been with us for a few weeks now so I can put your mind to rest that it will be the same Chef managing the kitchen as was on your recent stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you on your third visit to Rampsbeck,
Thank you again for posting a review on Trip Advisor,
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the room named Mell Fell, and it was absolutely wonderful, comfortable with fabulous lake and garden views. The formal gardens on the property are astonishingly beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, even coming in early to prepare a quick get-away breakfast at 7 AM as we were driving to Manchester to catch a plane. The dinner was very good and we highly recommend the cheese platter, with many local cheese choices. Beautiful antique furniture is everywhere and the many breakfronts hold china, crystal and silver that are a pleasure to look at. Rampsbeck is more formal than the typical Lake District hotel, so if planning to eat dinner there, women should bring something dressy and the men will feel more comfortable if wearing a jacket. I neglected to read the fine print that the listed prices were PER PERSON, so did experience some sticker shock when presented with the bill.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the glorious lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Alisonc561,
Many thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you and your husband enjoyed you recent overnight stay at Rampsbeck, I hope you had a pleasant and safe journey back home.
The team at Rampsbeck do, wherever possible, try and fit in with guests wishes and so it was no hardship at all to ensure you had your breakfast earlier than we normally serve it.
Next time you wish visit us do ring us personally as the Reception team always repeats the booking details to the guest , this way there will be no"sticker shock" when presented with the bill!
Regarding the query you and your husband had over the plastic tubes, seen in so many gardens in England, I have spoken to the man with the knowledge [John, our esteemed Gardener !! ] and I have penned the answers to you in a letter to you which should be with you shortly.
Once again, it was lovely to meet you both and thank you again for all of your comments,
Warm wishes to you,
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Having read previous reviews we decided to visit this hotel instead of our usual hotel in the Lakes. We are so glad we did.
From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcomed and valued. The location is perfect, with breathtaking views of Ullswater and the superb gardens that the hotel is set in.
The rooms ( ours was Martindale ) were so comfortable, luxurious and beautifully decorated. The whole hotel has recently been updated, and this shows. All the areas seem to have been brought back to their original luxury. We ate in the restaurant both evenings, and were treated to some of the finest cuisine we have had in a British hotel. They use local produce ie. game, fruit and vegetables ( even Cumbrian Gin available on the drinks menu )
The extensive wine list only added to our enjoyment. All this was complimented by the friendliness and professionalism of the all the staff in the restaurant, reception, and housekeeping.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, and will be visiting again, in the not too distant future. Our thanks to all the staff for making this a memorable visit.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying for " Named Rooms " or Deluxe, as they have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Metmancern,
Thank you for posting such positive feed back on Trip Advisor.
On behalf of all the team at Rampsbeck I would just like to say how lovely it was to meet you both and that it was our pleasure to ensure you enjoyed your time with us.
We have recently added a new member to the team, Ben, our Head Chef, who is delighted by your comments regarding the food. Ben has worked at some very prestigious hotels in the past and so it is a real coup for us that he has joined Rampsbeck to head the Kitchen.
The local Gin you mentioned is proving to be a very popular choice of drink with our guests, this is made from natural spring waters of the Lake District and very nice it is too....!
Once again, many thanks for all of your kind comments.
A warm welcome awaits you on your next visit to us,
Kindest regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rampsbeck Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rampsbeck Country House Hotel

Address: | Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rampsbeck Country House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rampsbeck has welcomed guests as a Hotel since 1947. From the word 'go', Rampsbeck was the best of Hotels, spoiling guests with the finest of four star decoration and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rampsbeck Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.