We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle & Child

Eagle & Child
3 Whalley Rd | Ramsbottom, Ramsbottom, Bury, England
01706557181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 restaurants in Ramsbottom
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
1 review
“Birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Cannot thank Glen Rosie and Emily enough for making us feel so welcome. The food and service was excellent. Would recommend anybody wanting to celebrate an event to hold it here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    184
    57
    36
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A second chance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I previously posted a review of this restaurant and was a little disappointed. However....... in view of all the other positive reviews I thought we would give it a second chance. So glad we did! A party of 6 of us went recently and couldn't fault anything. The menu seems to have changed since our last visit and we had no complaints at all. We are all seasoned diners so not necessarily the easiest to please!
Our waitress (Emily) was a joy and service was excellent. Thanks to all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiasG, Owner at Eagle & Child, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for your review. Really glad you came to see us again and enjoyed yourselves. We pride ourselves in offering a great dining experience and really welcome your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Silver Wedding Celebration surpassed all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We cannot thank Glen and his team enough they put on a magnificent buffet for 60 of our friends.Nothing was too much trouble staff were professional knowledgable and a special thank you to Heidi who manned the bar in the upstairs function room all afternoon.Top quality locally sourced food,snag bangers, salmon, Lancashire cheese and onion rolls, the now famous blackpudding scotch eggs as well as endless supply of tea and coffee for those who didn't want fizz.We were allowed to decorate the room, bring our own music.Budget was settled before the event and there were no hidden surprises.All we can say was it was pefect just what we wanted and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great that pub is doing well but no consideration for residents around as they offer very limited parking local residents struggle to park outside their own homes and landlord not interested cars sometimes park on pavements that wil not allow disabled persons to pass

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiasG, Owner at Eagle & Child, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi Gary

Thanks for your comments. As we have discussed in person, it is very difficult for me to deal with parking issues when there are no parking restrictions outside your property. As discussed, I updated our website to ask customers to avoid parking outside of neighbouring properties. Beyond this I am unsure what more I can do to help. I am aware that you and your partner have enjoyed our great food and hospitality over the past year and I hope we can work together positively to reduce any issues or conflict in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“fab meal quirky surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Called early one evening for tea, and was really suprised this is not just any old pub grub this is excellent restaurant quality food. The ham hock is too die for with home made piccalilly which should be bottle and available for sale its GORGEOUS.
We had traditional cheese and onion pie is a metal pie dish and fish n chips it all comes with little hot home made loaves of bread a lovely touch. On the down side it was a little cold but we did arrive as they opened the doors, this would not put me off as food termendous.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle & Child also viewed

 
Ramsbottom, Bury
Ramsbottom, Bury
 

Been to Eagle & Child? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle & Child, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.