We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this unpleasant Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bagden Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Bagden Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Avoid this unpleasant Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We read Trip Advisor prior to booking so had a good idea what to expect, but as we were attending a wedding here decided to take the risk for the sake of convenience.
Unable to get a room in the Hotel proper we ended up in the Lakeside Suite. Comparing this to a Travel Lodge is an insult to the Travel Lodge chain. Greeted by the unpleasant odour and dirty carpets which pervade the place we rejected the first two rooms because of cleanliness and the state of the beds, and compromised with the third deciding to try and tolerate the dirty carpets, tiny worn out bed, tired decor, mouldy bathroom, cling on plastic shower curtain.
If we had not been there for a wedding we would have simply moved on to find somewhere else. We will avoid commenting on cost, as these rooms simply should not be offered at any price.
The Hotel itself was originally a splendid Victorian house, but whoever decorated it has done their best to destroy it by virtue of either a macabre sence of humour or a budget favouring volume or price over taste.
The restaurant menu which we found in the room bore little relationship with the one found in the restaurant itself, but did provide some amusement as we chose what we thought we were going to eat. What is "onion textured jus"?
The food itself was fine and we enjoyed all the meals we ate during our two night stay. Nothing exceptional about it but good nevertheless. A pity some decent wine cannot be added to the wine list.
All the staff we engaged with during our stay were without exception helpful, courteous, and personable. Without doubt the people working at this Hotel are its greatest asset and hopefully are appreciated by their management for how far they make up the shortcomings of the place.



  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Goodness me you really did not enjoy our Hotel !
I do try to take all feedback on board even when I feel is is unfair such as your commnets regarding the decor in the main house . Luckily for us your opinions are not shared by the majority of guests who visit us .
I was pleased to read your positive comments on your meals and the quality of our Team - which we work very hard to achieve
Yours sincerely
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    99
    45
    33
    19
See reviews for
85
194
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a wedding and it is a great venue. The food wasn't lavish but was a good standard. The decor and rooms aren't luxury but still very good... and the beds are super comfy. The staff are competant and friendly - Barry especially. Overall I would say it's perfect for a wedding.
However, I wasn't told when breakfast was so read my paper in the bath and missed it (10am end). Thankfully the staff made me a bacon buttie and a coffee so no gripes!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your feeback
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We turned up with our 7 month old son and could not have been looked after better! Brilliant find on our part and I can't say enough great things about them. Room huge and well decorated (4), breakfast great, prosecco and canapes on arrival - yum! Go!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments - glad you enjoyed your visit to us & I hope to welcome you again very soon .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham Thorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

what a really lovely place to stay for a relaxing weekend away. The staff are very friendly and helpful.We stayed for two nights with dinner bed and breakfast. the food was wonderful and always served with a smile. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with lovely walks and a beautiful view you can see for miles.The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable .We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and I hope to welcome you back personnally on your next visit to Yorkshire
Kind reagrds
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a truly beautiful country house hotel set in lovely grounds with a lake.The staff are very welcoming and extremely attentive in reception, bar and dining room. The food is to die for and attactively presented and served in a stylish yet restful dining room.

I had booked a 2 night romantic break on Friday and Saturday night with DBB, champagne (which was chilling in a bucket of ice) flowers which were beautiful and chocolates.£145 per night . I am afraid I have two moans though. After the wonderful first impression walked into the bathroom which was not nice. We had room 39 the very last room in the outside building which was a fairly long walk along corridors to carry cases to the car and on way to dinner you needed to put on a jacket as it was chilly and also the basin in our bathroom was very badly cracked and the pop up waste was broken so you couldn't use sink as plug wouldn't come out. As I assumed we had been put at the far end of building was because a wedding was on both nights and to give us some peace I didn't complain or ask to be moved.

Having said all that though, given the right room with nicer bathroom this is really an amazing place and i can't praise the staff highly enough. Bar staff very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay. Do stay here but maybe not at the weekend or in room 39! We would stay again if we could have a room in main hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel buiding
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Apologies for the issues with your sink which is now being dealt with & thank you for your lovely comments regarding the quality of our Team & the food you enjoyed .

Kind regards

Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Well all we can say is what a fantastic place. We got a special deal off the internet website for the Autumn offer of Dinner, bed and breakfast for two for £99.00. What a bargain. The food was wonderful, probably, one of the best meals we have had The grounds are beautiful and we are sure that if you were thinking of booking a wedding there it would be perfect. We were upgraded to the bridal suite which does not have a good view, however, the room was fantastic with a massive Super Kingsize bed, a free standing bath and a double shower. It also had the biggest rubber duck we have ever seen. (we want one) The staff were so nice and friendly., they could not do enough for us. They are a credit to the hotel. We do like to try different places and hotels but this is one hotel we would certainly return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us - thank you for your positive comments & i hope to welcome you back soon

Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A really lovely country house hotel. The warmest & most helpful welcome by all of the staff - an approach that continued throghout the stay. The rooms in the main house were nicely & recently refurbished to a very good standard & were v comfortable & good 'Victorian' size! The dining room is a real treat & the food matched - really good, thanks! The quality was much nearer 'fine dining' than one would expect on an 'Autumn special' Excellent Duck!! If they'd had a longer wine list, I'd have spent more!! A small point, there are 2 lounges with a lovely aspect, it'd be really great if one could have afternoon tea / drinks in one of these rooms, were they suitable appointed. Thanks - we'll surely be back for more!

Room Tip: Rooms in house seem very well refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments and I hope to welcome you back very soon

Kind regards

Caroline Glesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagden Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.