We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Inn at Admaston

The Pheasant Inn at Admaston
14 Shawbirch Road, Admaston | Telford, Admaston, Telford TF5 0AD, England
+44 1952 251989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Admaston
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have not been to this pub for a long time, it was owned by a lady and it was full of her dogs last time! Called in on Saturday night for a quick meal. We found that the food was fantastic for a pub. The beer is good and the staff here are very friendly. Al in all a good find and will be back. No dogs now either!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    48
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food misdescribed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went to this local pub as we hadn't been for a long time, although we only live a mile away. We had looked at the menu on line and taken a recommendation from friends. We only wanted a sandwich and thought the selection was great. We ordered a coronation chicken and a home cooked ham, locally made bread was a deal maker. The "sandwiches" arrived beautifully presented but they were open sandwiches to be eaten with cutlery, not what I was expecting at all. When I mentioned this to the waiter he offered me a top for my sandwich but that really wasn't the point. So please take care when describing your menu, if it had been described as "open" I would have still ordered but not been disappointed. I would like to say however that it tasted really nice and the ham was excellent. A gentlemen at the next table also had a problem with his meal not being as described, so please present accurate descriptions on the menu and you will get return customers who will recommend you to their local friends. I thought that £2.75 for " hand cut " chips was excessive for 6 chips, again" hand cut" implies fresh homemade when they clearly are not.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phez14, Owner at The Pheasant Inn at Admaston, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on us. We have taken note of your comments & have changed the wording stating these are open sandwiches. As for the chips they are totally hand cut & peeled (just ask the member of staff who has to do them) & the price reflects the fact that potatoes have increased dramatically in price over the last few months.

The table next to you did have a problem with the menu but another member of the party apologised & admitted he had read the menu wrong.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention and allowing us to rectify the wording.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Local Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good selection of beers and reasonably priced wine list. Food was very good both the choice and the quality. Great value for money

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent service,food, and surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across The Pheasant whilst on a weekend visit to Wellington.
We stopped for lunch and chose from the light bite menu. There were six in our party and some had the jackets with various filling others ordered local bloomers with various fillings. All the food was freshly prepared, delicious, and very well priced.
We were so impressed that we decided to book a table for Saturday evening for dinner.
The evening service was excellent as was the food, the haddock was lightly battered chips hand cooked, the salmon was great
As was the steak pie, and chicken and ham pie. All of our starters were served at the same time and looked very attractive on the plates.
Unfortunately we were unable to make room for the wonderful desserts we saw others tucking into.
Will definitely call here again when in the area. Well done to all at The Pheasant

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice atmosphere and wholesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My family took one of our visitors from Scotland for a meal and wanted rustic surroundings.
The atmosphere was good and service both friendly and efficient.
The food was also wholesome and the experience memorable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn at Admaston also viewed

 
Telford, Shropshire
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn at Admaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Inn at Admaston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.