We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Plough Lane, Christleton Chester CH3 7PT, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have eaten here many times and once again not disappointed .A lovely restaurant in a pretty part of Christleton . Staff are very polite helpful and knowable regards food and drink on offer .
A good choice on menu with a couple of extra starters on special board .
We both had the chicken breast stuffed with haggis and wrapped in bacon with mash potatoes and neeps with a whiskey sauce . Absolutely delicious presentation was perfect ,they must have a very good chef in their kitchen
Followed by rhubarb and apple crumble a classic and delicious again big portions .
Will defiantly be back a perfect meal on a Saturday night out post Christmas

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    26
    12
    7
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The sunday lunches here are enormous! Very tasty and fantastic value for money. We have visited here several times and the food has always been great. The size of the portions is not rivalled anywhere I have been for a sunday lunch, and the yorkshire puddings are good too!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Friendly greeting, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Visited for lunch with ten retired colleagues.
The staff were good humoured, served us cheerfully and, without being obsequious, checked that we were all happy with our food and service.
After a good two hour lunch we only stumped up £12 each to cover our meal and a couple of drinks and included a modest gratuity.

We are planning to hold our next reunion at the Plough.

Well worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Table for four last night, and yes I have been going to the Plough Inn for many years and probably could be considered as a local although I moved to North Shropshire a year ago, but still visit once a week.
The food and service were first class,it is interesting to note the recent negative review was the second negative review from the same person in a period of twelve weeks if they were so disappointed why would you revisit!
My recommendation is go and visit and experience the Plough for yourself, yes there are many good places to eat in the local area,but the plough is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I dont have any dislikes for this inn, the food and service are exceptional.
The thing I like too are the spotless Toilets, as I hate dirty Toilets and always visit them before I order my food to eat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

 
Christleton Chester, Cheshire
Christleton Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.