We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to visit !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cock O Barton

Cock O Barton
Barton Road (A534), Broxton SY14 7HU, England
+44 1829 782277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Broxton
Price range: $11 - $55
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A pleasure to visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Love the atmosphere and comfortable surroundings and the staff are pleasant and helpful. My latest visit was mid-week lunch with friends. The food was excellent - including chefs own freshly made bread and mayonnaise !
Looking forward to my next visit - which will be in a few weeks time for my birthday with family !!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    46
    28
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I recently visited the Cock O Barton with one of my sons. We wanted somewhere relaxed with something tasty to eat and tried this restaurant. We had a friendly welcome, struggled to choose just one thing from a great range on the menu, and were really pleased with our choices. The service was friendly without being overbearing, and we had a really enjoyable evening - definitely will return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I'd give more than 5 if I could...a gem of a wedding venue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My partner (now husband!) and I got married at the Cock O' Barton on june 23rd- we couldn't of asked for anything more. Not only is the venue gorgeous, but the food (which each guest had a choice of) was outstanding and the staff bent over backwards to meet my (sometimes bridezillarish) requests. All our guests commented on the service and the food and how different it was to typical wedding venues. I'm gutted it's all over but know we'll be back without doubt for our anniversaries! Oh and the value for money was amazing...no hidden charges, what you buy is what you pay for- there were no daft room hire charges or 'wedding menus' that were 3 times the cost of a standard menu.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Went here with a group of work friends,we go out for tea once a month and take it in turns to choose the venue.There was no atmosphere here at all we felt outsiders and unwelcome.The food although nice was extremely overpriced.If they want to do well in the current market then they need to brush up on there people skills and rethink the pricing,one place we wont be rushing back to.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A pub with the WOW factor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Having lived in the area for 16 years, I remember the way the Cock O Barton used to look. Since its referb a few years ago, it's gone from strength to strength. From the moment you walk through the door, you are made welcome and you are spoilt for choice as to where to sit - all sorts of interesting parts of the pub and restaurant - all with a different feel to it. Then you have the menu - once again, spoilt for choice! Varied, all locally sourced and prepared and served with attention to every detail. Beautiful food, friendly staff and even the loos have the wow factor...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock O Barton also viewed

 

Been to Cock O Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock O Barton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.