We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HENRY'S HUNTING LODGE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
Manor House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HENRY'S HUNTING LODGE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was a lovely place in pleasant surroundings. The twin room was spacious, bed very comfy, seats to sit on, traditionally dressed. Bathroom was clean and modern - plenty of towels and nice smellies. Had dinner in the conservatory restaurant which was very good, ate dessert in the garden. Breakfast was tasty with what appeared to be local sausage and tasty bacon. The swimming pool and terrace were very welcome as the temperatures were in the top 70s. For obvious reasons didn't use the sauna or steam room which were available. Jacuzzi was lovely and warm and smelled nice too. Lots of lovely spaces to sit in comfy lounges. Would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Helegran.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us, and enjoyed making use of our facilities.

I have passed your kind comments on to all of our staff, and the management team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    207
    96
    65
    38
See reviews for
78
256
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed for the weekend 6th and 7th July, it was a break booked for my birthday and was a surprise so I didn't know where I was going, I loved the manor house hotel, our room was spotless, the hotel is full of character, the staff were lovely too. We had treatments booked in the spa which were very nice, (I would however check your own time against the clock in the spa as it appears to be a fewinutes fast). The grounds were lovely, food was good, all in all a very pleasant stay and I would return again. The only criticism I would have of the place is I found the stables bar to be a little intimidating due to the amount of young lads who seem to use it as a local, apart from that no other complaints :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear della47,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay, and enjoyed making use of our facilities.

I am sorry that you felt intimidated in our stables bar, we do not get much of a younger crowd in there, and usually everybody who goes in, do just go for a quiet drink. It is not a place where rowdy crowds frequent.

I have passed your kind comments on to all our staff, and the management team, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

December 2012, one day stay. It’s an interesting place. We chose it based on pictures and restaurant menu, not that there would have been too many options in this area. We arrived there late and in total darkness. At night the impression was a fancy haunted mansion, almost too much so for my wife and awesome for me. We hardly could find ourselves to the door as lights from the parking to the entrance were off.

We had a 4-poster bed “en suite”. The room was nice, spacious and old feeling. We heard everything and everyone from the hallway, but it didn’t really bother - almost added to the atmosphere. The lounge with the fireplace was nice. It was weird that we were requested to have a booking to a half empty (hotel) restaurant. As we didn’t have one we had to wait for over an hour to be seated (now to a almost empty restaurant). The restaurant tried it’s best to be a little fancy, but in reality both the food and the service were subpar. Breakfast was average, trying again to seem fancy.

Sleep was good, so was the service there overall. The building and immediate areas were beautiful. If we are around there again, we will go back. Preferably during summer time.

Room Tip: 4-poster bed rooms in the old main building might be more noisy, but have a nice atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear vesa360,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found it an interesting place.

I have passed your comments on to all our staff and management team, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here during the week and all I can say is ignore the negative reviews this Place is a little gem yes it can do with a little TLC but for what you pay for its a great. Food was great aswell as the spa!!!! Would really recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Gemmap978,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an amazing stay, and enjoyed your dinner and making use of our spa.

I have passed your kind comments on to all our staff, and the management team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night with a good friend of mine with a WOWCHER offer which was excellent value - £89 for two people - overnight stay with breakfast and champagne and spa treatment the next day.

The hotel is full of character and history - and the receptionist was very friendly.

Our room was number 28 - we were tucked away in the corner of the stable rooms and it was very cosy. It was pretty quiet and nicely decorated. A little dusty in places and there were was a rip in my quilt but it was much better than I expected bearing in mind some of the reviews on here. I was pleasantly surprised!

Our evening meal was lovely - the dining area was nicely decorated and the staff were attentive. A little bemused as to why there was no drinks menu - only a wine list - but aside from that very good.

The spa was a little bit of a let down. It is very tired and in need of just gutting and starting over again. It was grubby around the edges and crying out for a bit of love and attention to make it somewhere you could feel special in.

The back and neck massage was fab though - but done in an old bedroom that looked like it had had some of the fittings ripped out and a massage table just plonked in the middle of it! I noticed too that they had given me my friends medical form and hers mine - not much help if there had been any problems!

All in all - I had an enjoyable stay - and I would love to see the money, time and effort put into making this a hotel this area can really be proud of.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Amy_Lea_10,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Manor House Hotel.

Firstly I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated the character and history of the building and found the receptionist very friendly.

I am glad that you enjoyed your dinner in our recently refurbished restaurant, and found the staff very attentive.

The spa and health club, have, and are still undergoing some maintenance and refurbishment work, which should be finished soon. I apologise that you found the spa a little grubby around the edges during your visit. It is only with guest feedback that we can aim to improve the service we offer. The health club manager has been tackling these issues.

During refurbishment, we did close our treatment rooms, and did use two of our bedrooms. We now have two beautifully decorated beauty rooms, that were knocked down and rebuilt from scratch.

I have passed your comments on to all the department managers, and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon to see some of the changes we have made.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

pleasant old hotel but seriously needs upgrading reception hard to find if your disabled,the rooms are adequate but upkeep needs to be sorted quickly before this charecter building goes into disary,
food in the restaurant looked good on the menu but because we went at a weekend the menu was very limited to the extent that they hardly had anything that they were offering after checking with the chef he blamed it on the wedding party they had had in at the saturday, surely they should no how to cater for them as well as the rest of the guests,spa very poor two tiny rooms in a converted stable and a swimming pool area that was so hot it took your breath ,
overall not a pleasant experiance.

Room Tip: sorry i wouldnt no as i found the building quite poor and in need of restoration
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Filled with such history our room was fantastic, so much atmosphere from the moment we walked in.
I am a huge fan of the Tudors so to stay here was a real treat.
However, some areas around the spa especially a fan/extractor near the pool were so filthy and had not been cleaned for a long time and some of the areas were very jaded and dirty especially on the corridors to the spa.
Our meal on the Sunday night was nice but expensive for what it was.
The cutlery was dirty and there was broken glass all around the table, in fact generally unclean.
Come on guys could be awesome and Henry would have had your head off in a flash for this sort of tardiness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear heyjude999,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Manor House Hotel.

May I first apologise that during your visit the spa and health club areas were looking tired and the extractor fans were looking a little dirty. It is only with guest feedback that we can aim to improve our business, and these problems have been sorted out, and some areas have seen a refurbishment.

I also apologise for the broken glass in the restaurant, I have spoken with the Restaurant manager to ensure this does not happen again, this is not a standard that we do accept at The Manor House Hotel, and procedures have been enforced with all staff.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > West Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. Juniper Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel West Auckland, County Durham, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.