We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf to your Saves list
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Headlam DL2 3HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exceeded all our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

As the organiser of a car tour of 57 people based at this wonderful hotel I was anxious that everything went smoothly.I need not have worried,from the moment we arrived to the time we departed nothing was too much trouble,the staff are fantastic very friendly and always with a smile.The rooms are lovely and the food was outstanding.Will we be back ? Like a shot !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    92
    16
    11
    1
See reviews for
69
256
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from four nights at this great hotel and cannot stress enough how impressed we are with the high standards set by this hotel. We were part of a group of classic car enthusiasts and all of our party had nothing but praise for the rooms, the gardens, the spa and the food. The staff are all exceptionally well trained, helpful and friendly. We cannot wait to come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were married at Headlam Hall less than a week ago and we can honestly say it was the best decision we ever made, with the exception maybe of deciding to get married in the first place!
Every bride knows that after the dress, the venue is the second most important aspect of the day and it's always a bit of a risk and a gamble because it's not as if you can test drive it first. However at EVERY single point during the day we were gobsmacked at the level of service and the lengths the staff would go to for us - this included helping a guest with a wardrobe malfunction which allowed the service to take place on time, through to them recognising we wouldn't have time to sample the evening buffet and arranging for two plates to be left in the honeymoon suite (this went down well with my new husband at 1am!). My husband was extremely grateful that they managed to arrange a specific guest ale to be served on the day, which went down a treat in the hot weather!
The comments we had from guests reflected our own views - 'the best wedding we've ever been to', 'the setting and staff are amazing', 'I want to get married here!!!'. The whole day felt like a dream and we couldn't have asked for more. If anything didn't go to plan (which we think very unlikely) we were completely unawares; the staff arranged everything down to a T. We didn't feel pushed and pulled in every which direction, yet they still made sure we were in the right place at the right time. They consulted with us on everything, ensuring we felt in control of our day.
Everyone commented that the food was exceptional! It is truly an amazing feat that they can serve such delicious and well presented food to 100 people without compromising on quality. The portion sizes are without doubt more than adequate - my husband is a decent eater and he was impressed (or perhaps stuffed is more accurate?). Make sure you leave room for dessert though - the mango and passionfruit cheesecake was my husband's choice and purely down to this choice of dessert I may have to let him make decisions more often!
Steve the resident DJ played an amazing set of music (including a lot of our own playlist and guest requests). He was very patient when my dad disappeared for the father-daughter dance! I hope he and the staff were impressed with the dirty dancing acrobatics of the Ushers at the end of the night...
The bedrooms were fantastic and the hotel kindly accommodated for all resident wedding guests in one area of the restaurant at breakfast - making sure we had time to catch up with everyone the morning after.
Last but not least we would like to thank the individuals that went above and beyond for us - Phillipa oversaw the whole day pretty much and was an angel - we cannot thank you enough. Angela and Angela helped on the build up to the day and on the day itself, both helped to calm my nerves as I waited to go into the ceremony - not an easy feat! All of the staff were amazing, from the waiters and waitresses to the porters and we apologise that we can't mention everyone but the whole team truly is a credit to the hotel.
If you're looking for an out of this world wedding venue, look no further - words could really do it no justice!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite rendered us for speechless even at 1am and after a few too many!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I planned to visit for one night. We found the place but would have possibly struggled without sat nav

Very impressed by the layout of the complex and could see that the gardens were well manicured.

We were greeted at reception and checked in without problem. Then headed to our room accompanied by Brian who gave us a little tour on the way.

The room was spacious with a walk in closet and a lovely four poster bed. It also had some very comfortable armchairs. Perfect for just kicking back and relaxing.

We had a quick drink and a nice sandwich downstairs before heading to the spa. The spa was clean and had everything you’d expect. I really enjoyed the outdoor Jacuzzi.

We had dinner booked (separate review) and had decided to try and take a second night in our room.

Terri on reception informed us that they were fully booked. She then sought us out at our pre dinner drink to say that having spoken to a few places; the hotels in the area were busy due to the British Touring Car Championship.

She then offered us another room which she made clear was in the same area of the hotel as the wedding function suite and that there may be some noise. We took her up on the offer but were not disturbed by the noise.

We appreciated the effort she put in to help us.

Breakfast on both days was nice and checkout on the Sunday was quick and efficient. Our bill was exactly what we expected despite moving rooms mid stay and charging our drinks etc.

We’d definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I, my wife and 17 yo son stopped over on the way to Durham and had a very comfortable night. Due to horrendous traffic, we missed dinner completely but we rang ahead and the kitchen staff were kept on to ensure we got a hot meal on arrival.The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was very good too.
The hotel is traditionally furnished and thankfully is not of the seemingly ubiquitous beige variety. Slightly old fashioned but in a good way - homely and comfortable. The 2 rooms we had in the main house were again traditional country house in style but well appointed. Bathrooms were a bit snug but I'm being picky here.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice in all areas. Again staff very attentive. i asked specifically for my toast to be done in a certain way and it was and after a while fresh was brought and the old cold toast taken away. A small point but it's that level of consideration which separates a good hotel with committed and careful staff from most places.
In terms of VFM, not cheap but you get what you pay for and more here. Terrific gardens btw. Also being basically in the middle of nowhere (but only 12 mins down a fast straight roman road from Scotch Corner), it was peaceful and relaxing.Overall very very good although obviously based on a very short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I got married at Headlam Hall in August 2013 and it was the most wonderful experience ever. I could not fault one thing about Headlam Hall, its staff, hospitality, food etc. Everything was perfect from the moment we viewed the venue to our wedding day. The staff are so friendly, professional and helpful. The food is amazing and the hotel and grounds are beautiful. Our wedding day was perfect thanks to the help of Andrew and all the staff who i cannot thanks enough. I would reccomend this venue to anyone and even for a romantic night away and meal, its the perfect choice. I will be returning lots in the future!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boroboy made good
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

If the hotel was good,the lesson from the resident golf professional was even better.If you want to play or better what you have,go to him.Very structured but puts it so simply that you take it in.A good asset to a stay and adds value to a smashing hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Address: Headlam DL2 3HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Headlam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star country house hotel with luxury spa and golf course. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by open countryside making an ideal rural retreat. Restaurant serving award winning 2 AA rosette food made with local produce and friendly professional service. Independent family owned and run hotel and farm. North East Small Hotel of the Year 2009/10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa And Golf
Headlam Hall Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf County Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.