We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always first class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Save Saved
You added Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Headlam | Co Durham, Headlam DL2 3HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Headlam
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“always first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

have been here approx 6 times now to the spa, on different kinds of pamper days and have never been dissapointed.
was just there yesterday as my daughter had bought me a sunday pamper day for my birthday and it was fabulous.
scrambled egg and smoked salmon at 11am, croissants and lovely breads and jam. an hour treatment really relaxing, lovely attentive friendly staff. always very clean. I can never fault it, and believe you me I have been to many spas and always end up back at this one.
I also work in the hospitality trade so am very critical and can't rate this place highly enough.
you really feel pampered and they never book too many people in so nice and peaceful. at 4pm we then got scones before leaving, I had a lovely day and can't wait to go back.
keep up the good work.

Room Tip: best spa in the north east
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    330
    80
    15
    11
    1
See reviews for
60
233
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North East Scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A nice hotel near Darlington. Food and service are good and I had a very large comfortable bed. Don't expect the height of luxury; the hotel is more like a good country house hotel than a prestige Spa. Sound proofing in the room I stayed in was poor; I could hear the person in the room above me moving around and when they ran water it sounded like they were power washing their room. WIFI coverage is patchy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I went in November for her birthday. We were welcomed back by Andrew (the hotel manager) as if we were regular customers (our previous visit was twelve months ago). We had a suite over the Spa - just perfect!!! Evening meal magnificent, service great!! Such a wonderful relaxing place. We will return!!

Room Tip: The spa suites are great, much bigger that the main hall suite. Have also stayed in the mews (dogs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night for a friends birthday celebration, we didnt book the room our friend had organised this, we were shown to a twin bedded room in the main building.

First impression was very dull & needed refurbishing, a white corner cupboard shelved out, looked like something from an old fashioned kitchen years ago, carpet dirty (marks) bathroom very clean,well lit, the shower was poor, could not get the settings to work properly, too hot & went freezing when turned down slightly.

The bed heads were very dated floral chinz which i suppose it is an old buliding but this looked awful, the beds had a big dip in the mattress which made us think they were very old too. There was tea & coffee facilities & a small tv.

The afternoon tea was good also the evening meal too. Breakfast was ok had better.
Would i visit again.... probably wouldnt be in a hurry to, but certainly reccomend the food.

I have rated the hotel very good for the food alone but the room we had was very poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Have visited this hotel on a number of occasions for lunch, and never been dissapointed.
Attended with a group yesterday for lunch,from arrival we were looked after,had drinks in the lounge then had lunch in the conservatory.The food was excellent,staff were friendly and atentive

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just last night stayed at this beautiful hotel. Attendees of a function and on the basis that it made sense to stay in the same place booked the room (s) a couple of months ago.

On arrival the Reception area appeared to be unmanned with a small queue forming which did initially cause concern however there was a young lady who appeared with a very confident and apologetic 'be with you in a minute'. The Hotel and Restaurant were heaving and this lady seemed to be helping out with the serving of drinks. She checked us in (we were over an hour early for check in), checked the room was ready and took us straight there personally chatting all the way. Note to owners - a great Receptionist/Front of House member of staff.

The room was spotless. Spacious and inviting - a little on the cool side but a swift turn of the radiator thermostat and it warmed up nicely.

We then met our friends - Room 2 - and went for lunch in the Brasserie where an equally warm welcome was given by the ladies in there. All good intentions of using the spa went out of the window following a very filling meal and a couple of glasses of vino!

40 winks then time to get the glad rags on. The water pressure in the bathroom was fab - red hot water at 100 miles an hour from the taps, shower a little slower but that was fine!

The evening function was wonderful - very well organised, beautiful room and decor and very attentive staff. In a large function you often find that the meal is a) not very good and b) not very hot - suffice to say this was not the case and the yorkies were HUGE.

Much dancing and drinking followed and we fell into bed in the early hours.

Breakfast this morning was a little rushed (we slept in) and so arrived with only 10 mins to spare. Service was a little slow (it was heaving) but not to the point of warranting a complaint of any sort. Good full english, tea etc and so we were all revived!
We have already decided that we will return and make full use of the spa while the men play golf or something, hopefully when the weather is better, and take in even more of the surroundings and gardens which are magnificent even in fog!

Well done Headlam, I will recommend to anyone asking and if your thinking of booking a Wedding or something give this place serious thought.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The problem I have with sites like Trip advisor is that it is very easy for a disgruntled guest to write an unfair and untrue review of a place that could have lasting affect on it's reputation and future business. The sheer logistics of running an operation like this cannot be underestimated, so I think all applause should go to those who do it well. Headlam Hall is a gem; the food is inventive, the staff are courteous, the rooms are lovely. From the first person who greeted us, to the gent who showed us to our room (we were in the mews), to the waitresses at dinner - everyone was lovely. I was very impressed - and the house and grounds were amazing. We were very grateful to have stayed in such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Address: Headlam | Co Durham, Headlam DL2 3HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Headlam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Headlam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star country house hotel with luxury spa and golf course. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by open countryside making an ideal rural retreat. Restaurant serving award winning 2 AA rosette food made with local produce and friendly professional service. Independent family owned and run hotel and farm. North East Small Hotel of the Year 2009/10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa And Golf
Headlam Hall Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf County Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.