We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel to your Saves list
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tortworth Road | nr Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Tortworth court. The staff are friendly and very efficient, food is good. The location is great, rooms are comfortable and clean. We would recommend this hotel and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We would like to thank our guest for taking the time to provide us with a review online and we are pleased that they enjoyed their stay at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, would recommend the hotel to other trip advisor users and will be returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    433
    206
    74
    61
See reviews for
162
610
18
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay - beautiful environment and excellent customer service. We just wanted to relax and chill and this hotel offered it all. We indulged in some beauty treatments and the ladies completing this made it a very pleasing experience - Thank you!
Had some amazing service from Jennifer in the bar areas and being in the service industry ourselves we would have done some poaching if we worked in the area- she offered all she could to us but more then anything she was interested in us! A real gem.
Overall we noticed the service and apart from maybe the men on the front desk! All the colleagues showed warmth in their service - which relates back in being natural.
And we will certainly be looking at a revisit .. However I think I would stay to mid week breaks as I could see that the weekends would become very busy there and through no more then selfishness would want to have the personal touches that a less busier environment can offer!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for this review of Tortworth Court. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your spa treatments and we will pass on your words of praise to our spa therapists. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience again our excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I paid £99 for this room and thought it was extremely overpriced for what I got. The room 244 was shabby and had a bleach stain on the carpet, most looked in the same condition. Dark corridors with threadbare carpet. The shower curtain needed changing too. It looked like it hadn't been touched for a long time. I dined in the restaurant and it was £18.95 for a beef casserole. There is a set price for all main courses. if it had been out of this world it would have been okay but it wasn't. It arrived within 10 mins which made me suspicious and I was right to be so. The square layered potato had been reheated and the beef was at best average. If I'd paid £70 for the room and £10 for the main course then that would have been fine and no complaints because you get what you pay for I seriously feel ripped off at the prices I have been charge here. Won't stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are very disappointed with this review as over the past two years we have refurbished many areas within the hotel including our reception, restaurant, bars and are currently refurbishing most of our 190 bedrooms and would hope that this reviewer will see a vast improvement on their next visit. The food in our Moretons restaurant receives many compliments from our guest and we are sorry that the food served was not too this guest requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere to get married and are considering here.......Look no further!!!! we can not recommend this hotel highly enough, there are not enough words to describe how perfect and beautiful our day was and the hotel and staff definately played a huge part of this.

The most amazing thing of it all.......our guests, on our return from our honeymoon, we visited some family and made a few calls to say how lovely it was to see them and we could not get over how many lovely comments we were recieving from our family and friends about "THEIR" experience of the event. To me, that is the biggest achievement as for a bride and groom, we ave a few people that can be quite fussy or particular about things and tend to throw something in there that "could have been better" no matter how small it was, so for us to have heard not 1 thing, THAT was the icing on top of the cake, knowing everyone had just an amazing time as us. Thank you.

My Husband and I had been engaged for several years before finally sitting down and deciding to finally set a date. I had always dreamed of the idea of getting married in a church followed by a marquee wedding, something a little different to others, however over time this idea was brushed to one side because it just seemed like a lot more stress and alot more money, until we visited Tortworth Court Hotel. The Location and the gardens were beautiful, just stunnning and there to the side/back of the hotel was the hotels very own marquee. It won me over in a heart beat.

The whole experience of the year run up to the wedding with the wedding co ordinator was fantastic, she was always friendly and willing to help as much as she possibly could, 1 example is, we had a special ice cream sundae, not your usual one, which was something personal and memorable to us and we wanted to make it one of our two dessert choices for our guests, our way of putting our personal stamp on it and the wedding co ordinator spoke to the chef and they were happy to do this for us. And although this may sound small to some people, it is these things that make a wedding day more personal and intimate.

The food at the tasting evening was esquisite.

We found quite a few suppliers at the Wedding fayre that Tortworth Court Hotel held which was a great help.

We ended up changing our wedding ceramony from a church to holding it at Tortworth Court and i must admit I was a little nervous as I always dreamt of a church wedding but I can definately say it was one of the best decisions we made and i would strongly recommend to anyone looking at getting married here......GO FOR THE ROOM AT THE TOP!!! its just beautiful with all the large windows.

All the staff throughout the whole experience including on the day were amazing too, always friendly, polite and could not do enough to help, including Nicola Roberston, the C&B Manager, she is truely an assett to the hotel.

The food was out of this world, everyone loved it. Usually you have that 1 person that says "the carrots were too crunchy" but no, nothing, infact all we heard was positive things. The chefs did a fantastic job! thank you.

The marquee was beautiful and clean.

We stayed in room 54 the night before the wedding as it has a seperate lounge and plenty of space to get ready in so I would strongly suggest this room to any bride to be the night before and considering it was the night before my wedding, i definately had a great nights sleep.

We decided to stay in room 57 the night of the wedding and may I just say, both rooms were very clean and we had no issues with anything in regards to the rooms. They were perfect, thank you.

The spa treatments were great and the spa staff very lovely :0)
we didnt have time to use the swimming pool

The breakfast buffett on both mornings was very delicious. We saw the signs around the hotel the evening before in regards to what breakfast times are the busiest and used this to go down at a quieter time which was definately very handy on the morning of our wedding.

Thank you all so much for the parts you played on our big day and the run up to it, you all have given us special memories of our special day we will always hold close to our heart and will definately be back whether for lunch or maybe our next special event.

Room Tip: Room 54 is ideal for a bride to get ready in the morning of her wedding as you have plenty of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review and we are very pleased that after deciding to have a civil ceremony at Tortworth Court it was a ‘fairy tale dream wedding that became a reality ‘for you and your husband.
Tortworth Court is an ideal venue for weddings and civil ceremonies can be held in various locations within the hotel, depending on the size of the wedding party. This reviewer was married in the Room at the Top, which has a maximum capacity of 60 people and was followed by the wedding breakfast and evening disco in our marquee.
We are very pleased that this bride and groom were delighted with every aspect of their wedding, from the original show round, the helpfulness of our wedding coordinators, our friendly helpful staff, our location, grounds, spa facilities and food.
We are delighted to pass on the comments made directly to Nicola Robertson, conference and banqueting manager and our Executive Head Chef for their attention to detail and for helping this bride and groom enjoy a fairy tale wedding at Tortworth Court.
The management and staff are very pleased that we were able to make your dream wedding come true and that you will always have very special memories of your special day. Thank you again for this review and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just stayed for a weekend but a bit disappointed that the hotel seems to give priority to weddings. Even though professing to have three bar areas in the afternoon only one available and no where to sit. This also then filled up with wedding guests! Also disappointed that although breakfast served until ten,by ten to ten food running out and not replaced! Tables so crammed in it was difficult to get around! Overall just good if you are attending a wedding!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Tortworth Court is a very popular venue for weddings and we are always disappointed when a guest does not enjoy their stay in our hotel. We have two main bars which can get very busy with wedding guests but this is usually only for a short period of time and we are sorry that this guest found it difficult to find a seat during this busy time. Our buffet breakfast is constantly monitored by our waiting staff who replenish the hot and cold dishes as required. Thank you for this review and we do hope that you will return to Tortworth Court again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I indulge ourselves in this "Gothic" wonder at least once a year. However, over time it is getting very tired. Worn carpets, crumbling windows etc standing out against what should be a superb venue - sitting a top a hill (adjacent to a wonderful arboretum) and set between the Cotswolds and The Forrest of Dean. The Spa / Health /Wellness facility are sqeezed into a space far too small and restricted, detracting from their potential - but they too need a refurb. The restaurant - set amidst the towering library, was the saving grace! We cant praise it highly enough. Our Shin of Beef was a delight. Service was great, the menu interesting and probably sufficiant to tempt us back again. I only hope that there will be an investment in the structure /decor in the interim.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for this review. Over the last two years we have refurbished many of the public areas at Tortworth Court including the reception, Atrium bar, Brunel’s bar and our restaurant. We are currently refurbishing most of our 190 bedrooms and have further plans to improve the leisure facilities located within the hotel and would hope that this reviewer will see a vast difference on a return visit. We are very pleased that this guest enjoyed dining in our restaurant, which was the library in the original Victorian manor house and found the service provided to be excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A large group of us went to Tortworth Court for the Robbie Williams Tribute Night. Everything was perfect from arrival, every room, the food, entertainment and the delicious breakfast. We all had such a great time the feedback from friends about the whole event was brilliant. The staff were so friendly and professional, we all felt they genuinely wanted people to enjoy their stay and nothing was too much trouble. If your looking for an amazing stay in beautiful surroundings with lovely friendly staff you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
‘If you’re looking for an amazing stay in beautiful surroundings with lovely staff you won’t be disappointed’ is a wonderful review of Tortworth Court and we are very pleased that this guest and her party enjoyed the Robbie Williams tribute night we held recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel

Address: Tortworth Road | nr Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel Gloucestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.