We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok...but could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel to your Saves list
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tortworth Road | nr Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Its ok...but could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This old house has been put to good use as a hotel - and on the face of it, Four Pillars do a fair job...but there's just something 'lacking':

The service is fine - but not brilliant.
The room was ok, but not outstanding (a bit drab, uncomfortable bed and tired old bathroom with no sparkle).
The evening meal we had was, to be fair, very good - especially as there was a large party of us to feed.
Breakfast however was disappointing - self service buffet does not suit this type of hotel if they are aspiring to be job of their game.
The bar prices are very high - most hotels charge a bit more but the prices here are unjustifiably more akin to 4 and 5 star central London hotels.

Overall it was 'ok'. We aren't about to rush back as there isn't anything special enough and, although we wouldn't advise against staying here, we're not likely to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
The old Victorian house has had a long and interesting history and is now the Four Pillars Hotel Tortworth Court and we are constantly striving to enhance the guest experience we have to offer. Recently the reception area, Moretons restaurant and both the Brunels and Atrium bars have been refurbished. We are currently upgrading and refurbishing most of our 190 bedrooms and feel sure this guest will see a vast difference on a return visit. Breakfast is severed buffet style and this allows our guests to have the opportunity to decide what they would like to eat in the morning. We are very pleased that this guest enjoyed their evening meal, especially as they were in a large party and would like to thank them for this review and would like to see them return to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    434
    206
    74
    61
See reviews for
162
613
18
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of a Travel Zoo offer and stayed to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. The deal included a one night stay including bed and breakfast and a three course evening meal. The room was excellent, situated on the ground floor but the windows did not close properly which constituted a security hazard. The room was a long walk from reception but we didn't mind as we had a good deal and we only stayed for one night. The evening meal was excellent and the service was also very good. The hotel staff overall are excellent, very and extremely friendly and courteous. We enjoyed coffee and spirits in the Atrium Bistro Bar. This hotel is the flagship of The Four Pillars Hotel Group and includes a Spar and a fascinating history. Guests can walk through 30 acres of grounds and there is plenty of car parking. We loved our stay and would like to visit this fabulous venue again.

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night request a room near to reception unless you like a route march.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
The Four Pillars web site is also a great place to look for offers at any of our hotels. We are pleased that this reviewer enjoyed celebrating their 42nd wedding anniversary at Tortworth Court and found their room, evening meal and our staff to be excellent. As this reviewer has stated Tortworth Court is a Victorian building with a fascinating history, set within 30 acres of formal gardens and woodland. We very much hope this reviewer returns to Tortworth Court to celebrate many other special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have had a lovely few days at Tortworth Court.Beautiful hotel,lovely spa ,professional and polite staff,newly decorated rooms,nice breakfast and wonderful evening meal.All for a fantastic price of £99 per night DB&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Tortworth Court management and staff would like to thank this guest for their review of our hotel: Beautiful hotel, lovely spa, professional and polite staff, nice breakfast, wonderful evening meal and great value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eversholt, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from a one night break with another couple for his birthday. When I looked at the website, I must confess I was not holding my breath for a stunning stay! How wrong I was. Beautiful building. Smiley reception staff. Andrew, Guest Relations was always wandering around checking how we were. Room 56 lovely but room 57 Very Special and spacious. Dinner was lovely (and we do enjoy good food) with great service and staff that can smile. Breakfast which was very busy, was hot and plentiful. Have already recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for spending you husbands birthday at Tortworth Court and are very pleased that although ‘not holding your breath for a stunning stay’, we managed to take your breath away with our beautiful building, spacious rooms and great service from smiling staff. Thank you for this review and for recommending Tortworth Court Hotel to other trip advisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent value for money with lovely guest bedrooms and fabulous food which was tasty and freshly made.

Booking the restaurant 5 days ahead we were still unable to get a meal between 7pm and 8pm. Not wanting to risk not being able to have breakfast, we ordered Room Service, which was still good value at only £5 additional cost, the eggs were perfect.

There was a fair distance from the main hotel to the bedrooms, impeded by the maze of corridors. It was a little difficult to find our way (particularly after a glass of wine!).

Please note if you leave your car at the front door at check-in – ask the receptionist which car park is closest to your room rather than carrying bags through the hotel drive there...

The spa was great – although we didn’t book any treatments. Ensure you have a £1 for the locker!

The staff were friendly and very eager to help.

Altogether we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - thank you!

Room Tip: I would imagine the main house would be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for this review, we are very pleased that you found Tortworth Court to be excellent value for money and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We do have many car parking spaces around the hotel and it is advisable to check with our reception team which would be closest to your bedroom. We hope that on a return visit this reviewer will have time to make full use of all our leisure facilities including the swimming pool, gym and spa. (The £1 for the lockers is returned when you have finished in the changing rooms). Thank you for your kind words for our friendly staff and we look forward to welcoming this guest back to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymru [Wales]
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The photos hardly do justice to the hotel, it's a wonderful building to stay in with terrific attention to detail in the renovation. The bedroom (83) was huge, with a comfy bed, two armchairs and spacious bathroom. Parking nearby and was convenient to the main hotel building.
The food was beautifully cooked with plenty of choice - for starter look out for the fresh mussels with bacon in cider and cream! When booking, we were advised to contact the restaurant direct to book a table, and in our experience this was essential if you wanted to eat at popular times - between 7 and 8 rather than an early slot or a late one. It wasn't from shortage of tables, but I would think that meal-slots were allocated so that the kitchen could keep up with demand. Waits between courses were comfortable, and the staff, because of their efficient teamwork were able to give individual attention to the guests. Breakfasts were Cereal & Continental & Full English!
To sum up, magnificent building, spacious room, really good food and an exceptional team of staff.
Our B&B + Evening meal Conniseur package was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Connoisseur rooms are a couple of pounds dearer, but well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are very pleased that this reviewer found their stay at Tortworth Court to be good value for money. It is always best to book a table in our Moretons restaurant and our reception team will always ask on check in if guests would like a table for dinner but cannot always guarantee the popular times between 7-8pm. Thank you very much for this review and your comments that Tortworth Court is a magnificent building has spacious rooms, really good food and has an exceptional team of staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Tortworth is a fantastic looking hotel, the reception staff welcoming and although we arrived early we were able to access our room which was spacious and well fitted. Unfortunately the bed in room 48 is without doubt the most uncomfortable ever. After one night of no sleep the reception staff said they would either move us or put a mattress topper on (should have been on in the first place) and to be fair they did do this once they had been reminded. However although the bed was better it was still along way from comfortable. We had a massage which was wonderful (and much needed after such an awful nights lack of sleep), the food was excellent though I was disappointed to note that guests were allowed to wear whatever they wanted and would have liked a dress code where the football shirt is banned and this morning when a woman wore only tights and a blouse (I wasnt sure if she had forgotten her trousers/shorts/skirt). The staff were pleasant though and Vanessa, our waitress, was just lovely with an ever present smile an cheerful attitude. This was given to us as a wedding gift and Tortworth certainly has an interesting history, has been wonderfully and sympathetically restored (please change the artwork going up the main stairs - not in keeping with the decor and rather creepy) but I wont rush to go there again and if asked I wont recommend Tortworth.

Room Tip: Doesnt really matter but rooms nearer the M5 are obviously going to suffer from more noise, internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are disappointed that this reviewer would not rush to return to Tortworth Court as we are sure we would be able to find them a very comfortable bed for the night. Check in is normally from 4pm and we are pleased that this guest was able to make full use of the facilities after checking in early. We do have a dress code in Moretons restaurant, which is smart casual, as we like all our guests to feel comfortable when dinning with us and we apologise if this guest felt we had let our high standards slip. Thank you this review of Tortworth Court and the kind words for our reception and restaurant staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel

Address: Tortworth Road | nr Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel Gloucestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.