We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Swan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Gloucester Road, Almondsbury BS32 4AA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Almondsbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A fantastic find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

To be honest, we booked a night at The Swan because it was so competitively priced and the rooms looked clean - but what a pleasant surprise when we got there! The staff were lovely and the room, although a bit on the small side, was absolutely spotless... but the food was superb! Not at all like the 'pub food' we expected, more on par with some of the best restaurants we've ever been to. The attention to detail and welcoming service means we'll definitely be paying another visit ...and not only so I can go to Ikea again..which is only minutes away! Wifi in the rooms would have been nice, but you can get it in the bar so not a huge problem. Not in walking distance from any shops etc...I don't think! ...and my partner said he could hear the traffic at some point, but I didn't and it didn't stop us having a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed! Overall, a fantastic find!!

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if staying for more than a couple of nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    69
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
25
37
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We went here with a Groupon voucher and had a very good meal.
It's not 'high-end' but you get a warm, friendly welcome and the staff have no pretentions.
The lamb was lovely but I'd question the £16 price. My wife and daughter enjoyed the perfectly-cooked rib-eye and my other daughter was happy with her burger and chips.
The desserts impressed too. The sticky toffee and apple pudding was lovely, as was the nutty chocolate brownie. The choc Jaffa roly-poly was yummy but meagre!
We have a voucher for Sunday lunch so will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked in for one night attracted by the price and found it greatly exceeded our expectations. The food was excellent - someone in the kitchen really understands flavour combinations. The staff were friendly, pleasant and occasionally very amusing without being pushy. The rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade although some good decorative touches had been made and there was nothing actually wrong or missing. Beds comfortable and shower pressure reasonable. We enjoyed our stay very much and I would, at least look at, a considerable detour to stay there again

Angus B

Room Tip: Rooms 1-6 are probably slightly quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The swam Hotel is a fanastic hotel to visit or send the night. Thier food is wonderful and they have customer friendly staff that are ready to attend to you any time. Its very close to airbus, aztec, the mall and other business locations.
The beds are really comfortable. My office booked 9 nights at the swam and i travelled there with my wife. We had a splendid time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here on the way back from wales. the room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was very very comfy which is a rare thing! it was a decent size too with good quality bedding. There was a tea/coffee tray and also toiletries in the bathroom which were nice touches. The road is quite noisy but that cannot be helped when you have an Inn on a main road. The rooms are separate to the pub which is good for noise purposes. The food was good although the choice was limited unfortunately: they had lots of specials which had sold out when we sat down at 8.30. However, it is better to do a few things well that lots of things badly and the food was very good. The service was excellent and they had a great range of beers and especially lagers! the night we went they had a rag-time jazz band playing which made a nice change. the breakfast was lovely. well cooked and not greasy. We had some confusion over the food bill but I telephoned when I realised and this was sorted out straight away. If I lived close by, I would be very happy to come here regularly. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: rooms at the front have superkingsize beds but on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Our company booked 3 of us in for one night. The only complaint I would say was the hall light. It was not lit and was hard to find to switch on.
The room was basic but warm and comfy. Tea and coffee facilities was great. As we were away early we could not have breakfast so we were qoffered bacon sandwiches .
We had an evening meal which was excellent . A good choice of food was on offer. Specials each night. and a good choice of real ale on offer.
Spoke with owners. advised of hall light. would have it checked out soon as. the staff were all friendly and helpful.
In the morning we were given our bacon sandwiches. They were very good.
Have advised our office would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Used a voucher to have Sunday lunch which included a main and drink. The roast beef was plentiful and on the whole, the meal was both cooked and presented well. Very pleasant waiting staff.
The restaurant area decoration could do with a lick of paint but it was clean and functional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth J, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi,

Thanks for the review and we're really please you enjoyed your food & service. We're disappointed you think the place needs a lick of paint as it was only recently re-decorated!

Thanks.......

The Swan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 14 Gloucester Road, Almondsbury BS32 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Almondsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Almondsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views across to the River Severn, this hotel is located in the village of Almondsbury and is within 2 minutes’ drive of the M4 and M5 motorways. Locally sourced, fresh produce is served on the daily changing menu in The Swan Hotel’s restaurant. Free private parking is available and Bristol city centre is just a 10-minute drive away. Bristol Airport can be reached after a 30-minute drive and Bath’s historic city centre is 35 minutes’ drive from The Swan. A flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities are included in each room, which also has a private bathroom with luxury toiletries. Food is served throughout the day in the restaurant, and guests can relax with a drink in the bar area. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.