We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it!, so did we!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welsummer Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrietsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welsummer Camping
Save
You added Welsummer Camping to your Saves list
Chalk House, Lenham Road, Harrietsham ME17 1NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!, so did we!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a really nice couple of days here. The site has a very bohemian feel to it, plants growing out of old toilets, chalk boarded messages and contestant reminders of how to keep green. Their is an old fallen tree at the top of the field and it seems to draw the kids. Nice spacious pitches each with a fire pit. What I think really made it I that you park your car and wheelbarrow your gear to your pitch, giving everyone a car less space. Everyone was friendly helped by the great atmosphere the camp has set. We tried some home made ice cream, they had baked cookies the next dy. really really nice place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Welsummer Camping, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
So glad you appreciated welsummer, hope to have you back again! Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the b&b for just one night in July. Although short, it was a delightful stay. The b&b is in the owners cottage but has a separate entrance. You also have your own bathroom and the b&b area is partitioned off from the rest of the cottage by a curtain. Really lovely cosy room and bathroom. Very clean. Breakfast was delicious with much of it homemade or grown on the farm. Choice of fruit, cereal, muffins, toast and a fully cooked English. The cottages' garden is really pretty and we had our coffee out on the seated area after breakfast. The owners were very friendly and we felt very welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We really enjoyed WelSummer, Laura the owner was most welcome and her site is perfect for a family camping trip. The kids ran wild all weekend, loved adventuring in the woods and the orchard, in fact we only saw them when they were hungry. We were able to buy logs for the campfire onsite and get chillers for our wine. It was lovely having a campfire as some campsites don't allow them. Laura also sells tea, coffee, hot chocolates, cakes and ice creams. The site is small friendly and very chilled. We didn't think the noise of the motorway was bad at all. In fact on Saturday night all we could hear were sheep and the tweet-twoo of owls. We had a great walk to a local pub with maps and directions provided by Laura, being only 30mins from the site easy enough for the kids to walk too. We'll definately go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Welsummer Camping, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Glad you heard the owls and found the pub! Thanks so much for this lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After reading the previous review which talked about the motorway nearby, I nearly decided not to come here. But am very glad I decided to go ahead with the campsite.

It is a lovely, small, family-fun and friendly campsite. Takes only about 20 or so tents, with camping in either the woods (surrounded by bluebells at this time of year, so absolutely beautiful), or in the meadows. Both have fireplaces which were a great addition for the nights were still a bit chilly despite end of May, so was lovely to sit around the fireplace late at night with a baileys laced coffee and toasted marshmallows!

No playground as such, but this wasn't needed, as our 4 year old kids had a wonderful time climbing in the trees and exploring in the woods (very safe).

Nice small camp-shop selling all the essentialls, well-priced wood, kindling etc. and fresh bread and muffins in the morning!

Will definitely return!

Oh and the motorway is about a mile away - you can hear it faintly sometimes depending on the way the wind is blowing - but this didn't impact our enjoyment at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Welsummer Camping, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for deciding to come to Welsummer! So glad you liked it : ) Thanks for writing such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely campsite in Kent. The owner has made it really nice with lots of personal touches. We camped in the woods which was lovely and we had our own camp fire but you could near the rumble from the motorway the whole time including thoughout the night. It's not too loud but you def know its there and it's constant. It's such a shame as its a lovely site but its ruined by the constant noise from the motorway. We paid £18 to camp for 1 night 2 people and an exta £5 for wood. Slightly pricey I think especially as it so near the motorway.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Welsummer Camping, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you appreciated Welsummer in some ways. It is unfortunate that we can hear the motorway down in the valley on some days.
The motorway is more than 1 kilometre away.
There are particular days when the wind in our direction does carry the noise, other days you really can't hear a thing above the sound of birdsong! Unfortunately, in this tiny part of the country these days we are never far from a motorway and we are glad for our pretty little haven away from the much noisier city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welsummer Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welsummer Camping

Address: Chalk House, Lenham Road, Harrietsham ME17 1NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Harrietsham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Harrietsham
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welsummer Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.