We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1970's Chinese Take-away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Wye

Golden Wye
30-32 Church Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5BJ, England
01233 811871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Wye
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kent, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“1970's Chinese Take-away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We ordered a take-away from here, to be honest having read the reviews on trip advisor I was intrigued as the menu read like a bog standard English Chinese take-away and unfortunately that's exactly what it was, though probably not that good.

If you like a 1970's Chinese take-away, then good luck, if you have read these reviews and are looking for good Chinese food then avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“FINE REPUTATION FOR GOOD CHINESE NOSH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Do ignore the photograph above, but at the time of this review it was NOT The Golden Wye but elsewhere. However, DO take note that this restaurant/ takeaway has been serving the local and wider community for many years, during which time it has established an enviable reputation for good, freshly cooked, tasty Chinese cuisine, served with much charm and friendliness, with good timing and at very competitive prices.

We have takeaway usually every week, and have done so for over 20 years, but still look forward to the next one. During this time we have not had a single bad meal. We are so lucky to have this gem within our village.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not happy!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Have been a customer of theirs for years and have always enjoyed the food, until I collected the takeaway order and got home to find its was the wrong food not our order. So back in the car for a 10 minute car drive back, at once the lady behind the bar apologised for the incorrect order and took the wrong order away and explained the mix up with the order and asked for the extra £6.00 for the correct order, which I was not happy about as I have not made two trips to try to get dinner. The lady refused to budge on the £6.00 (we have been loyal customer for 8 years) so I paid up took my order only to find once I got home the food was STONE COLD it must have been sitting their the whole time. Hence we have not been back nor will we ever return they made have my £6.00 pounds but they will never get anymore of my custom.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly rated...Highly dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

On a visit to Wye, we came accross the Golden Wye restaurant. Showing my Chinese in-laws around Kent, I decided it may be a nice place to eat dinner - once I collect my wife from work. Having checked trip advisor's raving reviews for the restaurant, we were certain it would be enjoyable. Long story short: we wated 90 minutes for JUST 4 starters, service was slow, unattentive, whilst stating (in Mandarin and English) "sorry, we are really busy tonight." There were only two tables including ours at that time. We were given soups we did not order and we felt like they had forgotten us.
A party of nine (second table) had decided that the wait/service was enough, they all decided to up and leave, paying for their drinks as they too had just had 1 starter platter between 9. Likewise, we decided to end our visit to the Golden Wye (much to the visible annoyance of the manager...who eventually muttered a "sorry" when my wife and I explained the dire service and wait).
I appreciate the food would not be as god as in China (obviously) but the in-laws own restaurants in the PRC and were clueless about why we were made to wait in a seemingly empty restaurant, with no explaination or attempt to sugar-coat their shortcomings.

Don't go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Another superb meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I can only say why can't other chinese restaurant be like Golden Wye in Wye, superb food cooked to perfection and the staff are so lovely, keep it up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Wye also viewed

 

Been to Golden Wye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Wye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.