We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A flying visit !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Flying Horse

Save Saved
You added The New Flying Horse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The New Flying Horse
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Upper Bridge Street, Wye TN25 5AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Wye B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A flying visit !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A business trip to the beautiful Wye. The annexe room was clean, comfortable and cosy.
The staff were simply delightful and the bar area was vibrant.The evening meal was pleasant but expensive given the quality of food but the breakfast more than compensated - it was superb.
If I returned to the area for business or pleasure I would return as it is deserves more than a flying visit !

Room Tip: The annexe rooms are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
47
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I only booked for the one night and stayed in the annexe rooms. My room was very comfortable and clean but smaller than expected but that was'nt a problem. The cooked breakfast was very good and parking parking was in the pub car park. I stayed for a wedding reception in the flying horse and had a great afternoon/evening and the bar staff were excellent. Very good service and friendly. I would definitely stay in The New flying Horse again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice country pub with very good kitchen. Rooms are comfortable although the ones in the pub itself are up a steep set of stairs and difficult to access if old (as I am) or carrying bulky baggage( as I do) - help is rarely offered. Rooms in the annex are nice but on the ground floor where people can walk past the window so good ventilation is sacrificed to security. Food is always good although non standard breakfast requests (boiled eggs) seem beyond them. Staff usually very friendly and this combined with the other factors means I stay there regualrly

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in april on our way to Wiltshire from the Netherlands and on our way back, with 2 young children. A real classic old pub to get a taste of Brittain. The first night we stayed in the family room. Very large and clean room but the double bed wasn't very comfortable. The second night (a week later) we stayed in a large room which was very nice and big enough, again very clean. The bed in this room was much better. The food was average. The beer garden is great. We had brilliant wheather so the kids could play while we had a drink in the sun. I would come back if we ever go back to this area and need a place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spend some nights on our way to and from Norfolk and simply enjoyed it. We had the family room which was really large. The staff was very friendly - we especially appreciated that they kept open the kitchen when we arrived late on our way home. The food was good and we loved the breakfast. We will go there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belligham, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent one night here during our walking trip in Kent, following the Pilgrim's Way footpath.
We were very pleasantly surprised at the wonderful accommodations... the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was large, clean and comfy, the room was tidy and very clean. To make our stay even better, the dining room served great food! Yum. The breakfast the next morning was extra yummy as well. We'd stay there again without worries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent a couple of nights in a clean and quirky room. It was a comfortable stay with friendly staff and good value. The room had plenty of space to get ready for our daughter's wedding which was nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The New Flying Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Flying Horse

Address: Upper Bridge Street, Wye TN25 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Flying Horse 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The New Flying Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Flying Horse Hotel Wye
The New Flying Horse Wye, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Flying Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.