We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food & very relaxing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Flying Horse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The New Flying Horse to your Saves list
The New Flying Horse
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Upper Bridge Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing food & very relaxing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 saturday night and had a room in the 'granny annex'. Although it was a saturday night the pub wasnt busy so it was very relaxing, however all the tables were reserved for dinner. The bar area could do with some more seats as there isnt really any where to sit due to all the tables being reserved for dinner.
Food was lovely and not too expensive. I would advise you to book a table asap and request a table in the area where the open fire is. Breakfast was better than expected and served between 7.30-9.30.
Bar staff/waitresses were friendly. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    62
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
68
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked this for an overnight stay for business in the area. The pub is quaint, with old world charm and character. No loud music. Food is good, breakfast excellent and a friendly place to stay. Rooms in the stable block are comfortable and warm, and parking is good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Six of us have just returned fom a weekend walking break,Fantastic ,Excellent food superb service and spotless rooms,Value for money,Emma gets top marks.Highly recommend We will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels all over the world but I have to say The New Flying Horse for it's food and very friendly welcome can surpass many. We stayed here with our two little white maltese dogs and was shown a room in the garden. We were very pleased with this room, very private, very clean and very quiet. The doggies loved the garden which was extensive and lovely to walk around. There was some filming of cooking in the garden and it was very interesting to watch, The evening dinner was amazing as was the waitress she could not do enough for us and always with a smile. Her sister greeted us at breakfast time, with a smile and again could not do enough for us. (she also greeted us when we arrived and was most helpfull and pleasant). This is a very people friendly hotel, very doggie friendly and we loved it......
We will be back. Just got back from France so a little late in review.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here with my bridesmaids the night before my wedding and got ready for my wedding day here as well. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant the night before and my room was plenty spacious for us to get ready on the Saturday morning. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The bed was comfortable and although we had left our room in a bit of a rush to get to the church, it was spotless when we got back that evening. The breakfast was lovely on both mornings with plenty to eat. Will definitely stay here again in the future. Unfortunately due to the weather we did not take full advantage of the gardens.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I would definitely go back to this pub especially on a warm summers day the gardens were lovely, I would happily stay here for a night again dispite the little things I will mention. They didn't spoil my enjoyment here.

We sayed for just one night as a get away. The sun was shining that weekend and took full advantage of the lovely gardens to sit and relax in. The lunch menu was above average and very nice. Hubby had a burger, I had ham and chips, both very nice. Our room was a family room so a sofa was also avalible and it was nice to sit and watch a bit of tv without laying on the bed!

The shower was lovely and powerful and hot but couldn't get a hot bath not a massive problem tho. Quite a few cobwebs in room above bed etc didn't bother us really but did feel like it need a bit of TLC blinds were covered in dead insects that had been rolled up in them!

The evening menu was impressive and pricey for a pub but nice all the same, I did feel like maybe hitting above their belts, I would have loved nothing more than some good old pub grub on the menu or at least as an option.

An engagement party was going on the night we stayed this made it very noisy as our room was above the enterance to pub. Lots of shouting out as taxis were being called and people saying their goodbyes all quiet by midnight tho so again not a major issue.

Full English Breakfast was gorgeous!! The staff were all lovely, the selection of drinks good. We had a fab time here can't wait for another hot day to enjoy a beer outside again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here last week for a night; and after a terrible dining experience at another of Shepherd Neame's pubs that very lunchtime, I was hoping to have my faith in Sheps restored here at another of my regular haunts when I lived and worked in Kent. Alas, this had to wait until the next morning...

...as that evening the already poor levels of service we'd experienced at the Albion in Faversham were matched in the New Fly's dinner service. Being charitable, they were busy that night... but waiting 30 minutes for a waitress to take a food order is surely excessive under any circumstances. We had to intervene and go to the bar where she was hanging out (so maybe not *so* rushed off her feet after all?) and tell her we were ready to order whenever she was... She came with evident ill-grace, and then became hopelessly out of her depth - she didn't know the details of the items on the menu, so couldn't answer questions we had.

The food, when it came, was in fairness good if not exceptional. In pleasing contrast, the (different) waitress the following morning at breakfast was delightful - a complete credit to her employer. And the breakfast itself was delicious. Try the kippers... they were lovely.

Our room was clean, but Stygian in its darkness with one small window surrounded by ivy and looking straight into an unkempt thicket of elder and bramble bushes. Bathroom was lovely, and with a nice assortment of smelly things.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9 (in the stable block) - it's dark and gloomy inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Flying Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Flying Horse

Address: Upper Bridge Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Flying Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The New Flying Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Flying Horse Hotel Wye
The New Flying Horse Wye, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Flying Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.