We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Flying Horse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The New Flying Horse to your Saves list
The New Flying Horse
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Upper Bridge Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall a good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I would definitely go back to this pub especially on a warm summers day the gardens were lovely, I would happily stay here for a night again dispite the little things I will mention. They didn't spoil my enjoyment here.

We sayed for just one night as a get away. The sun was shining that weekend and took full advantage of the lovely gardens to sit and relax in. The lunch menu was above average and very nice. Hubby had a burger, I had ham and chips, both very nice. Our room was a family room so a sofa was also avalible and it was nice to sit and watch a bit of tv without laying on the bed!

The shower was lovely and powerful and hot but couldn't get a hot bath not a massive problem tho. Quite a few cobwebs in room above bed etc didn't bother us really but did feel like it need a bit of TLC blinds were covered in dead insects that had been rolled up in them!

The evening menu was impressive and pricey for a pub but nice all the same, I did feel like maybe hitting above their belts, I would have loved nothing more than some good old pub grub on the menu or at least as an option.

An engagement party was going on the night we stayed this made it very noisy as our room was above the enterance to pub. Lots of shouting out as taxis were being called and people saying their goodbyes all quiet by midnight tho so again not a major issue.

Full English Breakfast was gorgeous!! The staff were all lovely, the selection of drinks good. We had a fab time here can't wait for another hot day to enjoy a beer outside again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    62
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
68
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here last week for a night; and after a terrible dining experience at another of Shepherd Neame's pubs that very lunchtime, I was hoping to have my faith in Sheps restored here at another of my regular haunts when I lived and worked in Kent. Alas, this had to wait until the next morning...

...as that evening the already poor levels of service we'd experienced at the Albion in Faversham were matched in the New Fly's dinner service. Being charitable, they were busy that night... but waiting 30 minutes for a waitress to take a food order is surely excessive under any circumstances. We had to intervene and go to the bar where she was hanging out (so maybe not *so* rushed off her feet after all?) and tell her we were ready to order whenever she was... She came with evident ill-grace, and then became hopelessly out of her depth - she didn't know the details of the items on the menu, so couldn't answer questions we had.

The food, when it came, was in fairness good if not exceptional. In pleasing contrast, the (different) waitress the following morning at breakfast was delightful - a complete credit to her employer. And the breakfast itself was delicious. Try the kippers... they were lovely.

Our room was clean, but Stygian in its darkness with one small window surrounded by ivy and looking straight into an unkempt thicket of elder and bramble bushes. Bathroom was lovely, and with a nice assortment of smelly things.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9 (in the stable block) - it's dark and gloomy inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a nice pub and the rooms are very comfortable. It's perfect if you need a nice place to sleep for the evenings while exploring beautiful Wye and walking the Downs. But the stable rooms are rather small and there is only a small window so if you want to spend a lot of time in your room, it can be a little claustro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Comfortable beds, great shower, cosy but modern decor. Very good evening meal, the service was excellent, the staff are well trainedo, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for one night over Easter bank holiday and were very happy with our stay. The accomodation in the stables was very comfortable and the bathroom was particulary nice, the staff were very friendly and efficient , the bar was busy and had a decent selection of beers and finally there is a good size car park which makes things that little bit easier when ferrying bags , presents and dogs around. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudewater, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had a good (one night) stay at the New Flying Horse. The staff was friendly and overall there was a relaxed atmosphere. The room we stayed in was probably one of the smaller ones (nr. 9 outdoor building) and not really spotless. Those being the points of attention I must say breakfast was ok and during an earlier visit we had a lovely dinner in the garden.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We've stayed here in this tranquil corner of England twice now, and it is a very nice place to rest you head. Rooms were very nice, and there is an award winning garden outside. Ample parking can be found behind the pub. Breakfast is made to order individually and although it tastes fantastic it can take a while to arrive, so leave enough time in the morning to enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Flying Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Flying Horse

Address: Upper Bridge Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Flying Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The New Flying Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Flying Horse Hotel Wye
The New Flying Horse Wye, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Flying Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.