We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Head Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Head Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   | Near the North Norfolk Coast, Great Bircham PE31 6RJ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The owners are a friendly young couple that have a wonderful team of friendly helpful staff.
The hotel rooms are fabulous and spacious also dog friendly if you want to spend time with them!!
Excellent food,compliments to the chef and whoever plans the menu,Very well done.
Very quaint and lovely relaxing place,please do not hesitate to check it out.
Beautiful countryside and Kings Lynn and Norwich are not far to have a wonder.

Room Tip: Try room 6!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    70
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
27
191
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Bought this short break on Groupon. I thought it was an excellent deal. The hotel was lovely, warm and friendly, clean and attractively decorated. Our room (12) was also well furnished, clean and very large, there was a big bathroom with bath and separate shower. In our room was complimentary water, fizzy and still, with tea, coffee, chocolate, biscuits. These and the complimentary shampoos etc were restocked daily.
All the staff were all very attentive and helpful without being overpowering. In the restaurant we were offered complimentary bottled water and bread and dipping oil as we looked at the menu.We had only intended to eat in the restaurant on the first night, which was included in the deal, but the food was so good we ate there on the second night as well. We were pleased we did. I didn't look at the wine list but my husband chose a very nice white wine which we had again on our second night as it was so good. The food was well cooked, beautifully presented and quietly served. I enjoyed all of it. We had Brancaster mussells as a starter on the second night and they were absolutely delicious.
The cream tea that was included in our deal was also good. The scones homemade and very light.
Breakfast was a delight. Better than anywhere else we have stayed. All freshly cooked, kippers, scrambled egg with smoked salmon, full English of course, huge choice. Warm bread and croissants brought to your table while you waited for your breakfast main course. Fabulous. Happy, helpful staff, good food. What more could you ask for?
Thinking of this review I tried very hard to find something that could be improved upon.
1. The fig that was on my desert had very little taste. Don't think they could really do much about that. (May have just been decorative!)
2. The front door sticks open sometimes, bit of a pain if sitting in the lobby.
Sorry realise that's not much of a complaint, but really, it was lovely.
There was a great attention to detail, everything was superb.
With regard to the location....It's Norfolk, you only expect fields and beaches and sleepy villages. Although I have since been told that Burnham Market is a nice place to spend a few hours and some money

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just got back from a superb 2 nights in this fantastic hotel. Charlie & Holly have paid so much attention to detail that quite frankly we are mystified as to why this is only a 3 star hotel. The room was spotlessly clean with nice touches like complimentary bottles of still & sparkling water & chocolates alongside the usual tea & coffee facilities. The bed was huge and really comfortable (am thinking maybe the person who said the bed was lumpy was actually the Princess &The Pea ??) , the bathroom, like the bedroom was a really good size and decorated really well. All of the staff were lovely, and it was nice to feel welcomed by the locals, (funny thing to comment on maybe but not so evident in some of the hotels we have stayed in) And as for the food - where should we start ? it was SUPERB,with a lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. The location is a little bit remote BUT most travellers will have a car so not a problem. This is definately a hotel to return to and if it's your first visit you won't be disappointed. Well done and Thank You for a brilliant weekend Charlie & Holly

Room Tip: We had room 1, which was really big - not sure how it compares in size with the other rooms but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The hotel is warm, comfortable and homely. However my stay was booked via Groupon. Normally Groupon deals represent significant savings off standard prices. £179 for 2 nights (dinner 1 night, breakfast 2 mornings, afternoon tea) for 2 people in an extremely remote location with very few facilities did not feel like great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have had many holidays in the UK and stayed in hotels that offer many excellent services, but the Kings Head tops them all as it was faultless in every way and we will certainly be booking to go back there again and will spread the word about this little gem of a place to stay.
On arrival Holly gave us a very warm welcome and showed us to our very lovely room. The bedroom and barhroom were spotless, well furnished and very comfortable. We had a very enjoyable afternoon tea in the lovely lounge, which was matched by the bar area frequented by local people, which is a testamanet to how good this Hotel is. We had only intended eating in the hotel for the one evening meal, but after tasting the quality of the food we booked for each of the three evenings we were there and enjoyed every meal and the fantastic service provided by the staff. Breakfast was of the same high quaility as the eveing meals.The Team and they were a team, both in the restaurant and the hotel were a credit to Charlie, the young man who ownes the hotel.
We cannot speak more highly of the Fantastic Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose this Hotel with confidence that you will without doubt praise it as highly as we do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our 2 friends and ourselves had a superb 2-night stay here. Staff throughout the hotel were welcoming, friendly and super-efficient from the start. Rooms were very comfortable - we'd never been in such large beds! Quality of food was excellent. Dining rooms and bar were warm and inviting. The whole atmosphere was one of pleasure and relaxation. Great to see Charlie and Holly, the owners, fully involved in running the show. We couldn't fault our stay (except that it was too short!), and we hope it won't be long before we return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleethorpes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We booked a Groupon deal and were not disappointed. A large comfotable room, but no full length mirror. The food was exceptional and the staff very friendly and helpful. We did find it a bit remote, but the open fire in the lounge made up for it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: | Near the North Norfolk Coast, Great Bircham PE31 6RJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Bircham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Bircham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings HeadA very warm welcome to the family-run Kings Head Hotel. Built in the Edwardian era, the hotel combines all the traditional warmth and comfort of a long established country house hotel with sleek contemporary facilities. The hotel is located close to the great estates of Royal Sandringham and Houghton, also offering easy access to the North Norfolk Coast the Kings Head is very well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Lynn
Hotel Kings Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.