We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Blessing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Hawnby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Hawnby to your Saves list
The Inn at Hawnby
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   | Nr. Helmsley, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5QS, England (Formerly The Hawnby Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hawnby B&B and Inns
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mixed Blessing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Spent 4 nights in stable room as with dog. Although pleasantly furnished, it was small and dark. Only shower in bathroom, which had no window, and door could not open fully due to position of basin. Food was very good and service friendly, but menu limited. Delightful setting offset by drab garden with broken furniture amongst new (stainless steel, a bit incongruous). Strange lack of attention to detail as on crisp linen tablecloth were cheap cutlery and dying daffodils. Also, at front, which had not been swept for......, cigarette ends and a disgusting bucket of foul water complete with more cigarettes! Yes, nice people, nice food, lovely setting but could have been so much more.
No mobile reception also mixed blessing as no wireless network or public computer access

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    66
    22
    12
    4
See reviews for
17
150
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We recently stayed here for the weekend, and were absolutely blown away by the place. The warm welcome from the owners to their quaint hotel/ pub in North Yorkshire was second to none.
The hotel is set in a peaceful and secure village, with stunning views - making it an ideal setting for walkers or people just wishing to 'get away from it all'
There is an ample wine list, suggesting a comfortable wine cellar, with three well kept cask ales.
The menu is exemplary - perfectly cooked mussels, venison with the right degree of pinkness for mains and al dente vegetables, followed by a local cheeseboard( including slivers of local fruit cake), The meal had great attention to detail and perfectly timed service on every course. As previously stated the background music was pitched at just the right level, and at no time was 'on a loop' .
Our room was extremely comfortable, with a very large and warm bed. To be honest my first reaction was that the decor was rather' twee', but on reflection, I was staying in a hotel in the North Yorkshire Moors - not a boutique hotel in Leeds or Newcastle, for example. The decor, therefore, befits the setting and the hotel building, which is remarkable.
The breakfast menu offers a wide range for every taste. My husband found the Yorkshire Breakfast challenging and the portions were more than ample! My scrambled eggs and smoked salmon were perfectly cooked - again in more than ample portions.
Sadly our weekend breaks are few and far between - but our return to The Inn at Hawnby will extend to a much longer break, next time (soon!)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stumbled across the Inn at Hawnby by chance.
It was a great base for walking direct from the door and we enjoyed the nearby town of Helmsley.
The food was incredible, it surpassed our expectations and some.
We couldnt have been made more welcome from the Canadian owner, we were made to feel very welcome and a special guest of this lovely rural community.
North Yorkshire is a wonderfully warm and friendly place to visit and this inn provided value for money accomodation and great food. - John & Stephanie (Cheshire)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Welcoming reception with a log fire burning. Shown to room by owner and relevant advice given re: meals and hotel/area. Generous in room facilities including a decanter of sherry and bottled water. Room comfortable and the restaurant and food were of a high standard. Thoroughly enjoyed the meals. Would have liked to have stayed longer and hope to returm in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights to walk in the Moors, The Inn at Hawnby was very good value for money. Our room was spacious and clean and very very quiet at night.
My only criticism is that it would have been nice to have had a wider choice of meal at night, the formal "A La Carte" was good quality, but an alternative simpler fare to eat in the bar would have been welcome.
If we return to the Moors we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Beautiful example of a Victorian hotel set in the most oustandingly breath-taking scenery in the UK. The warm welcome from the hosts Catherine and David is beyond compare, the whole package should be used as an example of how good small hotels can be. The breakfast is traditional yet more than ample; dinner menu is varied, well cooked and prepared. All the staff are pleasant and charming. We are going back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We missed out on the New Year package as they were fully booked, but booked for a long weekend in Janruary. We were not disappointed, great food, lovely comfortable homely rooms with lots on nice extras, hosts Kath & Dave couldn't have been more welcoming. Would recommend this for anyone wanting a nice peaceful break in fantastic surroundings. Have now booked for next years New Year package! Ms GvCox

  • Liked — Restaurant/Rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Hawnby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hawnby

Address: | Nr. Helmsley, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5QS, England (Formerly The Hawnby Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Hawnby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nine bed roomed country INN situated at the top of a hill in the peaceful hamlet of Hawnby. Panoramic views surround us.We have a cosy bar with real ales and a good selection of wines. The restaurant is elegant with crisp white linen dressing the tables. The INN holds the taste of Yorkshire award as well as one rosette for its high quality locally sourced food.Our ethos is for you to come and stay with us, relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life while we look after you in a laid back professional manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Hawnby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hawnby Hotel Helmsley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Hawnby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.