We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idealic Yorkshire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Hawnby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Hawnby to your Saves list
The Inn at Hawnby
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   | Nr. Helmsley, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5QS, England (Formerly The Hawnby Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hawnby B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Idealic Yorkshire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a short break walking on the Hambledon Hills of Noth Yorkshire.
We chose to stay a few miles from Helmsley in this quaint Inn. It was a great base offering walks direct from its front door onto the lovely moors n North Yorkshire. The food served was wholesome and freshly made using local produce and made for a very enjoyable stay. Try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our INN not just once but twice. Its great that you came to stay with us again.Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again
Regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    66
    22
    12
    4
See reviews for
17
150
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thamesford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our first day at the Inn was a little wet , to say the least . Not to be dismayed , we went to the pub for a few Toddys . There we met the most charming couple , Dave and Kathrine . As it turened out , they own the buisness . They interduced us to all the staff who happened by during our "wet break" and were discussing the night meal with 1 of the heardsmen who work for the local royalty . This is a charming hotel , with extra attention given to comfort . The beds are to "dream on" .
And the food is second to none , and rivals the best London has to offer . This stay , albeit wet , was an absolute dream . Make sure you say hello to Bob The Dog , as he is , as it turns out , the local celebrity . A++ in our books .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Well what a lovely review. Always a pleasure to share a little of our bubble with others, even if it was wet. Thank you for taking the time to write. Bob is doing well, Freddie the puppy is trying to get the same status but its just not happening for him !!! Hope we see you again some day
Regards
Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We first stumbled upon this wonderful place in the winter of last year and booked in. Couldn't believe how lovely the room was, huge bed and the room was decorated beautifully. We had dinner in the restaurant and were very impressed with the food and leisurely pace of the meal. The service was excellent and choices of wine very good. The cheese board was huge but delicious.

We loved it so much we went back in July and found the Inn busier than the winter but the standards and service still excellent. This is now one of our favourite places to stay and please don't stay away just because its winter, the inn takes on a whole new character in the winter months, with dark nights and a lovely real fire in the bar, it's lovely and cosy. Would recommend to anyone who wants to get away from it all but with excellent food and beautiful rooms. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you first of all for coming back to us and spending more time at the INN. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us. I hope that you use your free bottle of wine card and come back again for another break.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review it really is appreciated
Best regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent last night at the inn for our 1st wedding anniversary, Lovely meal, good service, very friendly staff and pet friendly, we took our dog and spent the night in one of the converted stable rooms, very comfortable large bed, complimentary sherry and bottled water, selection of tea, coffe and biscuits, would definately stay here again and reccomend this lovely hotel, they didn't even complain when we took the room key home with us!

Room Tip: Converted stables are perfect if you are taking your pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and for your lovely comments. We are all so pleased that you had a super first anniversary.
Hope we see you for the next
Regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was in a party of nine guests at a birthday meal for our friend last night. Due to health reason I have an extremely restrictive diet and so I had two discussions with Jason, the Chef and Kath, the Proprietor, prior to the evening itself. Jason was nothing less than accommodating and specially formulated a three course meal around my specific needs, explaining that he would do this whilst still conforming to a commitment to source locally produced food. On arriving at the Inn, I was immediately impressed by the cosy surroundings and the warmth of the welcome. The dining room was elegant and the ambience was conducive to our party having a thoroughly enjoyable evening. My starter consisted of a vegetable medley and I would love to know how to make vegetables taste so good. The main meal was sea bass and other seafood on a bed of saffron risotto; again this was faultless and so yummy. The birthday girl was presented with a wonderful chocolate cake, but this was no ordinary cake. It was chocolate fudge cake with a fantastic marbled white/dark chocolate effect creation which mounted it and within it contained a basket of delicious berries (strawberries, raspberries blackberries, blueberries etc). I had a sumptious dairy free version of eton mess. All in all we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and I can only say that the service was nothing short of excellent. Thank you to all the staff and we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are all so pleased that you had a great time for the special birthday. Jason is passionate about what he does and was so pleased to be given warning in advance so that he could cater to your needs properly and with care. When you come again please do the same and let us know in advance and we can do an alternative menu again for you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us.
All the best
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This has got to be the best kept secret in North Yorkshire ! Good accommodation, helpful staff who provide a superb service and really great food, all at a very realistic price. We discovered it by chance last year and have been back five times since. What a privilege to spend quality time staying in such a charming Inn at the heart of this beautiful and tranquil countryside. In particular and contrary to previous (negative) comments about the food, the restaurant is one of the main reasons we keep returning to Hawnby. We are quite discerning and recognise good food which is cooked to order; and that is what we get. The chef trained with some of the big names and never ceases to surprise both in terms of quality and variety. Much of the produce is locally sourced and I have often seen him returning from foraging trips with wild mushrooms, garlic etc, something you don't get in big hotels or fast food restaurants. Personally I don't know what cat's pee tastes like (previous) but the water from the local spring has a pleasant and distinctive flavour; but it is optional. For anyone looking for wholesome accommodation away from the bustle of life, street lights, noisy traffic, car alarms and sirens this really is the place; with a great dinner at the end of it. We have recommended Hawnby to friends and we'll certainly be going back during the Autumn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden41, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you, This was just lovely to receive such a great review from two really great people. We love looking after you both. Really appreciate your kindness every time you visit. I hope you enjoy the car !! Its fab. See you soon
Best, Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this beautiful location. A bit shocked at these angry reviews. We have been two other times in the past and received nothing but incredible service and amazing food. We are often waited on personally by the owner, and his Canadian charm won us over easily. The pricing is incredibly reasonable for what you get. Ever been to London people? Seemed free compared to that. Not only will we return, but have, and will continue to send our friends and family for a relaxing getaway. Thanks Inn at Hawnby.

Room Tip: Have stayed in 3 different rooms and liked them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden41, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the UK to catch up with your relatives again
Best Regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Hawnby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hawnby

Address: | Nr. Helmsley, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5QS, England (Formerly The Hawnby Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Hawnby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nine bed roomed country INN situated at the top of a hill in the peaceful hamlet of Hawnby. Panoramic views surround us.We have a cosy bar with real ales and a good selection of wines. The restaurant is elegant with crisp white linen dressing the tables. The INN holds the taste of Yorkshire award as well as one rosette for its high quality locally sourced food.Our ethos is for you to come and stay with us, relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life while we look after you in a laid back professional manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Hawnby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hawnby Hotel Helmsley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Hawnby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.