We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Have Got it Right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Hawnby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Hawnby to your Saves list
The Inn at Hawnby
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   | Nr. Helmsley, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5QS, England (Formerly The Hawnby Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hawnby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“They Have Got it Right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just back from a wonderful 4 day stay. Room comfortable and clean with a welcome decanter of sherry and bottles of water in the room each day - a nice touch. A reasonably well stocked bar with well kept Yorkshire Ales. Food excellent on all days with a good choice at breakfast to set you up for a day in the hills. The Lamb chops on the final night were some of the best and well cooked (nice and pink and juicy) chops I have ever eaten in a restaurant. Nice touches to the meals such as a flower stalk of wild garlic on one dish and wild garlic flowers scattered in the mushroom and blue cheese soup show the chef to have imagination and interest in local ingredients. For the quality, the meals are very reasonably priced. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Interestingly the visitors comments in the book at reception were largely from people making return visits, always a good sign. This was our first visit but it will not be our last.

Room Tip: We stayed in the stable annexe over the road, slightly querky room with its ' own door to the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden41, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments - It is great for us to have positive responses and know that we are getting it right from our customers point of view.
Many thanks for taking the time to write
Regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    70
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
17
168
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I largely concur with the other positive reviews generally so I won't repeat the same thing.

However...

Our room ("Rose") was disappointing.
Good points - it was reasonably clean, had a really comfy bed and powerful shower. It was in dire need of modernisation throughout the bedroom and ensuite - so much so that it was hard to take seriously !

All part of the charm I suppose but I do hope they invest in a room refurb as it's a lovely place to stay and we would love to come again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was recommended to us by friends and exceeded expectations! The location is beautiful and quiet and the room was very good. The owners and staff are very friendly, the service was excellent and the beer was just right. As for the food.... exceptional. There was a good choice on the breakfast and dinner menus, but we didn't have lunch there as we were out walking to work up an appetite for the evening meal which was wonderful on each of our four nights! The chef is something special. Overall it was a very relaxing holiday and a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

When we visited in Febuary last year we were delighted with the location, style of the inn, the friendly and cheerful staff, and the wonderful food. This Febuary we were disappointed, The inn, decor, etc. still great, but the service was sloppy and the staff verging on grumpy. In the evening we found ourselves eating from a menu that was a lunch time menu so elements of the dishes were missing, and items included that did not feature in the chosen dish. The presentation suggested the main courses had been thrown together. The small decanter of sherry thoughtfully provided in the room was dirty and sticky. Every business can have 'off days', so let's hope this was the only one they have.

Room Tip: The pictures of the rooms on the website do not seem to match the rooms, phone first to check if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden41, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for the comments you have made.
Unfortunately, you were given the previous evenings menu and as we change our menus daily it was an over sight on our behalf and apologize for that.as I believe we also did at the time.
I believe that I did ask you if everything had been to your satisfaction on departure. I am only sorry that you chose not to tell me of your issues at the time so that I could have dealt with them immediately.
Kind Regards to you both
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We can only ever get away for an occasional overnight stay because of family restrictions so when they happen we want them to good. Christmas had been hard work and chill was what we wanted.The Inn met these. Quiet location good accomadation good bar and excellent hosts. And the food, still drooling. Presentation taste not eaten better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden41, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. As you explained we know that its difficult for you to get away and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had some down time.
Take Care
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Spent 4 nights here over New Year and had a very relaxing time. The food, service and facilities were all great. New Year gala dinner and dancing in bar after was very good. Kathryn and Jane made our stay very relaxing and were very accomodating in whatever we wanted to do - including impromptu singing and guitar playing by our group! Will definately return again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden41, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for the lovely photo and letter you sent us. It was fantastic being able to look after such a lovely group of people over the celebration period. It was a lot of fun for everyone especially the impromptu guitar playing
All the best
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Enjoyed a very good Sunday lunch here. One of us had Roast Chicken, the other Roast Beef. Both were good; delicious beef and chicken with good flavour and texture. Also, good sized portions. It was nice to be served tasty, crispy roast potatoes and parsnips and well flavoured gravy. Vegetables were the standard small bowl of carrots, broccoli and cauliflower.
It was good that there were other options on the menu (apart from roasts) and also several starters at reasonable prices.
The puddings we had were good (little bit pricey at £5.50 each) and more generous than some places.
(Main courses £10.90 I think)

We had coffee........this was excellent; a very generous size, piping hot and served with a delicious home made light, crumbly shortbread biscuit.

The atmosphere was relaxing, the room very pleasant and the service excellent.

Drinks were very fairly priced for an hotel restaurant ....glass of wine £4.50

We would certainly go again.

As well as the "formal" dining room there was also plenty of room in the bar area and for when the weather is good plenty of outdoor seating.

A lovely drive to get there too!

Room Tip: Only ate here, did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Hawnby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hawnby

Address: | Nr. Helmsley, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5QS, England (Formerly The Hawnby Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Hawnby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nine bed roomed country INN situated at the top of a hill in the peaceful hamlet of Hawnby. Panoramic views surround us.We have a cosy bar with real ales and a good selection of wines. The restaurant is elegant with crisp white linen dressing the tables. The INN holds the taste of Yorkshire award as well as one rosette for its high quality locally sourced food.Our ethos is for you to come and stay with us, relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life while we look after you in a laid back professional manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Hawnby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hawnby Hotel Helmsley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Hawnby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.