We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Plough Inn to your Saves list
The Plough Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norwich Road, Marsham NR10 5PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsham
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ok but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a special weekend away. The hotel is set back on a main road, with a bit of traffic noise. The room was clean and at the back of the hotel, it had a noise from the fan below, not sure what it was but it was audible all the time, worse when you opened the window. We ate dinner in the evening, considering this was a Saturday night, only a few residence were dining at the same time, the rest of the bar and dining room was empty. The food was fine, but we felt a bit pricey, nothing memorable. Breakfast was ok, average food. Sadly we felt the landlord was not really keen to chat, but when he did he seemed a bit fed up. Overall the room was clean, bathroom ok, TV a bit too far from the bed so hard to see. In general the whole place lacked atmosphere and any kind of warm welcoming ambiance, which is not the sort of place we would stay in again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshamplough, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay, I am at a bit of a loss however, as I think you wrote in our visitors book: "thank you - a very cosy night". Our rooms were fully occupied and we served more than 50 people on the Saturday of that weekend and I am truly sorry if your experience did not match that of those who left reviews before and after you on this page, as we endeavour to do all we can to ensure the comfort and happiness of our customers, whatever the purpose of their visit.

Kind regards
Val Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    33
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
56
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel and and would heartily recommend it both for accommodation and food. The rooms were immaculate, warm and well equipped and very quiet despite the pub being situated on the A140. We ate in on the Friday night and had one of the best dining experience for a long time. The menu was extensive and imaginative and each course was beautifully presented and expertly cooked. They also have a fine wine selection Breakfast was as good as the evening meal. The service was excellent and the atmosphere warm and welcoming. The pub is well situated for those wishing to visit Norwich and the North East Norfolk coast. Would not hesitate to stay again. Neil Judges. .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshamplough, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our new spring/summer menu is proving to be really popular with customers new and old and it is great for the team to receive such positive feedback.
We do hope to welcome you back to The Plough soon.

Kind regards
Val Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Called in to eat and immediately welcomed, so rare these days with so many establishments. Excellent menu of different and traditional, swift service of quality food and beers, all served with a smile. Good atmosphere and comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshamplough, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind regards
Val Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break at the Inn, and wanted to let you know how good it was. We arrived late Friday evening but it was no problem to them. We were checked in very quickly. Asked if they were still serving food, was told they finished at 9o'clock. As it was 8.45p.m we were given the menu to see if there was anything that we wanted. We ordered and the food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. When we came down the following morning our breakfast table was waiting for us , and again the food was excellent, so much so that we decided to eat there again in the evening. The room was extremely clean and very comfortable with complimentary tea and coffee. The owners were very friendly, they went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshamplough, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind review. It really means a lot to the team here at The Plough to know that our customers enjoy their time with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Val Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Many have commented on the quality of the food at this Inn. I came across this place when searching for an overnight stop where one might eat well too.

On arrival mid afternoon it is necessary to press a buzzer on the intercom. In this instance the wife of the couple running the place came out from their adjacent accommodation and greeted us warmly.

The rooms are up a rather steep staircase off the bar. They are not luxurious but very clean and perfectly well equipped. Our twin rooms were not spacious but fine for our purposes. They carry interesting panoramic photographic prints of Norfolk. Bathrooms were spotless and well laid out. To be honest I did not sleep well finding my bed softer than I like, but that is personal taste and I also kept myself awake with a bad cough!

However the point of The Plough is the food. Very nice cooking. My crispy pork belly was beautiful with perfect crackling. There is an excellent cheese souffle and good home made soups. A very decent range of wines are available by the glass. The bar area is homely and very comfortable.

Breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and very nice using local produce.

The owners are very helpful and concerned that guests are happy.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshamplough, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, it was a pleasure having you and your Mother to stay and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future. You will be pleased to note that we will be open all day from the end of May this year.

Kind regards
Val Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just had a Easter Sunday lunch..............Wonderful !!!! Lovely atmosphere, lovely carvery, lovely dessert and no washing up :) In these difficult economic times this place really has got it right. If you've never been, try it you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner had dinner here one evening earlier this year. The inn is cosy and the staff were welcoming. The food was exceptional, cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. If you are looking for a sophisticated evening out then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Norwich Road, Marsham NR10 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Marsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.